Wheel logo

Accelerate Brake Clutch - Story of me learning to DRIVE

Pass into a seat belt. This is going to be a fun ride.

By Poonam BhattPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Accelerate Brake Clutch - Story of me learning to DRIVE
Photo by Jan Baborák on Unsplash

As you have already understood by the title of the story, this is about me learning to drive a car. For a long, I have been delaying this. Since my husband drives a car, I don't need to. I usually don't have to go out for anything, since I get my groceries online to save my time, and other things I get nearby, so I am not required to drive a car. But my husband always insisted on me learning to drive since in an emergency it is very useful.

"The more we are young more it is easy for us to learn new adventures things such as driving a car or driving a motorbike" - That is what I believe and I think it is true to some extent. Since the more we are in our early age the more we are young, the more we are confident and don't think about the consequences of what will happen if things get wrong. And we can easily learn the thing and get used to it. While I was learning to drive a 2 wheeler scooter, I experienced it. In India, where I do belong, you will find more 2 wheeler (motorbike, scooter) vehicles than 4 wheelers, since it is easy and convenient to drive on busy roads. Indian people's favourite 2 wheelers are ACTIVA, SCOOTY and ACCESS.

By Ather Energy on Unsplash

I was not ready to learn to drive a car. Since sitting beside my husband in a car, I have already realized that it is not an easy task to learn to drive a car. It is even more difficult to drive a car in traffic. In India, you need excellent car driving skills. First, you have to learn to drive a car (that is itself multitask - Accelerate Brake Clutch and different Gears), second you have to handle traffic and third you have to handle many experts who can overtake you at any time on their 2 wheelers. (Ha ha.. 😆)

One fine day, my husband and I, both went to car driving school to complete the formalities for my learning licence and select the batch in that I can learn.

The first day of my driving school has come. Till that time, I have been consoling myself that 'Yes, I can do it. If I can cook, I can take care of my kid, I can write, and then I can learn to drive as well. If I can use appliances in my house then this is also possible, since a car is also a machine, and I just need to understand how can I operate it. Once I understand it, I can learn it too."

That kind of motivating words I have been telling myself before the first day of driving school. From my past experience, I have learned that If I get scared of something, I can't understand it better, and then I can't operate or handle it better. So this time I have decided to not get fearful or scared of it. And face and learned what comes my way.

By Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

On my first day, I was a little excited, a little nervous, but surely not too afraid of learning it. My learning started with understanding the machine itself. My teacher taught me, the full details of a car, from car bonnet to car dicky, from engine oil to patrol tank, from gear to steering wheel, from tire pressure to jack and Accelerate, brake to the clutch. I enjoyed the session and asked many questions, that used to arise in my mind while my husband was driving a car.

This new experience has opened the door to new curiosities in me. I got a chance to view a whole new world other than my house and my writing projects. Now I don't just go out to learn to drive a car, but I go out to look for new stories that I can get possibly on my way to the driving school and back, stories that I might get in my driving session. 

I will keep you updated on my progress, till that time HAPPY LEARNING TO ME!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Poonam Bhatt

I am a mother and author of the book GOAL TO SUCCESS.

I am an avid reader who loves to read non-fiction books.

If you enjoy my stories then consider supporting my writing by buying me a coffee at BuyMeACoffee.

Your support means a lot to me.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.