Wander logo

I unexpectedly survived

It all begins with a walk in the woods

By Brenda Lee Lord-HingerPublished 3 years ago 13 min read
Like
Chapter one

I had decided to put away the cares of the day and indulge myself in a leisurely stroll down a well known path.

It was fall and the leaves had all but fallen, leaving the trees bare to the sight. It was a warm day with only a gentle breeze blowing.

I was taking in the magestic blue sky and enjoying the many sounds of nature’s little critters and the sweet voices of birds singing.

I came to a fork in the path and realized that I must’ve walked further than ever before when on this route, as this is the first time I came to cross roads-path.

I chose my path and continued on. I thought this was a pretty cool find coming across this new path, and was excited to share this with my family. I was sure my husband Ray and son Marki would find it pretty cool.

I was enjoying my walk so much that it prevented me from not paying attention to the time flying by — not heading home when I should have. But then I found myself becoming a bit confused as many paths were before me. One leading to another. I suddenly realized that the paths were becoming narrower and was presented with thick heavy bush on either side.

A fear sank deep into the marrow of my bones. Darkness was settling in. I turned around hoping this path would lead me to the next correct path and so on and so on.

My leisure stroll had quickly turned into a panic run! I tripped and fell, skinning my elbow to the point of drawing blood. Not to mention indenting my kneecap on a rock.

‘Oh’, I was feeling sick to my stomach. Thinking I was about to vomit, I tried to get myself to relax by taking a few deep breaths. That’s when I heard a loud snap behind me from the thickness of the trees. ‘Bear’ came to mind! I was overwhelmed and exhausted.

Complete blackness was upon me. The temperature was also falling at a quick rate. My mind was racing on what I should do or could do, and how close was this bear. I was feeling inside the pockets of my jeans and came across a book of matches. ‘My first thought was holy shit yah’! Ray, I, and Marki had enjoyed a wiener roast in the backyard the night before, I obviously had put the matches in my pocket after that. Thank goodness I was wearing the same jeans.

I then felt around for Kleenex in my sweater pocket, as its a habit for me to always have Kleenex on me. Thank god for habits! So now I needed tiny twigs. I felt around until I managed to gather a little. I put some under and over the Kleenex. I have a new appreciation for those who are blind. I lit a match and was successful in lighting a tiny fire.

I continued to feel around for more and more pieces to add on. I finally accomplished building a suitable fire to warm myself.

I wondered if Ray would be out searching for me. My guess was that it was around 8:00 pm. Ray wouldn’t even be home from work yet. My boy Marki was playing at his friends place and was staying the night.

I huddled around my fire and closed my eyes, expecting to be overcome by the bear at any moment. I woke up awhile later, surprised that I had fallen asleep and hadn’t been chewed on. My fire had gone out and I was overcome with self pity and fear. Fear that I have never experienced before.

It was a tad light out now and I decided to walk down the narrow path I had slept over. I came to an edge of an open clearing. I gazed around for a few minutes. Then spotted movement about a hundred yards out in amongst the tall grass. The movement was becoming busier. ‘Oh my’ it was a mother grizzly with her cubs. I’m sure my jaw could’ve been picked up off the ground.

Mother Grizzly with Cubs

My brain was crammed with questions for myself. What, what, what do I do? My body automatically backed itself up and turned around. I came to the realization that not only was I in bear territory —I was in grizzly territory! Also that I’d been strolling on animal trails for last two days.

How stupid of me! Now I won’t only be food for one bear-I’ll be a feast for a whole range of bears. All I had going for me at this point was that it was still daylight, but not for long. I was becoming angrier and angrier with myself as time was passing by and all I had in front of me was one bear trail after another.

I’m not the brightest gal in the woods-I also neglected to let anyone know that I was going for a walk in the first place. Didn’t even leave a note for Ray.

Afraid of vandalism, I parked my car in the most secluded area ever! And who would assume that I would pick an animal trail in which to take a walk. As I carried on I came across huge bear scat.

