Wander logo

I'm Here to Talk Sh*t. Literally.

Dumping your black tank as an RVer is not a big deal, so please allow me a moment to calm some "Newbie RVer" fears.

By Crystal A. WolfePublished about a year ago 14 min read
2
Photo by Sincerely Media on Unsplash

I've been a full-time RVer for almost two years (so far), and one of the most prevalent topics of worry that I have encountered from newbies - like myself - is dumping the black tank. Recently, I sold Large Marge (my second RV) [link], and I found myself in a rare situation: I needed to pass on some RV tips and tricks! Normally, I do this in one of my blog articles, but this particular instance involved some one-on-one interaction. As a believer in karma and paying it back to the people who sold me my first RV (and gave me the boost of confidence I needed), it felt right to do what I could to set up Large Marge's new owner with as much confidence as I could. Interestingly, one of the most significant areas of concern for him was dumping the black tank.

I understand why dumping RV tanks can seem scary at first. Have you seen this scene in RV?!

Regardless if you've seen this before or not, the concept of having to empty your tanks is foreign to many people. Like many readers, I grew up, owned, and previously rented sticks-and-bricks homes. When you flush your waste, it goes down the tube, and you forget about it. However, as an RVer, there are a few extra steps after flushing.

I've been where you are before. Either you are:

  1. Thinking about purchasing an RV but have no idea what you're doing;
  2. You just bought an RV and still figuring things out
  3. About to have a panic attack that you have to take a dump. (i.e., Literally: Dump your black tank.)

Let's dissect each one of those, m-kay?

Concern #1: You have no idea what you're doing

It'll get easier, especially if you can research before purchasing. If you can't do as much "due diligence" as you want to, don't fret. There are many online "RV Courses" out there, and I am happy to recommend some. I haven't used them but relied heavily on books, fellow bloggers, YouTube, and my RV community.

Concern #2: You're still figuring things out

You'll feel like a newbie now but like a pro in no time! When we bought our first RV, I was nervous when we had to haul it anywhere, and I felt like a brand new mother going 10 mph under the speed limit to protect my baby. Now, I'll roll over bumps without giving myself an ulcer, and it has made me a more confident RV owner figuring out the inner workings of my nomadic home.

Concern #3: It's time to dump

Dumping your tanks is entirely normal, and you'll be fine if you understand how things work.

For those of you reading this, you may say, "Yeah, I'm not going to live in an RV because I have to flush my tank." If that's you, no problem, no hate, and 100% respect. ✌️ However, if you are seriously considering the RV or Tiny Home lifestyle or getting one for recreation, this is just one thing that comes with the RV territory.

For simplicity, I'll break this down into sections you can easily refer to:

  • Basic 'How To Take a Dump' 101
  • Black Tank Maintenance
  • Clogs
  • Tips and Tricks

Note: So that I am not a grown woman having to constantly use words like "poo", "poop,", "dropping a duece," or "dookie" I will exchange them with others that will not gross you out as much, such as "debris" or "fun water." So, if you're ready: Let's talk sh*t!

Here are a few terms that you're going to need to know before we move on:

Black Tank: Where your bodily waste goes after flushing. (aka by Crystal as "The Oblette of Stink").

Grey Tank: The tank stores soapy water from the RV sink(s) and/or shower(s). (aka "Not as Gross as the Black Tank).

Sewer Hose: The hose that connects your Grey/Black Waste line to the sewer. (aka "The Stinky Slinky"

Image of my RV connections with a forward kitchen and rear bath connection. Captured by the author.

Basic 'How-To Take a Dump' 101

Let's assume you did your business, flushed, and noticed that the tank light is on (or nearly) "Full."

Today's the day, my friend: It's time to dump your black tank!

Unlike a typical sticks-and-bricks home, there are a few extra steps. The first one is that you have to go outside.

Yup! So if it's raining, put on your slickers. Snowing, don't slip. That lever to the "Portal of Poo" isn't going to open itself.

Tip: I recommend having your grey tank at least half or approximately 75% or more full before dumping your black tank. That way, you can flush your sewer hose with the soapy water from your shower and/or sink(s).

  1. Once you're outside and you're ready to open the tanks to drain into the sewer system, I suggest the following:
  2. Check the connection to the ground sewer system. Make sure it's still snug and secure. (Otherwise, sh*t is going to spill on the ground.) 🤮
  3. As an extra precaution, I weigh the exiting hose into the sewer system with a stone or brick, but I've seen others use small sandbags and large rocks.
  4. Make sure your sewer hose connection is secure from your RV waste pipe.
  5. Pull open the black tank valve.
  6. Patiently wait as the tank empties itself.

