Wander logo

The Road Less Traveled

A Journey Of Living And Working Overseas

By Freddie's Lost TreasuresPublished 10 months ago 4 min read
Like
Saudi Meeting

Living and working overseas can be a truly enriching and rewarding experience. From embracing new cultures, to learning new languages, to forging life-long friendships, living abroad can offer a wealth of opportunities for personal and professional growth. As someone who has had the privilege of living and working in a variety of countries around the world, I can attest to the transformative power of overseas experiences.

One of my earliest overseas experiences was living and working in Saudi Arabia. At the time, I was a young professional just starting out in my career. Initially, I was hesitant about moving to an unfamiliar country with a different language and culture. However, I soon found that the environment in Saudi Arabia was both welcoming and supportive. I made many friends and colleagues who were eager to show me the ropes and help me navigate my new surroundings.

One of the highlights of my time in Saudi Arabia was the opportunity to travel throughout the country and experience its rich history and culture. From the ancient ruins of Mada’in Saleh, to the towering peaks of the Hijaz Mountains, to the bustling cities of Riyadh and Jeddah, Saudi Arabia offered a stunning array of sights and experiences.

Another country where I have lived and worked is Egypt. Like Saudi Arabia, Egypt is a country with a long and rich history. However, it also poses its own unique challenges for expats. While the culture in Egypt is welcoming and friendly, there are also many cultural differences that can take some time to adjust to.

One of the most memorable experiences I had in Egypt was visiting the ancient pyramids of Giza. It was an awe-inspiring experience to stand in the shadow of these massive structures and contemplate the engineering expertise that went into their construction. Another highlight of my time in Egypt was exploring the bustling streets of Cairo, with its vibrant markets and delicious street food.

Finally, I also had the opportunity to live and work in Iraq. This was perhaps the most challenging, yet also the most rewarding, experience of my overseas journey. Iraq is a country that has experienced significant turmoil and strife over the years, and as an expat, it took some time to adjust to the heightened levels of security and the overall sense of instability.

Despite these challenges, however, I found that living and working in Iraq was an incredibly rewarding experience. The people of Iraq were incredibly welcoming and hospitable, and I made many meaningful connections with colleagues and friends during my time there.

Throughout my years of living and working overseas, I have learned many valuable lessons about the world, about myself, and about the importance of remaining open to new experiences and perspectives. I have learned to be adaptable, to embrace uncertainty, and to find common ground with people from all walks of life.

Of course, there has also been some challenging moments. As an expat, one must be prepared to encounter unfamiliar and sometimes dangerous situations. This was certainly the case during my time in Iraq. This is a country that has faced significant turmoil over the years, including political instability, sectarian violence, and terrorism. Living and working in such a context requires a certain level of resilience and courage.

When I lived in Iraq, I encountered many difficult moments. There were times when I could hear gunfire and explosions in the distance, and times when I had to navigate around checkpoints and roadblocks on my way to work. There were also times when I had to cancel plans or avoid certain areas due to security concerns.

With regards to these challenges, however, I always felt a deep sense of purpose and fulfillment in my work and my interactions with the Iraqi people. I was inspired by their resilience, their warmth, and their determination to rebuild their country amidst such difficult circumstances. Why, you ask? Simply put, living and working overseas can provide a transformative experience of a lifetime, whether one is exploring the ancient pyramids of Egypt, savoring the spicy cuisine of Saudi Arabia, or navigating the complex realities of Iraq. It offers a unique opportunity for immense personal and professional growth. Therefore, my advice to those considering taking the leap is to stay curious, engaged, and open to all that the world has to offer. With endless possibilities, who knows where your overseas journey might take you?

-----

Original story (created by me) published on Medium.com. Any changes and/or updates that have been added on Vocal.media are for content consumption purposes.

Thank you for your time, I hope you thoroughly enjoyed what you have read today. Please subscribe. I have plenty of upcoming articles on varying topics, if you so choose to check them out. Also if you would be so kind, I would greatly appreciate a heart. Lastly, if you feel inclined to do so, tips and of course pledges (currently only $2.99 a month) are greatly appreciated. Our monies collected in Vocal help support the Bunong tribal people in Cambodia.

featuretravel advicesolo travelguidefamily travelculture
Like

About the Creator

Freddie's Lost Treasures

A traveler in search of lost and hidden treasures. I have assembled a lifelong learning of being in the business world and decided to take a leap to see what is outside the confines of brick and mortar and left the 9 to 5 behind.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.