Wander logo

Top 5 Things I Learned Living on the Mainland as a Hawaiian!

A Hawaiian Story

By Pono AkinaPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1

Top 5 Things I Learned Living on the Mainland as a Hawaiian!

By: Pono Akina

1. No one can understand or pronounce my Name:

Being from Hawai’i and Polynesian by blood, our ancestors have always had an affinity with words and phrases in ‘Olelo Hawai’i (Hawaiian Language). We believe the people of Hawai’i are born to love and respect nature, the land, the ocean, sky, and all living things. So, naturally, we intertwine the Hawaiian to identify who we are. My full name is: Pono Olapa Keahi Okalewa Akina. I would pay any mainlander, that is not Polynesian, to pronounce this name on the first try. I learned that my name is hard to pronounce for most mainlanders. Almost, without fail, the next thing out of people’s mouth is, “What?”

2. It is REALLY HARD to get local Hawaiian Food!

Living in Idaho and Utah for, a combined, 10 years, I have seen my fair share of Hawaiian local restaurants. Most are owned by local people from the islands; however, though each local place has a connection to my homeland, there is an American modification to most Hawaiian restaurants. Mo Bettah’s is a major staple in Utah and has the local flare but lacks in authenticity to me. I love poi, poke, lomi salmon, and lau lau to name a few. You can still find these in certain stores and areas, but they are far and few. This NEEDS to change!

3. Being Stereotyped!

Being born in Hawai’i and being Hawaiian and then moving to the mainland, (especially Idaho and Utah), I did not realize how many people are uneducated about Hawai’i and the culture. As harsh as that is, every time I get asked, “You’re from Hawai’i? Then you must be a great surfer!” Or, my personal favorite, “You must love Hawaiian pizza, right?” These are just 1% of what I get from the people up here. It can be funny, but after 10 years of being stereotyped, it gets old quick. Look, I get it. There are many things’ people hear from other sources and expect the same thing from every Polynesian they will ever meet. But we are all not the same! And I am tired of people telling me I’m not a real Hawaiian because I don’t surf, speak fluent Hawaiian, don’t dance hula, and don’t eat Hawaiian pizza!

4. Slowly LOSING my Hawaiian Identity to the Mainlander Culture!

Now, this does not sound as bad as it seems to be. Yes, many great things that mainlander culture has I have assimilated into myself. However, there are a few Hawaiian aspects that I have laxed in since moving. For instance, talking shoes off at the front door. Since I live with many roommates and the front doorway is a small section, it is difficult to put your shoes at the door without blocking the plethora of individuals. People walk through there at a constant pace that shoes off in the front are not a thing. Another is giving the Aloha hug and kiss on the cheek to all women! In Utah and Idaho, it is a lot different. Girls are not familiar with this at all and when you do it, they sort of freak out. At least some of them

5. Finally, the one that I have yet to figure out, DATING!

This is probably the one thing I do not understand, and haven not learned yet. I think it is because I do not get girls. But I have had the worst luck as a Hawaiian in the dating scene in Idaho and Utah. I have been on dates and have a few relationships, but they never last more than a couple weeks. I am still not sure what I learned about dating on the mainland, and I cannot land a girl on the mainland!

All I know, is that I have learned some good things, I have learned some terrible things. I have gained some culture skills and I have lost some local culture skills. I went on a mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints for two years. I graduated from Brigham Young University – Idaho with a Bachelor’s in English. I met and made many great friends. I have gotten my heart broken, more than I care to count. I have yet to know what I want to do with my life, but all these experiences have helped me be who I am now. And I will continue learn from these Mainlanders, until the day I die. But I will never forget where I come from. The Island out in the middle of the sea. My sweet homeland, Hawai’i.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Pono Akina

“There is no greater agony than bearing an untold story inside you.” ~ Maya Angelou

I just want to tell stories!

What's YOUR story?

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.