Wander logo

Goodbye to Beijing

Thanks for all the Jianbing!

By Frances Leah BrownPublished 3 months ago Updated 3 months ago 2 min read
1

Nearly a year ago, I took the long flight to start work at Universal Beijing Resort as a wand keeper in the Wizarding World of Harry Potter. I fully expected to spend weeks in quarantine, but just before my trip, China lifted the quarantine requirements, and I was allowed to just "arrive". It was overwhelming for me, especially after nearly 2 years of semi quarantine at home.

I learned a script and performed in Mandarin to native speakers who, for the most part, put up with my accent and worked with me to make magic. I also worked with some of the most wonderful humans I've had the pleasure to meet, and as a surprise treat, I was able to be one of the Mrs Claus' in the Winter Holiday show, which gave me a chance to sing on stage again, and work with the talented local dancers and singers who have an astounding amount of talent.

I traveled, but not a lot. I saw the beautiful ocean, the temples, the forbidden city, the great wall, and the old Hutong in Beijing, which ended up being my favorite place to visit. Beijing is HUGE. 22,000,000 people and miles and miles of city, and at it's heart is the Forbidden City, Tiananmen Square, the palaces and the old buildings on the old, narrow streets. Tiny mom and pop clothing shops, tiny restaurants, coffee shops, art stores, grocery stores the size of a small closet, the best dumplings I've ever eaten (Mr. Shi's Dumplings in Dongcheng) and so much more. Parks near lakes that I walked in the summer, where I sheltered under old the willow trees' shade and used my fan while I watched paddle boats go past the giant lotus blossoms, and then I walked there again in winter, and watched the ice skating families, ate warm noodles and marveled at the heart of a giant city that feels so comfortable and small.

Don't get me wrong, there are big, fancy malls here with every designer name in fashion, perfumes, luxury cars and more. I'm just not drawn that that world, but it is a very big part of the city.

I also traveled to Seoul, South Korea, which was sort of like going to Las Vegas, in a weird way. Bright digital screens on buildings, amazing night life, night food markets, and foreigners were everywhere. I had a big culture shock in Korea. So many Anglo faces and European languages, and the occasional American voices that were odd and jarring to my ears. How quickly I'd adjusted to hearing Chinese language all around me.

Now I am soon to head to the states to see my family and friends. How grateful I am for this entire experience. I remembered a part of myself that had been dormant for far too long. The part that likes to explore, try new things, learn new things, even if I fail miserably and often. What a gift to received.

After this? Osaka, Japan! A year to be a wand keeper in Osaka at Universal Studios Japan. Thank you Universal! Family can visit in Osaka, and that is a thrilling thing for me.

Xie xie ni men. Thank you, all.

asia
1

About the Creator

Frances Leah Brown

I am a singer, a story teller on stage and in print, and a lover of family and nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.