Wander logo

My Dream Destination: Kyrgyzstan

Part 3 of My Dream Destination travel series

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 8 min read
1
A random photo of a Kyrgyz woman in her traditional garment

I have been dreaming of taking a trip to Kyrgyzstan since the winter of 2019, after watching a documentary about Bride Kidnapping on YouTube, one winter evening at home. I have also had some encounters with Kyrgyz students throughout the youth, so I am keen on learning more about the culture, the food, the language, the people and what Kyrgyzstan has to offer for tourists.

The comical, knowledgeable, sophisticated, entertaining and gregarious British travel vlogger and author Bald and Bankrupt has also given me further inspiration to travel to Kyrgyzstan, after watching a bunch of his Kyrgyzstan vlogs and seeing some of the people he met, the experiences that he's had, as well as the food that he enjoyed on his trips. His recent Kyrgyzstan vlog that gave me more inspiration and that I watched numerous times is above for you to watch and enjoy!

As I continue to explore Kyrgyzstan's tourist sites, learn the language and more about the Kyrgyz culture and customs, I am constantly figuring out places to visit, food to eat and things to do on my dream trip to Kyrgyzstan. I won't be able to do everything I want for the first time, so I have to pick of choose and save some activities to enjoy on my next trip to Kyrgyzstan! Take a look at the list of my top eight things to do in Kyrgyzstan!

1. Have some fun in the sun in Lake Issyk Kul

Lake Issyk Kul, Kyrgyzstan

Who wouldn't want to spend an hour or half a day at this popular enchanting beach in Kyrgyzstan?! For a nature enthusiast like myself, this is definitely on my list of things to do in Kyrgyzstan! Issyk Kul is an ancient lake that is situated on the Northern Tian Shan mountains in eastern Kyrgyzstan. It is the seventh deepest lake across the globe, and the tenth biggest lake in the world by volume, which does not include the surface area. It is also the second biggest saline lake after the Caspian Sea in the North Caucasus, Russia. Issyk kul means "warm lake" in the Kyrgyz language, and it never freezes, even in the winter. During my solo excursion to Issyk Kul, I would love to meditate and listen to the song of the blue lake waves, read a book, sunbathe and simply enjoy some real Kyrgyz summer weather! I don't believe that Issyk Kul would be an ideal thing for me to enjoy if I decided to go to Kyrgyzstan in the winter.

2. Stay for a few days with some Kyrgyz nomads

A picture of a Kyrgyz woman in traditional garment serving authentic Kyrgyz delicacies. On the left is a yurt, which is a tent in which the nomads live in.

For a gregarious, people-loving and open-minded person like myself, staying with the nomads for a few days would be an experience of a lifetime! I love meeting new people and learning about different cultures and religions, as well as spending time in nature. One of the Kyrgyz traditions is letting people stay with them in their homes, even strangers! Staying with the nomads for a few days in Kyrgyzstan would be a huge advantage for me, because I would not have to worry about transferring from hotel to hotel in Bishkek, worrying about my budget too much. I also would not be spending a huge amount of money on restauranting and other things, because the noamds would cook for me! Although it would be quite surreal for me to sleep in a yurt, it would be a unique experience for me!

3. Visit the walnut forest in the village of Arslanbob

The Walnut Forest, Arslanbob

Settled in a remote valley of Kyrgyzstans Chatkal mountain ranges lies the village of Arslanbob, which is home to the worlds biggest natural walnut forest. Two waterfalls are situated in the area, which interest tourists, pilgrims and other visitors during the spring and summer months. In 2009, the population of Arslanbob was 11,291. The Uzbeks make up the majority of the population, while less than 5% of the population include the Kyrgyz, Russians, Tatars, Tajiks and Chechens.

Since I have a big passion for nature and ancient sites, going for a meaningful walk in the walnut forest would be very engaging for me. In addition to simply walking in the forest, I would take a collection of photographs to post on Instagram, meditate, listen to music and forest bathe. During my walks, I often like to take breaks to maintain my energy levels. On my breaks, I don't like to just sit and do nothing, so I like to do relaxing things like lay on the grass and meditate.

4. Bathe in the natural hot springs of Altyn Arashan (Golden Spa)

Altyn Arashan, Kyrgyzstan

Altyn Arashan is a valley and mountain range near Karakol and the famous Issyk Kul Lake in northeastern Kyrgyzstan. It lies along the hiking route from the village of Teploklyuchenka. Altyn Arashan also includes a hot spring set in an alpine valley, which contains the 5,020 metre Pik Palatka in the southern portion of the reserve. The mountain resort and valley of Altyn Arashan includes three groups of nitric thermal springs on the right side of the Arashan River, 20 km southeast of the Karakol mountain which is located in a scenic forest landscape at an altitude of 2350-2435 metres. The forest includes multiple wooden sheds which include hot sulfurous pools to cure multiple illnesses. It is set in a botanical research spot called the Arashan State Nature Reserve which includes 20 snow leopards and several bears.

