Wander logo

Honolulu Holiday

My Dream Vacation

By Eloise GiesbrechtPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
2
Honolulu Holiday
Photo by Vishnu Tadimeti on Unsplash

Is there a certain place that is on your bucket list for taking a vacation? For me that place is Honolulu. My parents went there to celebrate thirty years of marriage. After hearing all of their stories and seeing pictures of the beautiful ocean, I've wanted to go there myself.

As a single lady I've never been a fan of Valentine's Day. I would plan this trip so that I would be at the Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort for a week of relaxation on February twelfth. I think this would be a great vacation to do by myself. That way I can simply do the things that make me happy and I don't need to worry about the plans of anyone else.

I would wake up very early the day that my flight departed so that I could catch a taxi to the airport in time for a six o'clock flight. That way even with my lay overs in Toronto and San Fransico I could get to the resort by mid evening. On the flights I would introduce myself to some of the passengers and find out if any of them were also going to Honolulu. That way maybe we could help each other navigate through the San Fransico airport. The Toronto airport used to intimidate me, but having had recent experience of having a lay over there, I've become much more comfortable with that airport.

Once at the Toronto Airport I would locate the terminal for my next flight. After that I'd sit down and have some breakfast, making sure to include a Starbucks latte.

The rest of my flights would be spent reading, watching movies, and resting. I would make sure to have a window seat on the final flight in order to have an optimal view of the ocean.

Once the flight had landed in Honolulu, I would take the Sunshine Airport Shuttle to the resort. That would be a very long day. I'm sure that once I located my room I'd have a very restful sleep in my king sized bed.

It would be so lovely to be on vacation and not have to set an alarm in the morning. One of the perks of staying at a resort is that food is always available. My first day would be spent relaxing poolside and by the ocean.

I would book myself a relaxing afternoon at the spa on February the fourteenth. There would be a nice massage and a face mask. That evening I'd attend a theme night. This would be a great way to make some new friends. I think that would be a great ending to the perfect day. I would spend the rest of the week balancing enjoying alone time and meeting people at the resort. Doing zumba is one of my passions. I would see if the resort offered any zumba classes. I think learning how to hula would be amazing. Something that is on my bucket list is to learn how to surf. Going scuba diving would certainly make the trip memorable. I'd spend some time reading romance novels while relaxing in a lawn chair (I'm a big Nicholas Sparks fan). My mornings would be a lovely mix of swimming in the pool and swimming in the ocean. I would try to do this early in the morning before it got too busy and before it got terribly humid. My room would have an ocean view so that I could take in the sunsets from both the beach and my room.

I would leave on February the eighteenth on an afternoon flight, which would mean I wouldn't arrive back home until the next morning. This time there would only be one lay over. I'd have time to have to sit down and have a nice relaxing breakfast in the Toronto airport before catching my next flight.

For all future Valentine's Days I would have the blessed memories of a wonderful Hawaiian vacation.

america
2

About the Creator

Eloise Giesbrecht

I'm a thirty nine year old who is passionate about music, living in the moment, and telling stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.