Wander logo

Traveling as an Introvert Plus 5 Survival Tips as a Solo Traveler

So this is probably exactly what most introverts want to do, right? Travel Alone in a country where I have to speak to people, in a foreign language.

By sara burdickPublished about a month ago 4 min read
3

Ok, so let me explain. I always knew I wanted to travel, and my day job required me to be social. I was a nurse, and talking to people, patients, and doctors was a job requirement.

I would go out with my friends, and I was living as a “normal” person. Except to cover up my horrible social anxiety, I would stay heavily medicated with alcohol. At the time, I kind of knew I had some social anxiety but wasn’t fully aware of what it is like to be an introvert and an empath.

I just thought I was an alcoholic or struggled with alcohol, but I'm not sure why I needed to rely on it so heavily. So, about five years ago, I cut back on alcohol and then slowly quit.

Which I have done.

When I quit alcohol, I realized social events weren’t as fun as they used to be. In retrospect, I realized that I never really wanted to be at most social events, anyway.

I have always loved my alone time, doing things by myself and having a few very close friends around me. I no longer felt the need to be friends with people who I really didn’t want to be around or those who just wanted to get wasted and go to a bar all night.

Machu Picchu

Realizing this was HUGE! I stopped putting everyone else's needs before mine, changed my diet, changed my life, and set out on a discovery of self. I decided to travel the world and see what was out there.

This was quite a challenge.

How can I put my needs first and still find a balance in my social life and make the most out of travel?

I have had to learn to say YES and NO. You might wonder how I can say no to something and step out of my comfort zone to say YES.

Let your intuition guide you.

Most introverts have excellent intuition, and maybe you have been hiding it behind booze like I was. Because what I was really doing was hiding my true feelings with alcohol and not allowing my true self to shine through.

I was a distorted version of myself, and I wanted everyone to like me. So I did what everyone else did, even though my gut/intuition told me to STOP!

Sometimes, you must get uncomfortable by saying no to something not for your higher good.

My huge lesson is saying no to alcohol!

Questions like: Why don’t you drink, so you don’t like to have fun?

The list goes on and on. It’s confidence in yourself.

I know alcohol serves no purpose in my life. So why will I do something that is not for my higher self, I won’t, I say no. With no further explanation. It is no one's concern what you choose to put into your body.

This led me to travel solo to South America!

So yes, I realized there are a few things that I love to do: walking around the city and taking in all the sights, getting a coffee at a local shop, and eating street food!

These I typically do alone.

Cusco, Peru

As an introvert/empath, I have learned that I need my alone time to recharge.

If I socialize too much, especially in hostels, my entire body and energy are drained.

Taking care of myself and my care needs has allowed me to connect to others in a deeper way. I am not the person traveling who has 100 friends and knows everyone.

I am the one person who hangs out with a few people and will go out when the event is something I truly love, like going to a live band or dancing!

This also means sometimes people see me reading or going to bed early. I did not prioritize my needs for a long time, and just like anything, this will burn you out!

I no longer find the need to lubricate myself to be social. Instead, I can say yes to events that make me happy. Finding myself drawn to smaller towns. My dream spots are secluded areas in the woods, wilderness, or off-grid.

It is possible to travel as an introvert. I have also met many other introverts like me. Eventually, you will start attracting those who are more similar to you and will make deeper, longer-lasting connections.

Traveling as an introvert is possible. I am living, breathing, and walking proof!

I am currently traveling and living in Colombia, where I am headed to a pueblo on Sunday to be in nature. It is not always easy, but life isn’t easy. So, choose your future and carve out your own path.

5 Tips To Surviving Travel as An Introvert

  • Kindle and Noise Canceling Headphones!
  • Book a Private Room When You Feel Overwhelmed
  • Journal I write or journal daily, on paper and online
  • Travel slow and avoid group tours
  • Go sit in a local coffee shop, soak in the scenery, and maybe take a walk around town to recharge.

Thank you for reading.

XOXO

S

south americatravel tipstravel advicesolo travelfemale travel
3

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Andrea Corwin about a month ago

    Good for you, finding your path as an introvert and being brave to travel alone!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.