Wander logo

LOST IN THE RUSIAN RIVER CAMPGROUND

We were fishing in the Rusian River and took a wrong turn!

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
We walked in the high grass!

I first came up to Alaska to live in 1978. We decided to go fishing at the Rusian River, with our friend. We heard the fishing was great there. We put all the fishing gear into the car and started our journey to the Rusian River. It was a nice sunny day and we were driving thru the flats. The sun was shining on the mountains and they looked pretty. On the other side, I looked out the window, and I was watching for Moose. Going past the flats is very dangerous because the Moose congregate there all the time. They like eating grass and weeds. I could not see a Moose so it was smooth sailing to Anchorage! When we arrived in Anchorage we had another two-hour drive to the Rusian River.

My husband drove to the Seward Highway and going the speed limit to the Rusian River. This was the first time we were going there and I was all excited to fish! The drive was great we could not ask for better weather. After what seemed a long time we finally drove into the Rusian River Camp Ground. My husband parked the car and we started to walk towards the signs. On the way, we asked a fisherman to direct us to where the Salmon was. He told us the way and we followed the signs which told us the way there. After seemed like a long time walking we finally were at the fishing site. I looked down into the water and I could see many salmon swimming. We all got excited and started to fish, it was not long that each of us caught the limit.

After we cleaned the fish and put them in the cooler we decided to walk back to the car! It was daylight and we wanted to get to the car. We were walking and did not notice we took a wrong turn. We walked for an hour than I told my husband I think we are lost. It only took an hour to walk to the salmon river. We should have been to the car already! My husband said to me I think you're right. Luckily my husband had a rifle in case we came across a Bear! I was glad he had a gun on him. We walked and walked and suddenly we were walking in very high grass! I was tired and I wanted to rest but we had to keep walking. We did not know if a Bear would be in the high grass! I told my husband I wanted to rest but he said after we get out of the high grass! So we walked and walked until finally, we came to a clearing. My husband told me we could rest now that we are not in the grass. I sat down on the cool ground with much-needed rest. I was tired from all the walking and fishing I had done.

We rested for a while and my husband stood watching for any Bears! After a little while, we got up and walked again. We walked for another hour when suddenly I saw parked cars! My husband saw them too so we walked to the cars. It was the parking lot we parked our car, we only had to find the car! We found the car, we put the gear and the fish into the car. My husband started the car and that is when he noticed we forgot to stop for gas. The car had practically no gas! I told my husband that if we find a gas station this late was going to be lucky! We drove on the highway and I looked for a gas station. Then I saw one that was open, my husband pulled into the gas station on fumes! He filled the car up with gas so it would be smooth sailing thru Anchorage and home. We had another three- hour drive to get home.

The drive home went smoothly and finally, we pulled into the driveway and were home. I was glad we were home and that we did not get stuck on the side of the road. We got out of the car and went into the house. I made sure the fish was in ice, I was too tired to process them now! I got ready for bed and it did not take me long to fall asleep. The next morning I had coffee, took a long shower, and had something to eat. I then processed to fish and put them into the freezer. What a tail I was going to tell my daughters when they got home from back east. They were visiting with my mom and dad. I am glad I did not have them with me at the Rusian River! I could not wait to tell my family about my adventure. I would tell them how we got lost at the Rusian River Camp Ground!

activities
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.