Wander logo

On the Bullet Train

A photo taken at a perfect time that really changed my day

By ImmyPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
In between Kanazawa and Kyoto

I was recently (12/2019-1/2020) in Japan to see all of my friends again some of which I haven’t seen since 2014 and to really boost my confidence and travel experience because I intend on working and living in this lovely country. This trip had to of been one of the most stressful I’ve ever been on. Since before I could even board the first plane things were going wrong and I was so stressed upon arriving into Narita Airport that I felt like turning around and giving up. However, luckily I’m not that kind of person and I’m glad I pushed through it, otherwise I wouldn’t have seen this lovely view which was just one of many. Once I arrived I made my way to my friends house which took a further 4 hours and stayed with her in Tokyo for 3 days before using the bullet train to go to Kyoto for 7 days.

Before I could board the Bullet Train I had to exchange my pass into a ticket, which was yet another problem. Instead of the usual bullet train being 2 hours and 20 minutes it ended up taking nearly 6 hours to get there which is quite extreme. Before I realise this had happened I thought about how I felt when I saw my friend in Tokyo, I was going to call her and seek help because I felt so much better after seeing her that I had forgotten about all of my troubles on the plane, I thought she could help me and make me feel better again. But, I didn’t call her I just thought of it as another test of independence and I had to overcome it alone. This is when I decided to just change my ticket, take the 6 hour route and anticipate the moment I could see my friend I haven’t seen in five years, longing for this horrible feeling to go away, which it did until I had to come back to Tokyo which took 6 hours too.

It was on the second train from Kanazawa to Kyoto that I stumbled across this amazing view. In between sleeping and keeping myself occupied, I noticed the sun was shining through the window, it was very bright and that’s when I moved to shut the curtain and noticed what I was missing outside. As the bullet train was moving so fast I realized I had to capture this moment and quickly grabbed my phone to take the picture. It truly was a moment that gave me confidence again in my travels and I treasure this photo dearly. It is just a perfect photo to me because even without filters and photoshop.. it’s an astounding view and brings back memories every time I lay eyes on it. Of course this photo is one of hundred I took on my trip but I believe this one has the best story behind it and is one of the most important to me. I sent it to my sister, one who offered to lend me an expensive DSLR camera who our late father gave her, said it would have been a perfect opportunity to use the camera if I took it to truly capture the moment. But I couldn’t agree, sometimes the best moments are captured on just a normal smartphone in this case IPhone 7Plus and no matter how expensive the camera sometimes it’s the moment you can feel not just the photograph.

During the train ride I was so distracted by how bad my experience had been so far that I was forgetting some of my main reasons for travelling in the first place, of course I wanted to see my friends and me being 17 at the time, going all around a foreign country alone... it made me realise that I’ve overcome all of these difficulties and it opened my eyes for new aspects of visiting my friends too. That was when I just sat back, enjoyed the train ride and view thinking that if I can overcome all of this alone then nothing scares me. This will definitely not be the last time I travel, it’s moments like this I treasure the most.

travel photography
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.