Wander logo

Things I Remember About Rome

Fun Memories

By Chloe GilholyPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
1

I've been to Rome several times with my family and I've enjoyed it every time. It's a place that I will never forget, but if I go to Italy again, I will choose another city to explore like Venice or Sicily. With that in mind, my trips to Rome have offered me a pleasant experience and I can't wait to go back to Italy again.

Collosuem

I will never forget the Colloseum. The first thing that comes to my head when I think of Rome and Italy isn't pizza, but the Colosseum. It's an iconic symbol of Rome at its peak and still attracts millions of tourists. I remember roaming inside and the atmosphere felt incredible knowing how many spectators it was cable of holding and how many things and people were slain for entertainment on the stage.

Ruins

The ruins are visible to see in most areas of central Rome. It's a real mixture of ancient meeting modern. There was no end of ruins to see when I was walking around the city centre. Like the photo of these pillars taken by the Colosseum. This picture was taken in 2015 when the weather was a bit grim as we went near the winter time, but we still enjoyed ourselves.

Architexture

Some of the architecture in the chapels and churches are exceptional. Almost all of them are designed with such care and dedication and it's amazing how it's been able to stand so tall after all these centuries. A highlight for me is the Sistine Chapel, Roman Forum, the Pantheon, and National Museum of Castel Sant'Angelo.

The Vatican

The papal residence is considered a country by its own merit. Considered one of the smallest countries in the world. Despite that, it still holds a very high importance within Rome being the centre of the Roman Catholic faith, an organisation with billions of members around the world. There's really a regal atmosphere in the Vatican. I remember somebody wearing devil horns around the Vatican as a joke. Luckily, security didn't catch him, but many tourists passing by didn't take the joke well.

Seafood

Italy is renowned for many dishes that are popular all over the world like pizzas, spaghetti bolognese, and risottos. For me, Rome was the birth of my love for seafood. I tried prawns, squid, and salmon there for the first time and became a lover of seafood ever since. Which in turn eventually led me to another love of mine: sushi.

Nightlife

Rome didn't come without its bad moments. There were lots of street sellers on the streets trying to sell selfie sticks. Even when we were on the tour bus, they were still trying to sell it to us. I think the illegal street vendors have been shown some compassion and sympathy. I also remember the restaurant where there was only potato and chicken available and the dodgy musicians who get angry because you don't pay them. Still, it's not enough to spoil what is a beautiful and interesting city.

I really liked the nightlife in Rome. Going to the Trevvi Fountains and Spanish Steps was a pleasure to see when it's all lit up at night. Despite the risks, I felt very safe as we were in a big group. Fortunately, the hotel we were staying was close to the Colosseum, so if we ever got lost all we had to do was spot the Colosseum and we'd be able to make the short walk back to the hotel.

We had some pretty good views of the city through our window and at the rooftop. The last time we were there, there were a lot of things bordered up for reconstruction like the Trevvi fountain and the Colosseum, but it still looked beautiful.

europe
1

About the Creator

Chloe Gilholy

Former healthcare worker and lab worker from Oxfordshire. Author of ten books including Drinking Poetry and Game of Mass Destruction. Travelled to over 20 countries.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.