Wander logo

Travel Builds Strength to Confront What Waits at Home

We drove past reality, through denial to relaxation

By Brenda MahlerPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
1
Image from author's photo album

My husband and I drove out of the driveway as we started our month-long adventure. Though the awareness that our responsibilities were limited while traveling through the mountains, deserts, and small towns, we kept our phones within reach knowing reception was limited. We expected to have limited contact with the outside world knowing in the event of a real emergency, we could be found. The phones worked more as cameras on our trip. When we exited the city limits, our bodies screamed for time to shut down and reboot.

My brother and his wife at Zion National Park
Lake Powell
Bryce Canyon

Grand Canyon

It was painfully apparent when I met my brother and his wife, our traveling partners, that this vacation provided a needed repose for them as well. It offered a nurturing, regenerative vacation. In the past couple years, our daughter had suffered a stroke, their son was assaulted by a brain tumor, and we all had been addressing the needs of our aging parents.

“A vacation is what you take when you can no longer take what you’ve been taking.” — Earl Wilson

The following days we gathered to play games, explore, watch the sunsets, and laugh. We permitted ourselves to lay in the sun, sometimes without talking for long periods, absorbing the sun’s energy. By the third or fourth day, our evening curfew expanded past 9 p.m. because we gained energy.

The allure of the trip emanated from the ability to do nothing — except eat, drink and sleep

When we returned home from our trip, we felt relaxed and ready to take on the world. Once we descended the road surrounded by mountains, reception returned to our phones and because we had announced our impending return the night before, our phones greeted us with beeps, dings, and pings to inspire memories of strobe lights from my disco days. I felt loved and needed.

We contacted my daughter first to announce our safe arrival. After informing me the grandkids remained happy and healthy, she shared a cousin had been trying to reach me to which I asked, “Who died?” Turns out the relative's mother laid terminally ill in a hospital. I called and prayed with her offering assurances we would be home soon.

And then it began. We were home.

Upon opening my emails, 180 messages flashed seeking my attention. Most I deleted as they were notices of bill payments, Uber receipts, and junk mail. The realization of how much technology manipulates my waking hours shocked me as my fingers swiped right to delete; after a quick glance, I hit the “Empty Spam” icon to erase the 100+ unsolicited, garbage emails.

Fewer texts assaulted my senses, but one jumped off the page. “So, I’m wondering if I said or did something to piss you off, and if I have, I’m sorry but would like to be acknowledged even if it’s to say f — off. I miss u.” Shocked at the abruptness of this message, I paused until my heart reminded me that a friend needed to be acknowledged. By ignoring texts messages, I had offended someone I cared about.

My response, “Been traveling and seldom had cell service. Dinner?” ended with an event added to my calendar, reminding me to not make a mountain out of a molehill. Sometimes humans simply need validation.

Later when I sat and talked with my daughter, my heart ached to hear our granddaughter had experienced her first break-up. She didn’t have a boyfriend when we left! Having raised two daughters, I accepted this as the first of many heartbreaks, for her and me, and simply welcomed the fact I didn’t have to experience the event in real-time.

At first as I digested the information, frustration started to build, but I reminded myself, relationships bring drama. We are all simply characters on the stage of life experiencing plots as they unfold before our eyes. Our trip had taken us off the stage momentarily, but the script included us in the show when we returned.

As a slave to technology, I resumed my bad habit and read the recent news. The updates confronted me with information about deaths related to the coronavirus, along with numerous other unpleasantries. Each reminded me the world keeps spinning and events continue even if I ignore them.

In the span of few hours, my hibernating emotions woke to a bombardment of issues causing an aching awakening. However, a month hiding from reality, isolation had replenished my strength providing me the fortitude to support others.

The assault to my mind and body made me thankful for time to celebrate life and reignite the bond with my husband, my brother, and his wife. We all carried baggage, but the vacation provided an opportunity to distribute the weight of our load. We arrived home feeling lighter.

Yes, vacation end, but memories remain

Memories that transport me to a dream where the world doesn’t matter — for a few days. Traveling in our RV promotes our mental health and provides opportunities to become a better me.

____________________________________________________

While he drives, I write. More humor and practical suggestions for travel are available on my blog.

SUBSCRIBE

couples travel
1

About the Creator

Brenda Mahler

Travel

Writing Lessons

Memoirs

Poetry

Books AVAILABLE ON AMAZON.

* Lockers Speak: Voices from America's Youth

* Understanding the Power Not Yet shares Kari’s story following a stroke at 33.

* Live a Satisfying Life By Doing it Doggy Style explains how humans can life to the fullest.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.