Wander logo

How Spain changed my life

A year and a half of adventure

By Serena NorrisPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

As a child, I had always hoped that one day I would get to travel the world. I have seen about half of the states in the US, and my wanderlust often drives me nuts. I'm talking about the feeling we get we see a plane soaring across the sky and taking its passangers to some unknown destination. That feeling of intense longing.

Long trips are tiring, and so very exciting.

While the world was closing its doors, I made my way from Chicago, IL to Rota Spain. The adventure was long and tiring, with an overnight stay in Baltimore before departure early in the morning. The feelings I remember most are apprehendsion and excitement, as the dream of a young Serena was finally being realized.

Cadiz, Spain, a small city directly on the coast with amazing food and beautiful architecture

While my first two weeks in Spain were spent in quarantine, I did get to travel around the area shortly thereafter. One of the first places I was able to visit was about a 45 minute drive from Rota, Spain. Cadiz, Spain is located within the Andalusian province that makes up the boarder of the southeastern coast. The city is full of life with beautiful architecture, a plaza filled with mouth watering restaurants, and plenty of places to see. On my first trip I was lucky enough to see and be a part of a human rights event that was happening in the plaza. The plaza was filled with people, brightly colored ribbons were strategically placed in a circle, and at one point in the event, everyone was asked to hold onto one end of a ribbon to signify how all of us were connected. It was truly a beautiful experience.

Even the smaller cathedrals are breathtaking, even from the outside.

Architecture is one of my favorite artforms, and Spain is filled with some of the most beautiful architecture I have ever seen. In 2021, I spent a day exploring the capital of the Andalusian province, Seville, Spain. In Seville, there is a cathedral that was built between 1434 and 1517 over the remains of the city's main mosque. It is the worlds largest gothic cathedral cathedral and is breathtaking in every aspect. From the highly decorated front doors, to the bell tower, to the architecture within the building itself. The Catedral de Giralda houses the remains of Christopher Columbus in an ornate coffin that is available to veiwers to this day. The cathedral is filled with hand painted murals, memorabilias of the past, and the echos are beautiful. It was one of the most memorable visits I've had to date.

The stained glass is ornate and beautiful

Hand painted pictures

A view from the bell tower

Original carved wooden doors

Spain was a fantastic point in my life, and while the culture shock did hit, it was a fantastic experience getting to know people who have lived in spain their entire lives, meeting people who loved Spain so much the decided to move there full time, and experiencing the adventure and the food. Spain brought back my creative streak, and allowed me to explore something new that was more than another state in my home country.

Having never been outside of the country before, seeing and experiencing an entirely new place was an adventure I desperately needed. Nothing quite prepares you for living in a different country for an entire year, but the friends I made, and the memories were so worth it. Having the ability to go to different cities like Madrid, Seville, Jerez de la Frontera, Puerto de Santa Maria, and seeing everything there is to see has brought forth a new perspective I never thought I would have. I have danced in a Spanish bull ring, enjoyed the beautiful beaches of Rota, explored cities I never thought I would see, and ate some of the best food I have ever had in that year and a half overseas. It was the trip of a lifetime and I cannot wait to go back.

Must see places:

Catedral de Seville/Giralda

Parrilla Venta Las Tenajas (restaurant in Rota)

Shamrocks (restaurant with one of the best owners in Puerto)

Puerto de Santa Maria

Jerez de la Frontera (the city itself is beautiful)

activitieseuropefeaturesolo traveltravel photography
Like

About the Creator

Serena Norris

Hello! My name is Serena Norris and one of my favorite passtimes is creating a fictional world my readers and I can fall into. Me and my husko alexander strive to bring the best content possible to you, my readers be it in writing or art!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.