Wander logo

Weekend Get-away!

As most of you reading already know, I'm not the spontaneous type! But this week, I surprised myself!

By Sid MarkPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Murfreesboro, Tennesse

As most of you reading already know, I'm not the spontaneous type! But this week, I surprised myself! Aaron and I had been given a gift certificate last Christmas to the Byrns-Roberts Inn in Murfreesboro, TN for a one-night stay. I started thinking about Christmas gifts last week, and I was reminded of my gift certificate so neatly posted to the office cork board. I thought, "Hum, I wonder if there is an expiration date?". When I called, the inn keeper said "No, there's no expiration date; however, we're retiring in March." I replied, "Oh, I wish I had of known, but do you happen to have anything open this weekend?". And to that, "Yes, our Garden Regency suite is open on Friday". "Perfect", I said, "Let's go ahead with the reservation". I called Aaron, called his mom, we got all the details worked out within just a few minutes. This weekend was a perfect time to go. It was Aaron's birthday weekend and it's just before all of the Christmas festivities begin around here! So we headed out of town on Friday afternoon for some much needed R & R.

Let me just tell you that this was the most beautiful home. It's located 3 blocks off of the historic downtown square in Murfreesboro. Reminiscent of a time long ago, we walked up to this 12,000 square foot mansion nestled quietly in the city streets. Wow...is all I can say. The staircase alone was breath-taking. Tons of original wood work, fireplaces with original tiles, creaky old wood floors, beautiful dining area, huge door facings, just gorgeous. But not over done, over decorated, or overly expensive furnishings. Just like it might have been in the early 1900s when the original owners were there. Their heirs stayed in the home until the 1990s, when David and Julie bought the home. They renovated for two years, doing most of the work themselves, and then opened in June 1998. They're currently running at 90% capacity, and it's no question why! They are humble servants with such a gifting for hospitality. I saw my life right before me. THIS IS WHAT I WANT TO DO.....in my retirement! It would be unthinkable with young kids in the home, but man oh man......this was right up my alley!

I loved every part of our stay there. From the attention to fine details like soap, candles, and fresh flowers, to the embroidered bed linens and bath towels. Oh...and the cotton robes were awesome! I almost bought one!! And may still, this place is having a huge garage sale when they close up shop in March. We were right in the middle of town so we went over to Carrabas for dinner (a first for me) then to the Avenue for shopping, and back to Marble Slab Creamery for dessert. Heading back to the Inn was like going home again. There's just something about this atmosphere that feels "lovely" to me. I immediately, upon re-entry to the home, began to think about the mailman who must have delivered a thousand letters, gifts, and surprises to the children growing up here. Then the staircase caught my eye again......just think of all the Christmas Eve's that children were perched along that huge banister to steal a view down below. It was rejuvenation of a dream long forgotten. But....it's back.

I love to entertain, love to be with people, love to make life comfortable for others. I'm relational. As if you didn't know that about me. I can't imagine anything I'd rather do than be hospitable to both friends and strangers. David and Julie don't live in the house, however they will in March! They bought the home behind the inn and renovated that one for their own living space. They've been there for 9 years, and are longing to get back into the original home. With just the two of them, they're not sure how they'll choose a master suite. There are five in the home and each is as beautiful as the next. She even laughed suggesting that she might change every few months or so! I walked away from our time there, knowing that I had been cared for.

SO........for all of you men out there wondering what you should do for your wife to let her know how much you care. Get a reservation at the Byrn-Roberts Inn. It's well worth the memory.

And Aaron......I love you more today than I ever have. Happy Birthday. This is what we have to look forward to when all the kids are grown! We caught the vision. Peace resides there. I am thankful to have tasted it.

america
1

About the Creator

Sid Mark

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.