Wander logo

The Town

By Malik Sims

By Malik SimsPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
2
Oakland, Ca

A city of dreams. I believe that about Oakland. Broken dreams...Broken people. I'm from this city. A city where any day could be my last. Murder, prostitution, drugs, and homelessness? whats new. I have seen it all.

This could be looked at as a story of how this place is a horrible, hopeless place. However, I see its elegance and beauty. Its classism and people who never succumb to the dark environment.

Downtown Oakland, Ca

I was born to sixteen year old mother in 1998. It's almost a miracle that I made it. For a woman to be so young, and give birth, is unimaginable to many people. It also takes large amounts of courage to take on motherhood.

My mother tells me of our numerous adventures throughout Oakland. Our many trips on the Bart train. One thing I have noted over the years due to observing major cities, is that we people in these cities see what the world calls crazy and just shrug. To be honest, its our reality. Another one dead, or another robbed at gunpoint, cracked out homeless on the train. All of it is sadly normal.

Oakland, Ca

These struggles and problems, in a way, become sort of beautiful. Not in a fabulous and exaggerated way, but in a subtle and personal way. You see, all of the killed people have families, who have stories, who have souls. Every person in this city has one. Every drugged out homeless man or woman riding endlessly on the train is somebody's child. Somebody's sister or brother. Every person robbed, was coming home from work, or just going to the store to get something to eat for his or her family. Every person robbing others may be in a tough situation. That person may be poor, may be struggling to make ends meet. Every prostitute may not be in that situation because they want to be there. Most of them are forced into that lifestyle, many of them being underage. In short, we are all humans, no one better than the other. And, in the city of Oakland many people do what they do to survive.

Downtown Oakland, Ca

I began to think in this manner at a young age. I believe the place your are born shapes and molds the person you eventually become. However, my parents wanted me to surpass statistics and become an example to a lot of people my age. Not that I am important, however, if I can lend a hand to a struggling man or woman, I gladly will.

So when I say these struggles are beautiful, I just mean they are human. And humanity is both ugly and beautiful.

El Cerrito, Ca (Outter Oakland)

Being that my entire family is either from Oakland or lives there currently, I do not not plan to leave anytime soon. I want to explore more of the world certainly, however, I am currently serving in the US Army, so eventually I will get to that just not now. No matter where I go, Oakland has forever impacted my life, as well as the life of my mother and family. I am humbled that I was not dealt a very bad hand at life, but, that just means that I can work to bless and lift up those who have been dealt bad hands.

One of my goals is to start a production company in Oakland. Hiring locals and offering internships to kids like me. Kids who want to express themselves creatively.

There is lots of good in Oakland, actually tons of it. Its beautiful. From downtown, to Lake Merritt, to Jack London. The city is gorgeous to look at, Culturally diverse as well. Extreme talent resides in it citizens as well. Many voices yet to be exposed. But when they are, Oakland will be heard.

Berkeley, Ca (outter Oakland)

america
2

About the Creator

Malik Sims

Photographer and writer from Oakland, Ca.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.