Wander logo

Discovering Japan

Your guide to discovering the best destinations

By Haley RootPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

When finding out I would be going to Japan I knew there were so many things we needed to explore. Japan is such a fascinating country I want to explore everything. With Nick being here for 2 years I already know he will be able to find lots for us to do. Before leaving, however, I had to do some research of my own. I wanted to find the best destinations for us to explore. Not only that, but Japan is very different from America, so I wanted to make sure I didn't make a fool of myself, or worse, show anyone any disrespect.

The etiquette in Japan is much different than in the United States. And by that, I mean they actually have some. In America, let's be honest, we pretty much do whatever we please, however, we please. Japan, however, has a specific etiquette they follow. For instance, shaking hands or waving isn't done to greet people. Rather, they bow. Bowing is very important in Japanese culture. Sometimes a deep head nod will suffice, but a proper bow comes from the waist. Bowing is also a sign of respect. Respect for others as well as yourself, so if you're in Japan it is important to partake in this tradition.

With Nick being in the Navy he had to take a culture class when he arrived here. I, however, didn't get that privilege. Instead, I did my own research. My brother actually gave me a book called "Essential Japan" that provided me with some really great information. It has a whole section for Japanese etiquette and culture. It actually provides pretty much everything you need to know before going to Japan. If you plan on going to Japan, or even just like to learn about other Countries I definitely recommend checking out the link down below and getting yourself one.

Of course, I wasn't only concerned with Japanese etiquette. While that is very important and you should definitely study before you go, I was mainly concerned with where we can explore while we're here. Of course, Mount Fuji is high on the list of things to do, but there are so many other cool places I didn't even know existed. For instance, I didn't know anything about the wonderful onsens Japan has. Or about the Snow Monkeys that like the bathe in them. Of course, there are also so many beautiful gardens throughout Japan that I cannot wait to check out.

There are also so many different museums in Japan to explore. Art museums, history museums, even a Cup Noodles Museum. While I'm extremely excited about the incredible art museums, I think I'm most excited about the Cup Noodles Museum. I learned that when taking a trip to the Cup Noodles Museum you can create your own flavor and take it home with you. Of course, anything related to food, I'm going to be excited about it.

There are so many things in Japan that I can't wait for us to check out. Way too many things to list in just this one post. Subscribe to this blog to read about each adventure we go on as well as tips on how to make your experience better if you decide to try it for yourself. I also highly recommend getting yourself a copy of Fodor's Essential Japan (Full-color Travel Guide). Discover amazing places to visit, great places to eat, and the best places to stay for your visit to Japan. It might take a few years, but I definitely plan to visit each destination mentioned.

asia
Like

About the Creator

Haley Root

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.