Wander logo

Taking Risks like Vitamins

Adventure Awaits!

By Mandee PradoPublished 6 years ago 2 min read

I took a risk and it ended up being the best decision of my life.

I took a plunge. A leap of faith, if you will. I left behind my family, my friends, everything I grew to know and love. My hometown, my comfort zone. I left my hometown of 3,500 people to embark on a new journey to the city. A city with a population of 350,000 people. A city where I didn’t know a soul and not one person knew my name or better yet, my story.

I had come to a point in my life where my hometown and the people in it had become so toxic, I literally feared for my mental health and my wellbeing. From a crappy job, to a crappier boyfriend, family issues, and so much more. I just wasn’t happy. I knew if I continued to stay in this small town, it was going to eat me alive. It came down to a choice. One decision. One risk. One chance to change my life for ME. So I took it. I put my finger on the map, packed up my car and 15 hours, 700 miles, three full tanks of gas, and a Taco Bell burrito later, I ended up in the new place I would call home.

I’m not going to lie. It was rough at first. I had a place to go, through friendly connections, but I had much more to figure out from there. I still needed a job, a secure place to live, I had no friends, and no real clue about the area I surrounded myself with.

The worst part about making the leap, was being homesick. I missed my mom, I missed my sisters, my brothers, my grandparents, my uncle, my friends. I missed the stars, the fresh mountain air, the back road drives with my love, hand in hand. I missed it all. But of course, I missed the way my life was before it turned upside down.

Fast forwarding to the now, 6 months later. I realize it was the best decision I’ve ever made, to leave such a toxic environment. I have a great job, even better friends, I’m making new memories in new, beautiful places. I’m learning to love myself and know my worth. I’m much happier with my life and the direction things are going.

If you’re ever in a place where you’re looking for a sign, just know, looking for a sign is a sign in itself. I encourage anyone and everyone to take a leap of faith, even if your faith is only as thick as a blade of grass. If you’re stuck between two choices of moving or staying, or going on a trip or not, just do it! If there is any hope or any chance it will make you happier, do it! Life is to short to let good opportunities and good times pass you by. Live in the moment, and I mean truly live. Because in those moments, is where you'll find yourself. It’s where you will discover more about yourself than you ever deemed possible.

You owe these types of adventures to yourself. You deserve to take “me time” and do something for YOU. Don’t let people hold you back from becoming the best version of yourself you can be. Adventure, for your own health and take risks like vitamins!

Mandee P. (:

10•7•18

female travel

About the Creator

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Mandee PradoWritten by Mandee Prado

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.