Self explanatory

I knew there was a pretty good chance that I was surrounded by grizzlies. I heard a loud snort and took off like a bat-out-of-hell! As I ran I gave everything I could possibly muster. I wasn’t giving up easily!

I could vaguely see a dark structure of something ahead of me. As I got closer to it — so did the snorting behind me. It was an old trappers cabin!

Trappers cabin

I could literally feel the pounding on the earth as the bear was about to overpower me. I gave all I had and ran with all my might towards freedom. Praying as I ran that the door would be sturdy enough to save me.

I suddenly tripped-flipped over and seen the biggest bear ever in my life maybe fifteen feet away from me. I bounded back on my feet and somehow made it to the cabin, slamming the door shut behind me. Looking for open windows that this monster may still attack me through.

There was one window with thin glass. But there was heavy shutters to which I took advantage of. It was jet black, couldn’t see a thing inside. I lit a match and spotted an ancient wood-stove.

Inside cabin

In the corner of the tiny room there was old firewood on the floor, with old newspapers tucked away in a trunk. This was like a trappers-tickle-trunk. For inside I came across matches, candles, rope, thread and needles, a wool blanket, a hunters knife wrapped in deer-hide. A handmade-sling- shot, and many more odds and ends that will become extremely useful.

In my mind however, it wouldn’t take long to discover the smoke coming out of the chimney of this old relic — to be spotted by those searching for me.

I was still very much afraid that the massive size bear could be patiently waiting for me to take one step out that door. At the same time I was hungry, and yet so sleepy. My fire felt so good to the bones, and I felt calm enough to curl up with the wool blanket on the wooden framed bed-stuffed with twigs and moss.

As soon as I laid down my weary head, I was fast asleep. I awoke to mice scurrying around on the dirt floor. First I panicked, as I detest any small rodent with a long tail. They must’ve heard me rustling around, for they scattered off somewhere.

The stove was still warm with ashes, so I added more wood and had flames shooting right back up. Now I was starving! I searched the shelves for canned goods or anything for that matter. I found mouse traps, and a jar full of the oldest-pickled-eggs ever! Unless I wanted to die of food poisoning — there was no way in hell that my mouth was coming close to those.

I tried to collect my thoughts on what a trapper would do to catch his food. That didn’t work, all I had was mouse traps. So what does a lost, starved idiot like myself do? I could try the slingshot. But what would I be hunting for exactly? Rabbit. I heard from an old cowboy that rabbit is good tasting. Okay, but where is the grizzly that’s wanting to hunt me?

I would much prefer to just stick the slingshot out the window, and with perfect aim, nail a frisky bunny right on the noggin. The thought of taking one step out that door frightened me to death. But I was running out of wood. Thank the lord for the tickle trunk! In there I came across some treasures. An axe, a sharpening blade, I even spied some soap for bathing. Which of course meant finding water.

So, no matter how I looked at my situation, I’d have to go outside this man-cave. All at once sadness overwhelmed me as I thought of Ray and Marki. By now they’d be so worried about me. Or would they think that I’d purposely left them? If that did come across Rays mind — would there be anyone searching for me? I collapsed on the bed and bawled. I could be here forever if they believe I would intentionally disappear from their lives.

Maybe I should try walking out of here. But I’m scared stiff to take a step out. I was feeling every emotion known to man or woman. I began shivering with coldness. I had no more wood! “Great, some situation I’ve managed to put myself in Jean”. Okay, enough is enough-no more pity party!

What is the first thing a true woodsman would do? Firewood! If I’m gonna survive this trial in my life-I must set my priorities.

Although the small hairs on my neck were standing straight up nice and tall, I wrapped the blanket around my shoulders, picked up the axe and as slow as a turtle — I cracked open the door. My eyes were roving in every direction. I sniffed into the air thinking I could smell if the bear was near.

Well I didn’t see or smell the bear. I gingerly crept the perimeter of the cabin. Wearier than a fox on its first hunt. I see a chopping block! Well here it goes — first swing I missed. Second swing I damn near take my leg off! “That was a close call”. Come on women get it right. Here we go, your going to get it this time or freeze to death.

