Wander logo

What It's Like Not Actually Going to Norwegian Fjords

This is about all the ups and downs of "being blackery."

By drkennyPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
2
What It's Like Not Actually Going to Norwegian Fjords
Photo by Tanya Tulupenko on Unsplash

Before I begin, I'd just like to say how is everyone doing. In case y'all don't know, this is Roshanda. I'm currently typing from the comfort of my home.

Speaking of home.

Yesterday, I was writing my main chick story, and there was the neighborhood ratchet outside driving without a permit, and then the police found out. The police were banging on my door because she alerted them to me (I don't know why), so I had to answer a few questions.

They wanted to know if I was associated with her.

Technically, I am. I know her from work. And the reason I call her the neighborhood ratchet is because that's what she is; she's always getting in to all sorts of trouble with drugs and men and whatnot. She's somewhat of a local celebrity around these parts. She's probably around 18. Her name... I forgot. I'll just call her "Ratchette" for now. We've only asked each other simple questions at work, but nothing too serious. Obviously, we're not friends.

Which is the reason why I don't know Ratchette's real name.

And the last time I've ever talked to her was before the pandemic. So.

Yeah.

I just told the two cops that I know her from work. If this helps, they were both male and black. Diversity for the win I guess.

Then I noticed Ratchette peering from behind them. She said something along the lines of–

"Ion care if y'all take me to y'all I we– this ion belong to the I– y'all have the nerve and audacity! Y'all better let me go! You don't know what it's like– li–living in the hood!"

Okay.

This isn't the "real hood," so whatever you're talking about, this isn't it.

After the police officers left, I closed the door and looked outside the window. They were trying to get Ratchette into their car, but Ratchette didn't comply, so they had to force her to get into the car.

Ratchette continued cursing, but they shut the door and drove off, presumably to the police station so a relative could pick her up.

Normally, I would try to defend people whenever I can, especially black people, but she was just out of hand. Plus, she might retaliate for me helping her anyway.

In other words.

I don't feel guilt and I just decided to use yesterday for today's starter story. Well, maybe I do feel guilt. Because she's an example of misguided youth. But I don't want to snake into her business. So I'll leave her be.

Hmm.

There's nothing else for me to talk about, so I might as well start up with the main story.

If you read the previous article I created, you know how I said James was saving up money to go to Norwegian Fjords.

But if you're reading the title you know that's not the case.

I'm going to start from the beginning.

James said that he was working a lot, so we didn't really have time to chat all the time. Months flew by, and I think I started forgetting about him. Until he called me and said that he was going to take me somewhere.

That somewhere being fjords.

I admit I was excited, because nobody has ever done this to me.

At least, nobody I've met that isn't related to me.

He told me to go to pack my bags for 3 days and drive to the airport by 7, and I was thinking about the places we were going to go to. Perhaps Disneyland.

Then he told me where we were going, and I was mindblown. I never would've thought of it. Because it was so random.

When we were getting our bags checked, a white girl with a KAREN haircut asked where we were going. James responded, and she said that she was very suspicious of us.

She asked if we stole the tickets from someone.

James said that he didn't.

Then she looked at him in the eye, and said that he lied.

Then she kept whining about "this is what happens when you let (minority) inside the airport" and I was getting annoyed and all I wanted to do at the time was hurry up and go on the plane.

Then other people heard, and they said they'd check our bags for us.

There was this white guy this time, and I asked him why isn't she fired yet. He said that she just gets wound up sometimes and that you should just ignore her. I believe he mentioned something about her being a good worker or something but–

I didn't care.

So I asked him if I could have my bag back.

James asked why did I take my bag back, but I told him I was going to go back home. He said that the Karen has already been taken care of and not to think about it, but it was so embarrassing.

Seeing a racist.

He didn't bother stopping me, and said that if it's okay with me, he'll take a relative with him instead. I said that he can.

Now that I think about it, I should've went to the fjords after all. If I just drove over to the airport and didn't even go on the plane, it was a waste of time and gas. And I knew there was people like that. Plus, she wasn't talking to me.

But still, I thought it was the right thing to do. At the time, anyway.

I wish I went now... what a waste...

After James was done, he was a bit angry at me for being childish, but I'll go into that next time.

Because I'm getting too annoyed and too tired to continue writing, I'm going to have to stop here. Maybe I'll talk to Arya instead.

drkenny here.

Shorter article than usual. I think it fits Roshanda in a way.

culture
2

About the Creator

drkenny

I'm really sorry for the inactivity, but I really did love Vocal!

Thank you very much. Please buy the Vocal premium! It's worth it!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.