Wander logo

MEET THE ALASKA NORTHERN LIGHTS

THEY DANCE IN THE SKY

By rose m lewisPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
Like
MEET THE ALASKA NORTHERN LIGHTS
Photo by McKayla Crump on Unsplash

Alaska The Last Frontier and the Land Of The Midnight Sun!

Years ago when Alaska was owned by Rusia, Rusia sold Alaska to the United States for Pennies on a Dollar! Only one man thought it was a good place to buy. They call it Sewards Follie, but no one knew how important Alaska was to America. They did not know about all the wealth that Alaska has. Rusia just wanted to make a buck and luckily America bought. Alaska is the 50th state in the union. It is bigger than any state too. Not only Alaska has all this wealth it has the Northern Lights, and it is the Last Frontier. It is also called the Land Of The Midnight Sun! It is called that because there is daylight until way early in the morning!

How are the Northern Lights born; When charged particles from the sun strike atoms in Earth's atmosphere, they cause electrons in the atoms to move to a higher-energy state. When the electrons drop back to a lower energy state, they release a photon: light. This process creates a beautiful aurora. Aurora Borealis is a spectacular sight to see! Alaskans are lucky to see the Aurora Borealis when they are out! We are advised by the weather channel when they are out. I try to see them when they are out, sometimes I watch them from the yard. The Aurora Borealis is better than watching fireworks!

One time in the winter I was driving from Anchorage to my home in Wasilla Alaska. The Northern Lights were out in full force, they lite up the sky and they were beautiful! Keeping my eyes on the road was hard to do because of the Northern Lights! I saw them in green, pink, and yellow colors, they were putting on an amazing show! I wanted to pull my car over to a safe place, but I couldn't do it. I had to keep on driving! What a spectacular show the Northern Lights put on that night was greater than watching a fireworks show! As I kept on driving I drove past the flats and to Wasilla, they were getting lost. I could not see them and I was sad because I was losing a great show!

I drove past Wasilla and turned to go on Knik and watching to see if I would see them! I had a little ways to go until driving off Knik and going to Holywood. I drove on Holywood and made the turn on the street to where I live! I pulled the car over and I looked to see if they were out. But I saw only a black sky with many stars out. It was a clear sky without clouds and that is why the Northern Lights was easy to see. If I had a safe place to pull my car over I would have watched them for a long time!

As I pulled the car into my driveway and into the garage I went to see if I would see them. But no such luck they were not visible at my home! I went into my home and got ready for bed. It was a hard day for me because I was at the doctors in Anchorage. As I got into the bed and pulled the covers close to me I could still them in my mind! It was hard going to sleep because I was thinking of the Northern Lights and how amazing they were!

When I was up the next morning I said to my husband you missed the Northern Lights. They were dancing in the sky! They were very colorful and amazing to see. I saw them last night and they were better than a firework show! My husband likes a firework show, he always goes to one. He said really! I said to him really! I told him how spectacular they were and that I was grateful to have seen them! I wished they would be out every night so I can see them at their glory!

My husband said maybe they would be out tonight. I said maybe but I had my doubts! Night came and I went to see if the Northern Lights were out but they were not! I was very disappointed they were not visible! My husband came outside and said where is the show? I said to him there is no show they are not out! It was cold outside so I went inside and every once in a while I looked out the window! They were not showing and I finally gave up looking out the window. I wanted to see them again and I would have to wait until they were dancing again in the Sky again!

Winter was coming to a close and I would have to wait to see the Northern Lights again. Summer, is light all the time and you can not see them. I have no choice but to wait until the start of winter. I was glad summer is comming because we do alot of camping and fishing. I have alot of fun when I go camping and fishing. It is always a adventure going camping and fishing in Alaska!

nature
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.