Since I enjoy leisure swimming and being surrounded by different forms of water, this excursion to the Golden Spa would also be quite purposeful for me. I have gone to a Korean Jimjilbang and a Russian banya in Canada, so this experience will not be new for me. The only discrepancy of visiting this particular site is, I would be outdoors as opposed to indoors because I have never bathed in a hot spring before. I have only swam in hot tubs, jaccuzzis and entered other saunas indoors. I have swam in outdoor lakes, seas and swimming pools, but nothing like this. Before I enter the hot springs, I would take a nice, artistic photograph to post of Instagram, so I can show my friends and family how awesome Altyn Arashan is.

5. Discover and follow the ancient Silk Road

A picture of the Burana Tower in Kyrgyzstan

In Kyrgyzstan, there are quite a few Silk Road destinations for people that are fascinated by Silk Road history. To name a couple, Tash Rabat and the Burana Tower are some common spots to discover while you walk along the Silk Road. For someone who has a passion for history such as myself, discovering places like the Burana Tower and Tash Rabat would be a meaningful and fulfilling experience. It would also be a fantastic opportunity for me to spend more time in nature, take photographs and get my daily exercise. I am a big walker and I would walk anywhere, so a daily exercise routine in Kyrgyzstan should not be an issue for me! All I would need to do is manage jet lag, so I can have enough energy to enjoy all of my excursions!

Tash Rabat in the Naryn Region, Kyrgyzstan

6. Enjoy some Kyrgyz food at the Dungan Family Restaurant in Yrdyk

The Dungan Family Restaurant

One of the best parts of travelling is eating!! Asides from the typical activities like shopping, exploring, relaxing and socializing with the locals, there is no better trip without eating lots of delicious food! I am a huge fan of dining out and visiting different restaurants, so taking a trip to this Dungan family-owned restaurant in the far-eastern village of Yrdyk would be quite fun. One of my favourite cuisines of all time is Central Asian cuisine, so I will have no problem finding some good food to feast on. I do not consume much meat, but I am sure I can find some vegetarian Dungan food without a problem. I already know how to use chopsticks, so that part should be easy as a piece of cake!

7. Go on a shopping spree at the Osh Bazaar in Bishkek

Fruits and vegetables at the grocery section of the Osh Bazaar

The Osh Bazaar is one of the biggest merchants markets in Biskek, Kyrgyzstan. It is situated on the west portion of the town and is near the Western Bus Station. At the Osh Bazaar, tourists can buy things like groceries, common household items, clothing, souvenirs, and musical instruments. Traditional Kyrgyz clothing are sold in the national goods section which is known as "Kyyal" which means "fantasy/dream" in Kyrgyz, and can be specially ordered (for size, color, etc.) through the market vendors. Kyyal also has vendors who sell carved wooden trunks (sandyk), traditional bedding (tushuk), traditional cradles (beshik), small gifts, and other locally made goods relevant to the traditional and modern Kyrgyz culture.

Since I am a self-proclaimed foodie, I would definitely go for the food more than anything. I would buy a couple snacks like Lepyoshka (flatbread) and other fried pastries (e.g. Samsa) to eat as I shop around the market. I also love collecting and wearing artistic and second-hand clothes and buying other souvenirs, so visiting the Kyyal section and buying some Kyrgyz clothing for me to wear in Canada would be quite amazing. With respect to souvenirs, I would buy a collection of things to give to my friends and family, so they can see the wonderful things that Kyrgyzstan has to offer.

8. Learn how to cook authentic Kyrgyz food

Traditional Kyrgyz food

One of my favourite hobbies is cooking and baking. I have a strong desire to learn how to cook traditional Kyrgyz food while I am staying with a host family, so I can cook some Kyrgyz food at home. I have had Kyrgyz food at a Central Asian restaurant in Canada, however it is a completely novel experience to learn to cook and eat the food in your own home. I am not the best at making bread, dumplings and other fried foods, so hopefully I can build on that skill when I visit Kyrgyzstan and learn to cook from actual locals, as opposed to learning from a YouTube video or a recipe. The other best part would be to invite my friends over for dinner and they can be impressed with my advanced Kyrgyz cooking skills!

asia
1

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.