“Yes”! I yelled. I’ve still got it! I thought back to when I was a teenage girl, visiting my grandparents. They had me do all the chopping. I continued chopping, splitting, and piling the wood inside first, then outside alongside the cabin. I was sweating up a storm, but it felt good.

I had a roaring fire going in no time! But I had to eat. I must’ve been running off of adrenaline only, as I was overcome with weakness. I searched for small rocks. My pockets were full. I heard a chirping noise not far from me, but further away from the hut than what I’d like.

I took a deep breath and followed the chirping. I knew I was close. After patiently waiting a few minutes, the little fella showed itself. A squirrel! Oh my, it’s so cute, how can I possibly kill it. I reasoned with myself and came to the conclusion that I truly had no choice. So, I aimed my slingshot for the tiny man’s bean and let it shoot. I heard a faint squeak and that was it.

I sauntered over with tears in my eyes. Yah I got it alright. “Poor little guy”. However, I won’t fall asleep hungry tonight. I skinned it with the hunting knife, set it on the old grate that was hanging outside the door , and placed the grate over the stove.

Squirrel

“Oh yes” — the smell of food! Im sure it was the best meal I’ve ever eaten. I was feeling pretty proud of myself with the tasks I had accomplished. Mainly that I was alive for starters. There was lots of firewood inside and out. I had a full stomach.

Finding water is my priority tomorrow. More food, and sooner than later I would need to cut down trees. I also wanted to scout around a little for anymore tid bits lying around to aide my brief existence in the bush.

I laid my exhausted head down and stared all around. Something caught the corner of my eye. I got off the bed, held the flickering candle way up near the ceiling. Holy moly! It was a rifle. Good gravy, now I have a decent chance. My father had one just like it. I checked everywhere for bullets but came up empty. I gave up and went to sleep.

The next morning I was on a mission for bullets. I searched all the obvious places again, and then I stopped — looked down at the bed and thought ‘really’, under the bed? There they were. All tucked safely away in a box and wrapped in hanker-chiefs. What a sight of relief! Now maybe I can hunt for more substantial meat. I also felt a whole lot safer with a weapon in which to defend myself.

I’m getting things figured out. Water, and another squirrel just for today. I had the knife in my belt loop, matches and paper in my back pocket, wool blanket tied around my shoulders, and the rifle on a shoulder.

Oh if my family and friends could see me now! They wouldn’t believe it was me who they were looking at. As I day dreamed of home and my husband and son, tears streamed down my cheeks. ‘When will I see them again, will I ever’?

A great rustling in the thickness of the forest side-tracked my loneliness. What on earth is it? I was breathing hard by fear and anxiety. I stopped in my tracks. I sniffed and listened. Heavy crackling. Was it getting closer or heading away from me? I separated the branches to get a better peek.

Holy shit! A massive bull moose! I’ve seen lots of moose in my lifetime and this was a big boy! My rifle was loaded with two shells. I propped the gun against my shoulder as a hunter would do, I aimed for the temple as the moose turned. As if making himself the perfect target for me.

My Moose

I again took a huge breath in and squeezed the trigger, without taking my eyes off him. He started to dart away, and then fell to the ground like thunder. I was in shock! I couldn’t get over the fact that I’d just taken down a moose! Now what? Okay I’ll have to cut his throat. Then cut portions of him to take back. That is exactly what I did. I even skinned him. Which was the toughest task thus far.

I had plans for myself to make warm gloves, a hat, and coat out of the hide. I had the needle and thread to make this work for me. I’ll make a woodsman out of myself yet!

It was an extremely long, exhausting day! I was a smelly mess and I had not one drop of water. I wiped the blood off of myself using handkerchiefs. I felt and smelled like I had been in the bush for months already. I wondered if this was the rest of my life set out for me.

Keep watch for chapter 2

By Brenda Lee Lord-Hinger

BLBLOGWRITINGNEWS1 ( KMZ2OL )

[email protected]

Please become a free member of Vocal Media and support my stories by leaving a tip.

female travel
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.