Wander logo

Six Things I Love About Argentina And Why You Should Visit

Have you been?

By sara burdickPublished about a month ago 4 min read
1
Bariloche, Argentina

I spent all of the lockdown in Argentina. I went to Argentina feeling that a lockdown was unavoidable. I knew that I loved the country, and I knew Buenos Aires, as I spent four months the prior year in Argentina.

Lockdown was not as crazy as in most other countries, and we could leave the house when we needed to go to the grocery store. When you live in a country during one of the most traumatic times in your life, you develop a love for the country.

exploring La Boca

So I want to share a few things that I love and miss about living in Argentina with you. I have spent about the same amount of time in Argentina as in Colombia.

I think I have a thing for South America. On a side note, South America was the only continent I said “who wants to go there; it’s probably just like North America”. My young self was so arrogant and naive.

After traveling worldwide, I will tell you it is my favorite continent; ok, I have not been to Antarctica and Australia yet, but among the rest.

Palermo Graffiti

Mate

I got addicted to the national drink, mate. I have three bags of yerba and my mate cup and bombilla in the US; you better believe I am picking it up when I go in July. Mate traditionally is drunk with friends and shared, but they also drink it alone.

It was tough during the lockdown, but we still shared, mate, I know the horror. It is yerba, and you pour hot water over it (not boiling). Mate is an art form. If you don’t believe me ask any Argentine to show you how it is done or youtube it!

Ice Cream

After all, half of Argentina is Italian, so you better believe there is an ice cream store on every corner; if you think I am joking, I am not. They are also open late until 1. Since the other half of Argentina is Spanish, they follow the late-night dinner rules.

Pizza

They have a special pizza called Fugazetta, and omg, it is divine. It is with caramelized onions and cheese; you can also get it with ham. They also make a fantastic margarita pizza. I am not picky; all I know is that I miss it since I have not had a good pizza since I left Argentina.

Coffee

I used to tell everyone that Colombia has the best coffee, but I lied. The coffee in the coffee region of Colombia is fantastic, but that is about it. Colombia exports all the high-quality coffee.

Maybe to Argentina. It is just amazing; my favorite is cafe con leche. Here, a cafe con leche is all milk and a little coffee; in Argentina, it is a proper espresso with milk. It is made with an espresso machine, not instant.

The pastries

Like ice cream, there is a bakery on every block; if not one, then 2. They are amazing, especially the medialunas, like mini croissants. I know it’s not, but that is how I am explaining it. They are perfect for merienda at 5 pm. They also have good donuts.

The landscape

I love the rolling hills and the flatlands. The horses are grazing, and the gauchos are herding the cattle to the green pastures for spring and summer. Yes, they still do that. The shepherds stay with the animals in tents, and I have been told they are drunk and sometimes fall off the horses. I can tell you every Shephard I met, I am pretty sure was drunk and always lovely to talk to.

I loved the time I spent in Argentina; it will remain one of my favorite countries.

It has some of the most beautiful mountains and lakes I have ever seen. Everyone knows how to cook or at least make an Asado. You can go south to the snow and go north to the desert. Their connection to Pachamama is one of the most incredible I have ever experienced.

There are parts of Argentina known as energy vortexes, especially in Cordoba.

So if Argentina is on your list, I encourage you to visit. Just one piece of advice do not use the ATM; they double charge you and are usually out of money.

Always use western union to transfer your money. Western Unions are everywhere, just like ice cream shops.

Have you been to Argentina? What is your favorite thing about Argentina?

Ok, I admit, will travel for food, and sunsets.

XOXO

S.

travel advicesouth americasolo travelfemale travelbudget travel
1

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.