Wander logo

My Dream Destination: Japan

The many things I want to explore, eat, savour and enjoy during my Dream solo vacation to Japan!

By Talia DevoraPublished 3 years ago 10 min read
1
My Dream Destination: Japan
Photo by JJ Ying on Unsplash

Konnichiwa my friends! By the time I was a preteen, I had one goal which was to travel to different places around the globe. Since I have a penchant for multiculturalism and geography, there are a whack of places that are on my "travel bucket list". Japan is one of the places that I have on my lengthy travel bucket list, because of its attractive natural sites, the delicious food, the variety of things to explore and do, as well as my overall passion for Japanese culture, language and cuisine.

Because of Japans uniqueness in tourism, hospitality, places of attraction and cuisine, I have a ridiculous number of places to see and things to do during my "solo trip" to Japan, which won't be anytime soon, but rather in the nearer future. During quarantine and the pandemic, I have been dreaming about my future trip to Japan by exploring and finding photographs of many of their places of attraction and islands that I found picturesque and serene. Obviously, I cannot visit or do all of the things I want for my first time, so I have a list of the particular things that I want to accomplish during my first solo trip to Japan.

Have a quiet and productive walk in the Arashiyama Bamboo Forest

This is totally alluring!

I am a fervent adventurer and outdoor person, so visiting the Arashiyama Bamboo Forest in Kyoto will be one of the ideal activities for me to enjoy! The Arashiyama Bamboo Forest has also been noted as one of the best Japanese soundscapes out of 100 soundscapes. I also have a penchant for history and architecture, so I would love to take photographs and explore the scenic and small Shinto shrine called Nonomiya Shrine which is located in the middle of the forest. Since I am not a fond of crowds (even though I don't mind them from time to time), I would preferable visit the Bamboo Forest during the summer evenings or early mornings before I have my authentic Japanese breakfast. I would take a collection of pictures of the Nonomiya Shrine and post them on Instagram and Facebook to show my friends and family. The forest also lies north of the Tenryuji Temple, so I could ideally take photographs of the Tenruyiji Temple once I've completed my nature walk in the forest. I would always keep my headphones, phone and backpack handy for whenever I want to listen to music, drink water, take breaks and eat a quick snack throughout my excursion.

Go on a shopping spree in Harajuku

Cute clothes, eh?! I would go for the t shirts first, because I am a self-proclaimed t-shirt junkie!

Although I don't put much of my attention to fashion and other girly trends, there is something about "kawaii-inspired" fashion and accessories that catches my eye. Wearing kawaii-inspired outfits and collecting other accessories and novelties gives me a sense of porcelain doll-like cuteness, and makes me feel forever youthful. I thrive well with color and cuteness, so I would find a heap of kawaii-inspired t-shirts, purses, sweatshirts, hair accessories and other novelties for reasonable prices in Harajuku. I would need to save up some money prior to my trip, because I would spend a ridiculous amount on bargain clothes and accessories in Harajuku, before heading to the Moshi Moshi Rooms hotel for a pre-dinner and post-shopping spree rest. I would dress-up in my favourite kawaii-inspired t-shirt with blue jeans, a baseball cap, a red knapsack, and white sneakers and go for dinner and dessert at the Kawaii Monster Cafe.

Feast on some cute desserts with YouTuber Venus Angelic at the Maidreamin Maid Cafe

A typical outing for younger girls, but what's the deal? Age is just a number, so Venus and I can just enjoy ourselves and our inner youthfulness!

I have a huge sweet tooth, so coming to the Maidreamin Maid Cafe in Akihabara would be a dream come true. For me, there is nothing more special than eating some cute Japanese desserts, because some of them are impossible to get in Canada. I would definitely reach out to Venus Angelic, prior to my visit to Maidreamin, because she and I would really connect and have tons to talk about. Since Venus and I both love food and eating good food, I would recommend us ordering some Japanese pancakes, accompanied with any kind of Animal parfait and sharing them. I wouldn't be able to finish two desserts on my own, so of course I would need Venus' assistance in finishing these cute and tasty desserts.