Tip: As gross as it is to see, it does help if you watch the flow of the debris moving, so invest in some clear connectors if you don't have them already installed.

If the fun water's flow is slow, it indicates that you have a clog (or the build-up of one). You'll want to take some steps ASAP and not procrastinate. Otherwise, you'll pay for it later. (We will discuss this later when we get to mitigating clogs below.)

7. If all goes well, close the black tank valve.

Pull the grey tank valve and let the grey water flush your sewer hose.

8. Once empty, close the grey tank valve.

Ta-da! You just dumped your tanks!

Black Tank Maintenance

The "Basic 'How-To Take a Dump' 101" above is the ideal situation, and as long as you do regular maintenance on your black tank, chances are that that will be the routine most of the time. However, you could have some headaches later if you refrain from conducting regular tank maintenance.

Note: I am not an RV professional, but I use these steps when conducting maintenance on my RV tank(s).

Break Down Waste

One of the simplest things I do is drop a TSX pod each time I empty the black tank. Many RVers swear by Happy Campers, and I've used both and find them effective. However, my local Walmart carries the TSX, so I usually use that brand as I can add it to my Walmart+ grocery delivery.

Q: What do the TSX pods or Happy Campers scoop do?

A: These little toilet servings feed a solution into the tank that helps break down solid waste when combined with adequate water.

Cognizant of the Tank

An equally simple - yet effective - way to ensure your black tank is well maintained is to be careful what you put in it first!

I shouldn't have to say it, but every stall I enter in stores says the same: Ladies, don't put your disposable napkins, tampons, or your baby's diapers down the drain. So, please don't do it to your toilet, especially an RV one.

The best rule of thumb: If it doesn't come out of your body, don't put it in the toilet (with the exception of certain toilet paper*).

Speaking of toilet paper, pay attention to the kind of toilet paper you flush. This is the moment when I am going to get on my soapbox for a moment to address the "RV Toilet Paper Debate."

I belong to several RV forums, and this is always a topic of contention: Regular Toilet Paper vs. RV Toilet Paper and 'Does it Matter'?

Knocking out the easiest part of this question: Yes. It 100% does matter what kind of toilet paper you use.

Do you need to buy toilet paper, specifically indicating that it's for RV or boat use? No.

The most important thing you need to ensure about your toilet paper is that it is dissolvable! If unsure, take a few squares of the toilet paper you are thinking about using and put it in a water bowl. If it breaks up and dissolves quickly, it will likely be okay to use in the RV. However, if it doesn't dissolve, then I recommend steering clear.

Since I am not in the market for trying out different toilet papers, I usually stick to RV toilet paper (as I can add that to my Walmart+ grocery delivery as well).

Back Flush

Many new RVs offer a back-flush option, which allows you to add water directly to your black tank to help flush it out.

My first RV and the current one have had this option, and it's fantastic! Unfortunately, my second RV (Large Marge) did not have it it built in but I was not discouraged because there are back-flush valves that can be installed at your sewer hose to get around this.

The video below shows how to used the Rhino Blaster Pro on my second RV that I used to keep my black tank in good condition and also helpful to dislodge a clog.

If you're a little tight on funds, the RV King Reverse Flush Valve is a descent alternative. I've used it and the Rhino Blaster Pro. Both are good to get the job done, but I (personally) trust the Rhino brand more.

Regularly Scheduled Maintenance

Set yourself a reminder on your calendar to conduct maintenance. I've gone a month without back-flushing my black tanks, but I wouldn't go much more than that. Some full-time RVers say to do it every time you dump, but I usually average about every three weeks as I am a busy woman.

Each time you do your back-flushing, inspect your sewer line to ensure no punctures or holes have happened. To help mitigate wear and tear on your "Stinky Slinky," I suggest investing in a sidewinder. Not only does it help keep your sewer hose off of the ground, but many states require you to have your sewer hose off of the ground.

Clogs

Like a standard toilet, RV clogs are not fun. However, you must be careful what you put down the sh*tter to unclog it. From everything that I've researched from having my clog(s), the consensus is:

  • Be careful what chemicals you put into your toilet to unclog it
  • Plungers are not as helpful as you think they are in an RV
  • Never leave your black tank open* (This will be discussed more below in "Tips and Tricks")

Chemicals

I'll steer clear of this one, as I've seen mixed comments about adding chemicals to the toilet to break things up. Some sites like this one say it's okay (under certain conditions) to add Drano, while others say it's a no-no.

Me? I err on the side of caution and avoid them because I have no idea how powerful they are and don't want to risk damaging my RV sewer system.

Before dropping any chemical into your RV sewer system, read the fine print on the label.

What to Do for an RV Clog

This could be a separate article, as many things can be done to help break up an RV clog. However, I am going to speak only about the techinues I have used.

