Wander logo

Why Is Paris Worth It?

Travel

By Lois CenizaPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
A Portrait of Myself in Paris, France

I have never been one to dream of going to Paris as a kid (or even as I grew up). I have heard stories here and there about how romantic, how beautiful, and how amazing Paris is but looking at photographs, I found it less appealing. I have seen loads of photos from other countries which I think, are more beautiful than what Paris could offer but my God was I in for a surprise when my partner and I decided to spend a holiday in Paris.

We were both excited for this holiday. He was excited to see the Louvre and Michelangelo’s sculpture in there (yes, he’s an art lover and a great fan of Michelangelo) while I, on the other hand, was just excited to get away from work and spend time with him in a different country as it is my first time to travel with my special someone. So, we stayed at this hotel at the heart of Paris (Hotel Saintè Marie—such a lovely hotel with awesome, good, and helpful staffs) which is near the Notre Dame. It was not a fancy hotel but it was really cozy and the location was fab!

During the first night, we went to the Notre Dame cathedral but since it was closed around 9 PM that time, we just stood outside in awe of its beauty. The architecture is brilliant! A must-see for people who love art and sculptures.

Notre Dame Cathedral

Next, we went to the Louvre to see the pyramid and how it looks like at night. It was stunning but to be honest, we did not enjoy it much because of the rain and the cold breeze that night. So, eventually, we decided to head back to the hotel and get some sleep hoping the following day would bring us sunshine to explore this lovely city.

Day 2 in Paris, we went on a hop-on, hop-off bus and saw the Arc of Triomphe. I was in awe of how huge and how beautiful the design was. Unfortunately, we did not manage to get off the bus and have a look around the gigantic arc because we decided to get off the bus once we’ve reached the Eiffel Tower and so, we continued on our journey. We saw lovely architectures as we went on our way to the Tower.

It was around 3 PM when we reached the ever so wonderful tower in Paris, the Eiffel Tower. It was love at first sight. I knew right then and there why Paris is on top of almost everybody’s list. We saw it during the day and saw it at night. The tower at night is definitely breathtaking. I am out of words at how beautiful this tower could be with all its lights. I guess that is why Paris is known to be the City of Lights. Aside from seeing the lovely structure, we’ve decided to go on top and see all that Paris could offer—nothing but beauty. My jaw dropped as I saw this lovely view on top.

View on Top of the Eiffel Tower

To wrap up the day, we walked from the tower to the hotel where we stayed and passed by the love locks and scribbled our names in a piece of lock and attached it around the rail near the bridge where it used to keep tons of locks from lovers all over the world. We then manage to have a Seine cruise and saw the bridges in Paris and learned some of its history which I find fascinating.

Day 3 - Touring around the Louvre museum was I guess the best part of the trip for my partner. It was huge! You need more than just a day to finish walking around the museum. We marvelled at the sight of the artworks and sculptures being displayed. I was also impressed by the modern-day painters trying to mimic paintings from the olden days. It was an exhausting yet awe-struck walk around the Louvre. One should not miss going in it whilst travelling to Paris.

Paris is such an artistic city. I believe it was meant to stand out from the rest of the cities due to its lovely architectures and fancy lights. If you are more of a left brainer, trust me, Paris is definitely for you.

Aside from the buildings, museums, the infamous tower, and the Seine cruise, Paris is know for its city life and posh shops. The feel of its city is somewhat comparable to London. You can also shop in the Louis Vuitton store (located near the Arc) and in few well known brands along its street.

So, that encompasses our short-lived vacation in Paris. And if you ask me, is Paris worth travelling to? Ultimately, it is a “yes” from me. How so? Photos of the city itself will tell you how beautiful Paris is but I suggest seeing it firsthand as it will let you know and agree that truly, Paris is worth it. Worth the money spent. Worth going on a holiday to. Worth taking your partner on a romantic date to. Worth taking pictures of. And just plainly, worth visiting—or maybe living in too.

europe

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Lois CenizaWritten by Lois Ceniza

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.