Wander logo

The Power of Faith

Read how I hitch-hiked alone down the west coast on election day...

By Jan ContrerasPublished 7 years ago 3 min read
Photo by William B Ayala aka @Sh8yone on IG

I am remembering back to the time this photo was taken in November 2016. I had spent the past few weeks like a rolling stone, backpacking by myself through Oregon where I found a job working on a legal cannabis farm. Although I had decided I was ready to start heading home, I wasn't ready for the adventures to stop. I started in a rest stop in Southern Oregon. The first person I saw was an older man having lunch in his truck. "I am heading south," I said, "Can I have a ride?" He kindly agreed and off we went crossing the border lines into Northern California. After getting acquainted and exchanging a few stories, I had remembered that it was Election Day! I quickly realized how bold I really was!... Not only for hitchhiking across states but doing during the most controversial election day in history.

I rode with a few different lucky people for the next 2 days, only traveling while there was light out and stopping at rest stops where people are already stopping. I realize the danger in walking on the highways and I didn't expect anyone to stop for me if it was not safe to pull over. I finally reached the city of Los Angeles and by that time I had seen some shit! It had gotten more difficult and sketchy as I travelled more south, so I decided to spend 24 hours in LA then take an Amtrak train to Houston.

On route to LA, I connected with a couchsurfer through my Couchsurfing App, which connects me with people from all over the world hosting travelers for free. I ended up staying with an actor who picked me up from Union Station, made me a vegan dinner, and allowed me to stay on his couch for one night. I made use of the internet and resources (Instagram hehe) to meet up with a local photographer who gave me a tour of amazing places to photograph around the city. We photographed on bridges, rooftops, and at this place called The Last Bookstore in Los Angeles.

I remember seeing the title of this book The Magicians. I picked it up because the words stood out to me. I was traveling with a deck of tarot cards and the Magician card was a card that I repeatedly picked out throughout my trip. It is a card that signifies using your own will power and resources to manifest all the things you want, which was exactly what I was doing. I had put myself in a situation where I knew no one and had nothing, just solely relying on the universe to provide everything I needed and more. And the universe did!

It had taken me 5 days to get to Houston from Southern Oregon this way, but I learned more about myself than I would if I had stayed at home, comfortable in Houston. I am not afraid. I like to take risks. I had the chance to meet up with a friend from Houston to stop at a national park for a day. I got to meet people from all over the world to photograph and tell their stories. I got to look at people in the eyes and feel the raw expressions of trust and kindness with complete strangers. I learned that when connecting with people, especially hitchhiking, people want to get something out of it, an exchange of energy; whether if its money, services, or just some company and cool stories.

I no longer want to be a like rolling stone; with no direction or home. Instead, I like to think of myself as a pebble being thrown into a river; dropping into the water and flowing wherever the water takes me where I finally settle onto the river bed and ground myself, not allowing anything else to move me.

female travel

About the Creator

Jan Contreras

Photographer and traveller

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Jan ContrerasWritten by Jan Contreras

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.