Wander logo

Why Traveling Is Important for Both the Body and the Soul

And How You Can Do It on a Budget

By Kody AllenPublished 7 years ago 7 min read

Even at the young age of 19, I now find myself as what many would describe as a seasoned traveler. I have been to 15 countries, three continents, and most of the 50 states, and I plan to at least step foot in all of the places I have yet to go. Though I have been blessed with a family who has the means to aid in my journeys, I now find myself alone in the adult world, a college student trying to find who he is, with a tiny apartment, a part-time job, and a mind full of dreams. I make roughly 600 a month, not much to live on at all, but yet I still hear the call of adventure at my doorstep, and I still plan to swing the door open.

Why, you may ask, is one of my first priorities travel when I have so much more to figure out? The answer is simple. Travel is the heart of life and the soul of the universe. It is what introduces us to new ideas, opens the infinite horizon of learning, and makes us feel connected in a world where we often feel just the opposite.

There is something mysteriously magical about stepping off a plane or a boat and into a new world you've never experienced. Unknown languages confuse your mind, as new smells gather in your nostrils, leading you to explore further away from comfort. As you look around, you see things that you never thought you'd see. Perhaps, for example, you are exploring a European country for the first time. The romantic languages sound beautiful, but foreign, and suddenly, for the first time, you realize it is not them who are foreign, but you. That, to me, made me feel both isolated and connected from the universe all at once.

There I was, standing on ground that has had thousands of years worth of history, which was thousands of miles away from my home, listening to people talk without understanding a word being said. The isolation set in. As I listen longer, however, I began to see that in the slightest way, through the movement of their bodies, and the expressions on their faces, that I may not have known what they were saying, but I knew what they were feeling. I found that speaking with people, even if we were separated by lingual, cultural, or racial barriers, was healing. It was connection. It was hearing of the struggles and successes of those who walk different paths, but not different roads. I found that it was not only interesting but yet vital that we hear those stories. It was in those moments that I felt more connected to my fellow man than my years of anxiety had ever let me before. It was in that moment that I decided that traveling, and seeing the world with my own eyes rather than through that of a lens, was the only way I could truly find myself, and with that, the rest of the world.

After my European adventures, I would sail out to sea twice, visiting both islands and coastal countries in South America, including Belize and Honduras. With each new country and with each new culture that I, in a small way, became a part of for a matter of hours, I healed a bit more. The years of bullying because of weight, "nerdiness", and sexuality slowly faded to back of my mind as I let the world sink in. Why let people in a small town of 6000 interrupt my time in a land of new discoveries. And as my mind began to heal, so with my body. I dropped weight through the years, the scars from cuts began to heal, and the light of childhood wonder once again returned to my eyes.

This, my readers, is why you must travel and explore the world and its many wonders waiting to be discovered. Even if you think that travel is not for you, I promise that it is. There is worth in every step taken from your daily path. There is spiritual healing in each new sight you see. There is hope and inspiration in each new story you hear from a stranger that you've never met.

As I have learned recently, travel is very expensive. As a child and teenager, I will admit that it was handed to me, but now I must find a way to explore on my own. That brings me to the second part of this article, how to travel on a budget.

Though going to a different country is amazing, going to the next state, or even the next town, can be just as rewarding. From state to state, cultures vary widely, and with accents, sometimes it can seem as though you may have left the United States after all. And for my readers in other countries, this applies to you as well. If your country is small, maybe try to travel to next country over, or even the next town if the former isn't possible. This will keep cost down to a minimum without the burden of expensive flights, taxis, and hotels. The best option for those on a budget is to save up your vacation days from work, save all your dollar bills and change, and pack up camping gear for the road ahead.

If you save just one dollar a day, that's 365 dollars a year, and if you add all the change you get, you can nearly double, or even triple that. For just hopping a state or two, that should be more than enough. For those of you with a bit more cash to spare, there are many more saving methods that work more quickly, with more payoff. One is to save a dollar every day if the first week of the month, three dollars every day for the second week, five for the third, and five for the fourth. That brings your total up to 98 dollars a month. If this is too pricey, look up "saving plans" and find one that fits for you.

For those who just can't wait to leave their country and set foot on new terrain, there are ways to save on international travels as well. The most obvious is to buy a vacation package. There are many websites, my favorite being GreatValueVacations or efCollegeBreak. These sites offer deals on European, African, Asian, and Tropical vacations for American (and probably others) citizens. These are often very cheap and include flights, hotels, which are usually four stars, and breakfast daily. You can upgrade to get more such as tours included for a bit more.

If that doesn't sound right for you, and you would rather explore the world at your own will, there are still ways to do so on a budget. To get the plane ticket, use the saving methods as mentioned above, then either camp or use hostels while traveling. For those who don't know, hostels are much cheaper than hotels and are much like dormitories with many people stuffed in a small space. Warning: these are not for the faint of heart, but if you like taking to others and listening to stories, seriously consider hostels as an option. I've heard many people say they've met lifelong friends in hostels.

Another expense while traveling is food. Many people make the mistake of eating out every night. Do not do this. A much cheaper way to eat while on a budget vacation is to shop at a grocery store and bring a compact stove to cook for yourself. You should still eat out at least one night, just to get a taste for the cultural food, but don't go broke on food when the money could be spent on attractions and other things.

Finally, the last great expense while on vacation is travel cost. Gas and car rentals can be expensive. It is important to do research on the country or area you are going to before taking this advice, but in many areas, you should be fine. First, instead of a car, rent a bike for the duration of your trip. This works especially well in small countries such as Finland and Iceland, or if you plan to stay in a smaller area. Another option, and again a stress for you to do research, is hitchhiking or hiking. It's a cheap and healthy way to travel.

I will leave one piece of advice to my children: travel. There is no better way to discover yourself and your meaning in life than to go out and find it. I promise you that no matter where you go, may it be the town next door or the country you've always dreamt of visiting, you will find a peace like none you've ever felt before, and a connection to the world that you didn't think possible. Listen to the stories of those you meet, watch the sunrise over the horizon, and take in the beauty of our planet. You are one life form in a universe that is infinite. You can, you must, see all that you can, experience all that you can, and love all that you can. Maybe one day we will meet in a land foreign to us both, exchange stories and laughs, and feel a bit more connected to each other. Until that day, farewell, and safe travels.

budget travel

About the Creator

Kody Allen

I'm a college student studying English and journalism at Casper College.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Kody AllenWritten by Kody Allen

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.