Wander logo

If you're waiting for a sign to travel, here it is!

If you ever wonder, wander instead.

By Emma-Rain KirifiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I was born in New Zealand and moved to Australia as a young girl. I was old enough to recognize and understand differences in people, culture, and lifestyle. Experiencing such a big change at such a young age was momentarily uncomfortable, but proved to be a solid foundation for me as a teenager and now adult. I learned about acceptance, inclusivity, and open-mindedness. I'm certain I would've learned those qualities anyway, but this experience is something I would never trade.

Throughout my life so far, I've had the opportunity to travel throughout Australia, back to New Zealand, Italy, Estonia, and the United States. As a 24-year-old, I'm not only proud of those experiences, but I'm deeply grateful. Let me share 3 lessons I've learned from my short moments around the globe.

Don't define your travel by money and distance

After some incredibly exhausting, work-filled months, my sister, friend and I made the last minute decision to travel to Sydney from Melbourne for a long weekend. We were not too concerned about how much money we would spend, rather how many memories we could make in this short time. It would be easy to perhaps just take some days off work and spend some time together in our own city, but sometimes your mind and body doesn't just need a break. It needs to break away.

As soon as we got to Sydney, we found the nearest and most affordable car rental service. We booked into a lovely and affordable Airbnb. And we just went looking! We had all been to Sydney before but never to explore and see. Over the weekend we found cool dessert and taco joints, made new friends, and laughed like no tomorrow just in our Airbnb. Every night was a late night and every car ride was a terribly directed, but dangerously fun adventure. That weekend we spent less than $300 individually in Sydney. It was unforgettable and taught me that travelling isn't only a box to tick. It's an attitude of seeking and loving a new space and lifestyle.

Appreciate the details of life

I was blessed with the opportunity to serve a volunteer mission for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints in Estonia. Prior to my assignment, I hadn't heard of Estonia or the Baltics. All I expected was terribly cold weather, and that expectation was satisfied. But the weather wasn't all I experienced or frankly the most important and impactful thing I'll remember. I'll remember the kindness of the Estonian people. I'll remember the quietness and reserved nature of the people as well. I'll remember the smell and taste of mustleib (black bread), and I'll never, ever forget the colours of the beautiful, small cities. I'll remember the sounds and movements within bus stations, and I'll remember how much it usually cost to buy a hotdog, chocolate museli bar, and drink from a local R-Kiosk.

Being in a completely new space is exciting and potentially lifechanging! But it's not always the tallest heights or the brightest colours that stay with us, but the small details. Like the discoloured pebble stones or that one hot chocolate you had at that one cafe. Or maybe even the street performer that invited you to participate in their act, or the church bells ringing. These details are gems that will forever link us to moments in time.

"Regardless the destination, all roads lead home." - H. L. Balcomb

As I have traveled to different cities and countries I have researched, observed and loved the differences and similarities between cultures, lifestyles, heritages, and traditions. Witnessing such colourful and wonderful parts of the world has taught me to appreciate, respect, and consider the lives and perspective of all people. I have learned about religions, politics, art, and languages. There are limitless opportunities to learn about one another. However, the best thing I have ever learned while travelling hasn't necessarily been about them or there, but about me and here.

Travelling physically takes me to other parts of the world, but it mentally and almost spiritually takes me home, in other words to myself. Travelling offers a chance to see how you fit in the world and how you can influence it even in the smallest ways. It teaches you how to be present. It teaches you how to find your place and enjoy your purpose. Travelling teaches the importance of and urgency for patience, kindness, and asking questions. When you travel, you can refine qualities you love about yourself and find out new things about yourself. You find out who you are and how to be that person.

My time around the world is something I will treasure for life. I look forward to future adventures and fresh opportunities to be a better person and meet people. This world can be totally unkind, selfish, and ungrateful. But when we travel we can see kindness in all shapes, colours, spaces, and voices. We can understand true selflessness and humility in the service of workers, community, and fellow travelers. We can be grateful for life as we go out and live it.

So if you're every wondering, wander instead. You never know what you'll find.

solo travel
Like

About the Creator

Emma-Rain Kirifi

Stories, ideas, and real life experiences from the average girl in Melbourne, Australia.

Living proof that life is still good, even when you don't know what the heck is going on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.