Venus Angelic! Oy, isn't she adorable?!

Have a picnic and stroll around the Ashikaga Flower Park with Rin Rapunzel

This is enchanting, indeed!

Strolling around and picnicking with Japanese model, dancer and instagrammer Rin Rapunzel at the Ashikaga Flower Park would be another dream come true. There is nothing better than spending some precious time around colorful and vibrant flowers, while getting some exercise and eating tons of sushi. Witnessing and playing with Rin Rapunzel's gorgeous, black and silky floor-length hair would be a perfect addition to the Ashikaga Flower Park day excursion. Before visiting the flower park, I would reach out to her on instagram and ask her if she is willing to join me before I leave Japan. I believe that it would make the trip memorable and unforgettable. In addition to walking, taking selfies and picnicking with Rin Rapunzel, I would take some photographs and post them on Facebook and Instagram to show and tell my friends and family about the magical experiences I had in Japan.

35 year old Rin Kambe (aka Rin Rapunzel on social media) and her novel, gorgeous and breathtaking floor length tresses. Isn't this something to die for on a trip to Japan?!

Meditate and listen to the ocean waves at Ishikagi Island

This place is a lot like some of the Caribbean and Florida beaches that I have visited in the past! Definitely a place to consider!

The coral blue ocean, baby blue sky, fluffy ivory clouds and emerald green vegetation is one of the most inviting parts to this place for me! This dazzling Japanese island called Ishkagi Island is south-west of Okinawa Honto and is listed as the second-largest island of the Yaeyama Island group. This island is located within the city of Okinawa in the Okinawa Prefecture. During my temporary stay in Japan, I would consider taking myself on a day trip to Ishigaki Island to meditate and listen to the ocean waves, because I really enjoy being around nature for long periods of time. Since I would most likely prefer to visit Japan in the spring/summer time, visiting an island would be appropriate. I would also love to meet and connect with some of the Ryukyuan people of Japan, because I have a huge passion for learning about and exploring multiple Indigenous groups in Asia. In addition to connecting and meeting some of the native locals of the island, I would love to discover the Miyaranduchi which is an old residence on the Island, because I also love taking pictures and exploring different buildings and types of architecture. I would take a photograph and post it to social media, to show my friend of the unique places and things I found in other parts of Japan.

The Ryukyuan people of Japan! Don't they seem hospitable and affable?! I definitely believe so!

Enjoy a spooky but purposeful walk in The Suicide Forest

Many people won't want to consider this on their itinerary, but I do because I love the fun of being scared and intrigued. I was also motivated to visit this place after watching several Japanese tourism vlogs on YouTube. The Suicide Forest of Aokigahara on the flank of Mount Fuji in the Yamanashi Prefecture is indeed one of the most spookiest and glum tourist attractions in Japan! This forest is the Japanese landmark's horrific past that made the woods an appropriate location for the spooky horror film called The Forest. Aokigahara and Japan itself have a lengthy history of suicide, so people who would commit suicide would visit this forest (which explains the reason why it is called The Suicide Forest). I would enjoy exploring and taking photographs of this particular tourist site, and would add a black/white filter to these photographs to convey the darkness and fright. Of course I do not like the whole concept of death/suicide/grief, however I find it interesting to explore the past and the whole philosophy of this place. Before visiting, I would do some basic research on this place and the stories associated with the forest, so I can better understand what I am willing to achieve on this walk. As I continue to hike along the forest, I will listen to eerie music on my iPhone, to make my trip even more exciting.

Now this is creepy! For anyone who enjoys horror films and the fun of being frightened, this may be the place for you as well!!

Take a leisurely tour of the Yokohama Doll Museum

Dolls from around the world! How interesting would this place be for someone like me?! VERY INTERESTING!!!

