Wander logo

A trip from Beijing to Seoul

The most unexpected gifts

By Frances Leah BrownPublished 7 months ago 2 min read
Like
A trip from Beijing to Seoul
Photo by Y K on Unsplash

I took a few days away and flew to Seoul. What a place! I stayed in Myeongdong, and didn't stray far from the area, but there was plenty to see and do.

Food, oh the food. There is a dizzying amount of choice and you can look at the restaurant menus as you stroll along the street, or just walk the night market and grab something tasty from a market stand. I had a few favorites; Yakgwa honey cake, baked buns, and fried chicken with sanggu and beer. Best fried chicken I've ever had, no joke.

Shopping? Well yes. A two story cosmetic store called Olive Young is there and it was constantly busy. I braved it, bought a lipstick for my daughter and got out. Beauty is a serious business. Lotte department store has all the designer names of course, but in their basement there's a world of food, wine and coffee to give you shopping strength, perhaps.

If you walk a few blocks you'll find Insadong Street. I liked this for it's small unique shops that are scattered between the souvenir stores. I bought wonderful clothes for myself there, and I could afford to do it. Korean cotton pants, vest, dress and shirt. Deliciously soft and comfortable.

I did a walking tour of the Gyeongbokgung Palace and the Bukchon Hanok Village on a beautiful autumn day. The palace was interesting, and the history was fascinating. The village was charming, and the restored buildings made me happy. After our tour was done, I wasn't able to access my phone map, and was wandering around with a nearly dead phone battery near Insadong street. A Korean gentleman came up and asked me where I was from, and that began a long conversation between us. He is 81 years old, a retired company president, now novice painter and singer. He told me he had a friend who was showing her art at the nearby La mer museum, so we went in. The artist was Son Mi Ra, and I love her work. It was her opening, but we were early and she was free to talk. It was an honor to meet her. My friend sang the beginning of O Mio Babbino Caro, and I sang it with him as we stood together in the gallery. How can things like that happen in real life? Really? What an experience. He took my photo with the paintings, and went on his way. What a gracious human. A kind artist in the next gallery pointed me toward my hotel, and off I walked.

I stumbled on a press gathering and fans of a K-pop singing group. I didn't know what was going on until I heard a voice announcing names and the screams of young women, all their phones held high in the air to catch a glimpse of the boys. They are beautiful humans, to be sure!

I continually responded in Mandarin, even after practicing Korean phrases, but by the time I left this morning, I was doing it correctly. I left at 5:00am to get to the Incheon airport, the flight was easy, the immigration process was easy, I had an excellent and kind Didi driver who found me as I stood on the wrong floor of the garage, and I made it back to my room.

asia
Like

About the Creator

Frances Leah Brown

I am a singer, a story teller on stage and in print, and a lover of family and nature.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.