Wander logo

Tomorrow I Leave

For Alnwick

By Mike Singleton - MikeydredPublished about a year ago 3 min read
The Alnwick Garden Treehouse

Introduction

This is just a bit of preamble for the week's holiday in Alnwick which is a twenty-five-minute train journey to Alnmouth then a friend's generous offer to take us to the flat overlooking Alnwick Castle where some of the scenes for Harry Potter and Downton Abbey were filmed.

I was there a year ago, post my cancer operation that you can read about here, though I was not very mobile that week but managed to get out for coffee and cake (photographic evidence in the story below).

So What's The Plan

One of the things I intended to do last year was to drop a signed copy of my debut anthology "The Ha'penny Dreadful" into Barter Books (located in the old Railway Station) but I could hardly walk five hundred yards let alone the half mile or so to Barter Books.

This time I have three books to sign and drop in, and hopefully, someone will buy them, like them and maybe tell their friends. If I ever become a successful author they will have a signed copy, which may one day be worth something.

Close to Barter Books is The Straight-Tailed Lion of Alnwick and I am hoping to write a tale (see what I did there) about that lion. I once did a blog post about it on Seven Days In but it must have clocked it at twenty words and the Lion deserves a lot more than that.

I also intend to do a write-up on Barter Books as well, about the shop and the building, which I do enjoy visiting. Whether I will buy anything there I don't know but you will get to see photographs and videos via my Instagram account.

I am not sure that I will see any cats in Alnwick but if I do they will be shared with the hashtags #CatsofAlnwick and #CatsofVocal for the Cats of Vocal Facebook page.

The Alnwick Castle Garden contains some amazing water features and "The Poisoned Garden" which a number of my Vocal friends are wanting me to visit and share with them. Check out the link for a sneak preview, but if you are ever in the UK or live here it is definitely worth a visit.

I am not going to go inside the castle but will have plenty of opportunity to explore its walls and close environs, but it is not open until the end of March so even if I wanted to go it would be shut.

A definite visit is to the Treehouse Restaurant in The Alnwick Garden

Conclusion

That is essentially what I am planning to experience and write about when I get up there. This is going to be the first time I have really done Alnwick on foot so there will be a lot for me to explore and discover which hopefully will then give me a lot more to write about.

Unrelated to Alnwick I may do a Jah Wobble playlist but that is not a high-priority piece of writing.

I will undoubtedly create some new poetry and The Poisoned Garden could possibly be a good subject for that.

The music I have chosen is "Tomorrow Never Knows" by The Beatles from "Revolver" because it is the closing track from my favourite Beatles album, and "Tomorrow Never Knows" is a statement that applies to all of us, we never know what tomorrow will bring us.

That's all I have to say, it is closing in on one o'clock in the morning and I need to get all my clothes for the week packed in the suitcase.

So this is my goodnight to you all.

guidefeatureeuropeactivities

About the Creator

Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Weaver of Tales & Poems

7(1.2m) ֎ Fb ֎ Px ֎ Pn ֎

X ֎ In ֎ YT (0.2m) ֎ T

Vocal Tips

Creationati

Call Me LesGina HeatherCaroline

BabsROCKDharCathyJudeyAnna

DaphsamMisty MelissaMa Coombs

Carol

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  3. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  1. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  2. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

Add your insights

Comments (4)

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Thank you for sharing your travels!!! Loving it!!!💕❤️❤️

  • Donna Fox (HKB)about a year ago

    I love how in a piece of this you were brave enough to say thing a lot of us find hard to say “If I ever become a successful author…” For me in particular this is such a hard dream to say aloud. Thank you for taking us on this journey with you, sharing your insights and giving your well received advice. I can’t wait for your article on Barter Books, I’d love to hear more about the!

  • Such a fascinating adventure!

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Awesome!!! Loved it!!!💖💖💕

Mike Singleton - MikeydredWritten by Mike Singleton - Mikeydred

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.