Wander logo

Is the Window Seat Worth It?

Why the window seat sucks

By Haley RootPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I don't know about you, but when I fly I love having a window seat. I'll do whatever I can to make sure I get that window seat. When flying out of the county I just knew I had to get that window seat. 13-hour flight? That's fine, I have a window seat, I'll be comfortable. Boy was I wrong.

This was my first time flying out of the country, so this was all new to me. I definitely wish I had known what I do now. Do not. . . And I mean DO NOT get a window seat. I know it's not always up to you which seat you get, but if you have any power do not do it. Now, I'm not saying to never take the window seat. I love the window seat. Just not on a 13-hour flight. If you're flying within the county, by all means, go right ahead. You get to look out the window. You get to control the window shade. You have a place to lay your head down. There are so many reasons why having a window seat is great. Now, let me tell you why a window seat is the worst for long travels.

1. There is absolutely no room.

I swear every time I get onto a plan it has gotten smaller. The first time I had gotten on a plane was when I was 15 years old. I am now 22. Since the age of 15, I haven't really grown much. Actually, I've gotten smaller. I was a bit chubby in my teenage years. I still am, but just slightly less chubby. Anyways, I used to be able to pick my feet up in the seat, curl up in a ball, and sleep for the entire plane ride. There used to be plenty of room for me to do that. But, each flight I've taken since seems to get smaller and smaller.

2. It can be a bit awkward when you're traveling alone.

Let me explain this one. When you're traveling alone this means that the two seats beside you are going to complete strangers. For me, I was sat beside a husband and wife. They were spreading out over each other and laying on each other, while I was confined to my tiny little corner. The one way I was able to lay that was, for lack of a better word, comfortable, pretty much gave me neck and back problems for the next month.

3. I hope you can hold your pee for 13+ hours!

Speaking of things being awkward. . . if you have to pee and you have a window seat, good luck. It was probably halfway through the flight that I got that feeling of needing to use the restroom. This was a problem. If you're like me and have anxiety then this was going to be a challenge. I looked over and the couple beside me were both sleeping. Oh no. Do I wake them? Do I wait for them to wake up? What if they stay asleep for the rest of the flight? I didn't know what to do. I decided I could hold it for a little bit longer and just wait to see if they would ever wake up. Once they did wake up I probably spent another 30 minutes trying to figure out what I was going to say. Anxiety is the worst. I should have just got an aisle seat.

Some of you might find this post pointless. That's okay. But, if you're ever traveling and you're going to be in the plane for an extended amount of time, please take my advice and just get an aisle seat. I promise you the window seat is not worth that picture of the clouds.

travel tips
Like

About the Creator

Haley Root

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.