Wander logo

My Beach Getaway

Honolulu Heaven

By Eloise GiesbrechtPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
My Beach Getaway
Photo by Channey on Unsplash

I’m blessed to have grown up in a family that traveled a lot. My parents both grew up in Saskatchewan and moved to Ontario for their occupations. All of their family stayed out west. Every other summer my family would pack up to drive out west. I have a lot of fond memories of those trips. My Dad was a University Mathematics professor and had to attend annual conventions. My siblings and I knew from the start that these family road trips ended when we got to the upper grades of high school. Some of the destinations I got to see were Disneyland, the Indy 500, and The Grand Ole Opry. The first time I ever went on a plane ride was an unforgettable experience. I was with a singing group that summer. We’d already traveled from British Columbia to Ontario by bus. They saved the best for the last week and a half of the summer in Brazil. My first flight was from Calgary to Brazil. Although I was a nervous wreck for my first flight, in time it became an adrenaline rush. Now when I plan a trip to a destination that I’m flying to, I count the number of days until I get to depart.

I’m the person who loves to travel, but doesn’t have the means to do it very often.I live vicariously through the photos of other people’s trips on social media. My parents went to Hawaii to celebrate their twenty-fifth wedding anniversary. Ever since then, Hawaii has been on my dream list. What some people call their bucket list, I refer to as my dream list.

For my dream getaway I’d take two and a half weeks off of work. During the booking process for the vacation, I’d keep two very important things in mind. Firstly, I’d make sure I have a window seat in order to take in all the sights along the way, as well as to get the first glimpse of the ocean. Secondly, I’d ensure that there is a shuttle service from the airport to the resort.

I’ld start my vacation days the day before my flight. I’d use that first day to get packed and buy anything that needs to be bought. As much as I’m a planner, unfortunately I’m an even bigger procrastinator. The part of my personality that is a planner means that a week before my vacation, I start making piles of items on my spare bed that are coming on the trip. The items range from a cosmetic bag, to sunscreen, to the sundress, to a magazine to read. The opposite side of my personality that is a procrastinator means that essential items won’t be bought until the day before. As a ginger, one of the items I absolutely must have is a sunscreen with a very high SPF. I’d also take time to go to the salon and get my hair done, as well as a manicure and pedicure. I want my toes to look amazing while I’m spending time at the beach. Also, timing is everything. I work with children so getting a manicure and then going to work for a couple of days before going on vacation would be a waste of money.

My flight would leave early in the morning, that way I would arrive in Hawaii by evening. I’d pack a couple of good books to read on the flight and while relaxing on the beach. I’d stay at a resort that is right on the beach and would sleep in a king sized bed. I know it’s just me, but I live life by the motto, “Go big or go home!” There would be three nights at the resort before going on a cruise. I’d fill the two days at the resort with surfing lessons, swimming, relaxing by the ocean, and spending time at the spa. I can almost smell the aroma of the oils during the massage. The resort would be right by the port for the cruise, making it a simple transition. One of my favourite bands Mercy Me would be the live entertainment on the cruise. I would love watching movies on the big screen and sitting with different people for meals so that I would make lots of new friends. The concerts on the ship by Mercy Me would be absolutely outstanding. I’d have a meet and greet with the band, of course with verifiable evidence. I’d tell the band how their song “Greater” was an incredible encouragement to me and how my family had epic dance parties while listening to it. The cruise would last for a week. I’d return to the resort around supper time. I’d spend the rest of my time at the resort enjoying coffee, learning to scuba dive, attending some evening parties on the beach drinking virgin daiquiris and margaritas while making some new friends. I’d also simply relax by enjoying the ocean and stretching out in my king sized bed. It is a vacation after all.

I’d leave Hawaii on an early flight, so that I’d be back home by evening. I like tagging an extra vacation day at the end of my time so that I have time to get settled and oriented before heading back into the real world.

I’m sure that I’d come home for my vacation with great anticipation of my next tropical destination.

america
Like

About the Creator

Eloise Giesbrecht

I'm a thirty nine year old who is passionate about music, living in the moment, and telling stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.