Wander logo

Why I moved to Lisbon, Portugal

And why I don't regret it for one second.

By Eva ThorsdottirPublished 4 years ago 4 min read

Here I am, just turned 23, and I find myself living in Lisbon, Portugal.

The story behind how I got here is one that I hold close to my heart. My boyfriend and I moved here together after being in a long distance relationship for about seven months. I was living in Iceland after some green card complications. You see, this is my birth place. I hadn’t lived in Iceland for fifteen years. When I got there, I was totally reintroduced to my entire family and homeland. Although the whole experience of being there was life changing, I was still in this relationship that I very much did not want to leave, but couldn’t handle the sadness of long distance. The six hour time difference plus living totally different lives was hard for both of us. The effort was there for both of us, though. He flew to Iceland, I flew to Tulsa, and at one point we flew to Canada to meet in the middle. We wanted to make this work. So we picked a place where it would be cheap, easy to do remote work, and beautiful: Lisbon. I arrived on December 28th and him shortly after.

Since then, I’ve spent hours walking the cobbled streets with my heart open to exploration. I’ve met people from all over the world, found a new love for pastries (uh-oh), and danced the weekends away. To best experience Lisbon, my advice is to get lost on the streets with no map. Walk wherever feels right, and I promise you’ll find some of your favorite places. I will give a fair warning, you will probably be sore. The streets are almost never flat and ensure a hefty workout. I’ve yet to get a gym membership because most days I’m burning more calories than I would on a treadmill.

Alfama

My favorite place to get lost in is Alfama. It’s an incredibly charming district that feels far away from the touristy hot spots. The neighborhoods are tiny alleyways that have hidden gems at every corner. It’s easy to find a cafe that is perfectly kissed by the sun. People are friendly and welcoming. It’s a short walk to the popular sights but far enough where the streets are fairly quiet and peaceful. One gem that I’ve stumbled on is called Salsa. This is a dainty restaurant that has a variety of choices. I’ve had grilled salmon with potatoes and broccoli. They also have creamy pasta, juicy burgers, and bacalao served three different ways! It’s a great place for a quiet dinner while escaping the crowds. If you’re looking for a place to get some serious work done, I recommend finding one of the “Copenhagen” cafes nearby. This chain cafe serves all sorts of brunch food, and gives away free chocolate brownie bites (my personal favorite reason to go). There is also an outside area where you can sit and read a book/write. They really know how to set a good ambience.

Mouraria

The first place we stayed was located in Mouraria. This is in Lisbons’ oldest district. This is where you can find the Castelo de S. Jorge which is a historical castle that most tourists have on their “must-see” list. It feels like a walk that goes straight uphill, but I promise it is so worth it. The best time to visit is in the winter time so you’re not stuck in a line for hours. Make sure you buy your entrance tickets in advance, too!

Some of my favorite places to eat in Lisbon:

Eight Health Lounge– When I first found this place, I went back every day for almost a week. I am not vegan but I reconsidered it after tasting their burger. They have a variety of power bowls that are nutrient rich, smoothies that are packed with vitamins, and an option for a deep massage upstairs. Their environment is so peaceful and inspiring- it’s hard not to spend all day there!

Rossio Gastrobar– If you’re looking for a perfect after-dinner drink, this is where you’ll find it. The outdoor rooftop seating is reason enough to check this place out but there’s much more to it. Their cocktail list is well thought out and carefully made. If you land here on a Sunday or Monday, they offer a different menu. If you’re a chocolate epicur like myself, order the chocolate mousse dessert. This delight has a special place in my heart.

TOPO Martim Moniz– One of the best viewpoints in Lisbon. The restaurant sits in a large commercial building, but if you can look past the plain outside, you will find a special spot. The outdoor seating is cosy and welcoming. It’s a perfect place to start your weekend. I would recommend just having a drink or two, because it can be a little bit pricey and the food options aren’t plenty.

There's hundreds of places to be explored here in Lisbon, and I still have plenty of time to navigate my way through this beautiful city. Being thankful is an understatement when it comes to my life here in Portugal. If it wasn't for love, I would have never gotten the opportunity to have such a rich and fulfilling life.

europe

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    ETWritten by Eva Thorsdottir

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.