Motivation logo

Umbrella Academy

You don't need to go above and beyond, to go above and beyond. Just love.

By Emma-Rain KirifiPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Distance makes the heart grow fonder and the mind more creative.

If you need a Netflix show to watch, Umbrella Academy is a decent pick. It's fun, interesting, and pretty heartfelt. It has a good enough story line and development to keep you engaged. It follows a group of gifted siblings who learn to not only channel and use their powers for good but to actually become a family. Being all adopted by an extremely tough and somewhat astute father, these siblings grew up motivated by their gifted abilities thereby debilitating their relationship with one another. Will they ever become a family or remain more so as a boy band, bound to break up or go on a "hiatus"? (Looking at you 1D) It's basically a massive 'sibling check'.

Even though I solely spoke about the Umbrella Academy just to keep up the rain-related titles of my blogs, I actually found some gems in the plot of this tv show that I've recently appreciated in my own life. The siblings of the Umbrella Academy range in ethnic backgrounds, gender and size, habits and mannerisms, and strengths and weaknesses. Their paths crossed and connected in a dramatic way and they are bound for life, no matter the state of their relationship. Similarly, 2020 is still a giant headache but the different people in our lives are making the difference in our lives. That's key: different people make the difference.

In Melbourne, Australia, life has been pretty repetitive and a little bit trite. Who knew a 5km radius could feel so small? We've faced plenty of restrictions, lockdown extensions, and we've missed moments of embrace, support, and progress. However, in spite of being confined and limited, I've seen so much love and friendship go beyond physical distance in the smallest ways.

Spread the Love: It's the sheet

A couple of my best friends and I have an operating spreadsheet that we contribute a lot of our favourite finds on. We share books, movies, tv shows, shopping sites, apps, recipes etc. It's been one of the best things I've participated in this year. Of course something like an excel spreadsheet doesn't excite many. I mean, usually when someone says 'open excel' and I hear 'bye brain cell'. However, this time it's been gratifying. When we share something we love or enjoy, we share a part of ourselves. Sometimes we feel a need to protect what is special to us, but when things that matter are hidden, soon enough they don't matter anymore. Don't lose the show and tell in your life. They really weren't playing when they said sharing is caring.

Be Among Us: Just do your tasks bro

I'm sure some of you know of the game 'Among Us'. It's basically Cluedo and Wink Murder. The point of the game is to find the impostor before they kill everybody off. This game turns brother against brother and friend against friend. In other words, it's a great game. While it isn't the greatest game ever invented, it has already created inside jokes, funny memories, and an active group chat for my cousins and I.

There isn't a lot of exciting things happening, but there are still enough exciting people. Maybe the task of the day isn't to finish the TV show, but to message your cousins, or friends, and ask, "Who's jumping on?" Be among those you love.

Let's face it. Literally. Face the camera this way.

I'm a texter, not a caller. I would much rather message you than call you. That is one habit that I have thankfully overcome when it comes to connecting with those I love. It can be hard to change communication habits, but we can't hide behind comfortable in times of hardship. Comfort doesn't connect us. Moments connect us.

I've had many zoom calls and face time with friends and family. It has made a tremendous difference in my year. Despite my inclination to text or send a message, I don't know how I would have survived and thrived in times of lockdown. We all communicate differently, but communication that leads to connection is what we strive for.

Nothing happens until you show up.

You can do it.

#WaterWalk 2020

For my birthday recently I wanted to participate in a fundraiser. I had recently set the goal to drink 3L of water every day because I was barley making 2. I don't think it was a coincidence that soon after setting that personal goal, I read about UNICEF's mission to help families, especially children, not walk more than 30 minutes for safe drinking water by 2030. Many families in other countries walk more than an hour. I thought, I have access to safe drinking water within seconds, and I can't drink 3L to keep healthy? I was humbled and motivated. So with amazing friends and my parents, we accepted the challenge to do our best to individually walk 49km throughout October and donate to the #WaterWalk mission and challenge. This challenge changed how I appreciated the bare necessities: water and love. That sounds pretty corny but I'm lucky enough to have an endless amount of both.

Like the Umbrella Academy, we're bound to want different paths and pursue different lifestyles. We'll have different ideas and different perspectives. But we can always come back home. There are a million things to achieve and try in this life, but there aren't a million people we can call our team, our day ones, our family. If I've learned anything from being constantly in lockdown, it's that nothing matters if I don't love and appreciate 3 things: my family, my friends, and myself. So no matter the circumstances of life, don't limit the shelter of your umbrella. Be there for your "academy" and let them be there for you.

You don't have to go above and beyond, to go above and beyond. Just love.

Hey Alexa, end this with Umbrella by Rihanna.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Emma-Rain Kirifi

Stories, ideas, and real life experiences from the average girl in Melbourne, Australia.

Living proof that life is still good, even when you don't know what the heck is going on.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.