⚠️ If you have a "Pyramid of Poo," you have some next-level problems and may have breached the point you need to hire professionals. I have heard horror stories of "Poo Pyramids" that have resulted in who RV sewer systems that needed to be replaced to some that were "hard as a rock."

A "Poo Pyramid" is precisely how it sounds and is the worst-case scenario for your clog IMO. To make things worse, chances increase that the pyramid has solidified, so breaking it up will be a feat. But, if you do regularly scheduled maintenance (and don't leave your black tank open), then you'll likely decrease the chances of dodging the pyramid in the first place.

What has worked for me?

I dump regularly, add my TSX pods, and ensure that I use dissolvable toilet paper. If I still have a clog, back-flushing 1-3 times seems to do the trick.

Tips and Tricks

After two years of full-time RVing, I learned a few things along the way and want to pass this insight on to you. Take them with a grain of salt if you'd like, but I'm going to mention them none-the-less:

Don't trust your sensors.

You can have a brand-new RV and still have faulty sensors. Why? Because nothing is going to stop debris from blocking the tank sensors. As a result, you're going to believe your black tank is full when it's not. The best thing to do is to avoid this is to empty your tanks and back-flush them regularly for more accurate readings.

Dedicate specific gloves & hoses to the tank maintenance

When it comes to the black tank, I have dedicated items that I use and never cross-contaminate them. One of the items that I make sure to use is dedicated gloves. You don't need fancy gloves, and I (personally) use yellow dishwasher gloves and keep them in a baggy that I only use for my sewer connections. Similarly, I use a dedicated hose for back-flushing. It's bright orange, and I never use it for anything other than back-flushing the tank.

Use Clear Connectors

As mentioned previously, this can help you monitor debris flow (see image above of my RV sewer line set up).

On several occasions, I have detected a potential "build up" in my tank by slow-moving water, or it suddenly stops flowing after being open.

Note: I blame my husband for this as he "practices the idea of water conservation for boondocking." Despite his good intentions, it causes more work for me to keep the tanks clean and in good condition as stationary RVers.

Never (EVER) Leave the Black Tank Valve Open

When the black tank valve is left open, you've built a system where the solids are left behind while the liquids drain. Over time, those solids won't be able to go anywhere because the liquid to move them is gone. As a result, you've built the feared "Poo Pyramid."

To help explain how this pyramid is formed, imagine pouring a funnel flower onto a seive. After some time, it'll form a pyramid if you don't dilute it with water to go through the hole and will slowly become an imovable mountain. The same analogy applies to your waste: Over time, the solids will compound while the liquids drain.

Tip: After dumping and closing the black tank, drop a waste breakdown solution (i.e. a scoop of Happy Campers, a TSX pod , etc.) down the drain and hold your foot on the flush peddle for approx 30 seconds. That way, you'll pregame the tank with a healthy solution to help break down the waste.

Use Ice

This is one of my favorite maintenance techniques, and I learned it from another RVer. After trying it once, I was completely convinced to add it to my regular maintenance schedule every time we relocate.

Note: This technique only works when the RV is in transit. What I learned to do is...

  • Drop the contents of a 5 lbs bag of ice into my toilet before the RV hits the road. (Don't add any water to it. Just let it fall down the toilet and into the black tank.)
  • As you drive, the ice will rock back and forth, gently scraping the tank's insides to release any stubborn debris that won't flush with regular (back)flushing.
  • Once you reach your destination, the ice has likely melted so hook up your RV to the sewer dump and pull that black tank lever open. You might be surprised what was left behind in your tank!
  • For an additional maintenance measure, go ahead and back-flush right after hooking up, and I am confident that your tank will be in superb working order.

Conclusion

If you've stayed with me this far into this article dedicated to sh*t, THANK YOU! I have a feeling that those reading are going to have one of the following feelings:

"This is too much work, and I'd rather live in a 'typical' home.

No harm done, and I 100% respect your opinion. To each their own, and everyone's values are different. For you, this may not "be worth it." For me, I'd dump my black tank every day if it meant keeping this lifestyle.

"I feel much better about dumping my black tank. Thank you!"

You're welcome!

"This has given me some things to consider as a (current/future) RVer.

I'm glad that I could help!

In my two years of blogging and writing about this type of lifestyle, I never thought that I'd dedicate so much time to writing about sh*t in my life. However, as an RVer (regardless if full-time or not), this is an important topic. Can you live without a stomach or intestines? No. So, what makes you think you can do it without taking care of the guts of your RV?

Just something to consider, and good luck!

If you like this story, consider giving these articles a read! 👇

I believe in Karma, so feel free to add to the Karma Jar to provide some 'Good Vibes.'

how to
2

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.