Wander logo

It's Okay to Be a Bum on Vacation, but It Has Its Costs

I've just come back from a trip to Cappadocia, Turkey, and I learned something about traveling

By Brian AnonymousPublished 5 years ago 3 min read

Traveling is amazing. I think the majority of people out there would love to go travel, but I also don't think all destinations are for everyone.

I noticed this when I went to Cappadocia, Turkey. Don't get me wrong, I loved my experience there, but there were a few things that I learned about travel that I could have done without.

From this trip, I realized everyone should go on a variety of trips to know what they want in their travels.

Go on great adventures. Maybe go for a relaxing vacation, or maybe someplace different but that has all the same amenities that you're used to at home. There's really no wrong way to do it. I don't care what others say, you know what makes you happy.

Early Mornings

When I went to Cappadocia, I noticed that all of the major activities happened early in the morning. Like early dawn morning. You have to force yourself to go to sleep early and wake up early to enjoy and make it to the events.

This was a major upset, because vacations, to me, are supposed to be about relaxing and taking your time to do things. When you go to certain places in the world, opportunities are lost if you sleep in.

What might look good in pictures and videos might not necessarily be translated to people properly. Some of these people have to wake up at five or six in the morning to get those shots.

Chain Restaurants

Going to franchise restaurants like McDonald's in different countries isn't that bad. You'll notice that each of these franchises around the world do taste different regardless of the regulations that the franchises bestow upon them. I noticed potatoes and soft drinks taste different in Turkey than they do in North America. They even have a menu specific to the country that you're visiting.

Nightlife

There are always people out there that follow similar schedules as you, so while it sucks that you have to wake up early to do the things you want to do in these countries, there are things you can do at night too. One of the hardest things about traveling is prioritizing your time. Hanging out late at night can cost you, but there's always a nightlife wherever you go.

Spending

Going to a touristic place can add up. Despite the fact that things in Turkey are dirt cheap compared to North America, I had to be cognizant about the amount of money I was spending. Things started adding up fast, and I was losing track of my money. Laziness can kill when it comes to vacations. You tend to spend on convenience, and that can really add up.

Days of Vacation

Sometimes you really do have to plan your activities, and that can be pretty difficult because you don't really know how long each activity takes. I stayed in Cappadocia for a whole week when I think I could have just stayed for three days and got the full experience. It's really worth it to check for all of the things you want to do.

Exploration

The main city within Cappadocia is called Goreme. I mistakenly booked a hotel in Cavusin. This small town is probably five to ten minutes away from Goreme. I discovered it wasn't that big a deal to taxi back into town every so often.

What I should have done in the first place was actually explore Cavusin. They actually had pretty nice places to see and good restaurants to eat at. You never know what you have until you explore.

The most important thing that I learned was that as I age, my interests change. I am no longer the backpacking person that I once was in my youth. I like to stay in posher places now. I don't quite enjoy the exploration as much as I used to. This old body can't take as much physical exercise that it used to.

Everyone is different, so just see what you like. Go on a variety of trips to learn what you like in trips. This may change over time, but at least you had the experience and have a reference point.

travel advice

About the Creator

Brian Anonymous

I have tons of opinions that change constantly. I watch a lot of movies and play video games. There are some articles on my struggles with languages and dance as well.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For Free

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    BAWritten by Brian Anonymous

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.