Situated in Yamashita Park, Kannai, Yokohama Doll Museum is one of the largest doll museums in Japan. Inside this extravagant tourist facility, 1300 rare dolls from around the world are exhibited, including the doll sent to Japan as a symbol of Japanese-American friendships in the early Showa period. On the third floor of the museum, The Dolls Fureai Atelier holds distinctive displays of videos about doll making processes, materials and tolls that visitors can actually touch. I have both a penchant for multiculturalism and dolls, so visiting the Yokohama Doll Museum would be a meaningful experience for me. When I was in elementary school (Grades 4 and 5), I developed an interest in collecting porcelain dolls, after seeing one of the cutest brown-haired porcelain dolls that my Nana preserved in her living room. Incorporating my passion for multiculturalism as I revisit my past with porcelain dolls, this would bring back some positive emotions that I felt when I collected dolls. I would take pictures, post them on social media and treasure them on my phone, so I can refer to them anytime I want.

Visit and interact with rabbits at a cafe in Tokyo

OMG!! I am in love with these furry friends! Asides from dogs, rabbits are one of my favourite animals!

At some point during my solo trip to Japan, I will eventually experience loneliness and boredom, so I will need some companionship to manage my loneliness and boredom on my trip. So who will I depend on for companionship? Rabbits!! Rabbits and other animals are the best therapies for loneliness and boredom, so I will absolutely pay a visit to any rabbit cafe in Tokyo. I am a big fan of cafes, so a rabbit cafe would be a pretty extravagant experience for me, because there aren't a lot of "animal cafes" in Canada. In addition to playing and feeding the rabbits for hours on end, I will order some tea to surpress my hunger before a delicious dinner and dessert in Tokyo.

Enjoy a delicious meal and dessert at Alice's Fantasy Restaurant

A restaurant in the theme of one of my favourite books?! ARE YOU ABSOLUTELY KIDDING ME??? I AM TOTALLY PAYING A VISIT TO THIS UNIQUE SPOT!!!!

All the food that is served at Alice's Fantasy Restaurant in Kabukicho, Shinjuku, Tokyo Prefecture looks spectacular and very appetizing! I don't really drink alcohol or any kind of fizzy drinks, so I would love to order a cup of Chamomile tea, a cup of Maple tea and of course several glasses of water as beverages! In terms of meals, I would love to eat the Humpty Dumpty Omelet Rice, because I am in love with meat, eggs, rice and cheese. I also love that the restaurant also has all-you-can-eat buffets, so this will totally be an advantage for me! For dessert, I would order a white chocolate custard tart, the baked cheesecake, and possibly a blue herb cupcake because I am a dessert fanatic! I may or may not be in love with the blue herb cupcake, but I am willing to give it a shot! If I am going to dine at Alice's Fantasy Restaurant, I am going to have to eat less during the day so I can have a big appetite for all this food I will be consuming.

Final Thoughts?!

After watching several Japanese vloggers, anime music videos/video clips on YouTube, eating sushi and other Japanese dishes all my life, and listening to JPop music, I finally considered Japan as a place that I would be interested in. At first, I was reluctant to add it to my list of countries to visit, because I found it "overpopular" and "too much emphasis on fashion and video games". I love places that are not so modern and fashionable and that are more historical and ancient in nature, such as northern Israel and rural England. Once I understood a bit more about Japan as a nation, I realized that it wasn't all about "fashion or video games", and that there was way more to the country such as its history, culture, and so on.

Thank you very much for reading this blog and have a great week! Sayonara!

Pochacco! He is one of my favourite Sanrio characters of all-time!

asia
1

About the Creator

Talia Devora

Poetess, visual artist and lifestyle/quiz writer! My pastimes include reading, sleeping, gaming, music, fitness, etc! Be yourselves, be kind and value life! Let's connect and be friends!

My IG accounts: @tdwrites24 & @tdcreates97

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.