Wander logo

Go Alone, You'll Find Yourself Along the Way! $200 Trips or Less

Why you should visit small towns by yourself! Mini getaways are more satisfying than far and expensive ones.

By jadepointsPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

My experience has been a backpack and open road through the beautiful American South West.

Where I live, well, you've probably driven right past me on your way to Phoenix, L.A., San Diego, Denver, you know; more excitement!

Guilty as you are! My whole life I have been driving passed the small towns that interfere between where I live and the big attraction cities!

I started to get the itch of getting away, nowhere near my "Paid Vacation" time from work. Holidays, just family and friend events that I am devoted to attending; I felt I couldn't get far enough.

I decided to work with what I didn't have

  • Not enough time
  • Not enough money
  • Not a lot of willing or available friends and family.

What I had:

  • Car
  • $130 Cash
  • Cell Phone
  • Tent
  • Credit card, and access to my emergency funds, in case of something.

Take your position and draw a circle of a five hour driving radius.

Using google maps hover over town names and Wikipedia to read a bit about the town's history, their population, and their culture.

Set out too early in the morning, if you don't like what you see you can always head to the nearest big town, or back home. Keep in mind this is about looking for more than meets the eye.

Much to my amazement, I have been able to find, hot springs, lakes, rivers, amazing camping spots. Incredible renowned hospitality everywhere I go and untold American History.

My very first trip came out to $140.00 USD. Sure, I had to tap into my credit card. As soon as I got there, I set out to find a place to stay, as not all the hotels are listed online. I also kept telling myself I wanted to find something locally owned and operated. I found absolutely nothing available for the night.

Without knowing I stumbled into a music festival. I did not recognize any of the bands, but the vibe in that place was incredible. I parked my car, got my $70.00 ticket and went in. There was food and music, drinks and a campsite! I was thrilled. I waited in line at a taco truck and struck up a conversation with a group of people who had come all the way from Austin.

"Your vibe attracts your Tribe," I followed them to the river's edge where they had set up camp. We connected in such an intimate way. A way in which they would not present themselves back home. I picked up on that immediately and decided to allow myself to open up. The sun came up to let us know the party was over, none of us slept that night and it was time to head back home. We "friended" each other on Facebook and said goodbye. As the tourists vacated the town, I had a chance to speak to the local store owners and food vendors. A lot of them demonstrated a lot of pride in their town.

My least expensive trip has been $60.00.

A well known, very visited natural springs turned into a swimming pool. Apparently, it is also used for scuba diving. Neither the website or the locals mentioned anything about the amazing hotel! They may not stay that late to see how the milky way reflects over the water. The dark sky is amazing, you can see all of the glory of the universe! Nobody writes about these things. I've been telling everyone about it and all I get back is "really?" YES REALLY!!! Only a three hour drive from where we live there is an open window into heaven!

Gas: $30.00

Campsite: $15.00

Window to heaven $PRICELESS

My most expensive thus far, has been $400.

Okay, I knew what I was doing. I reserved a historic hotel a four hour drive away. Famous people have stayed in this middle of forest 75-year-old building. $100 a night. Not bad, huh? When I got there I realized this town had so much more to offer! Much more than the most visited "Ruidoso" (cabins 300 a night).

Family owned and operated antique shops, boutiques, restaurants. Absolutely charming! A town that kept all the charm of its time until now. The people keeping it true to itself.

The people are in fact the hidden gems and the souls of these towns. Most of these towns depend on tourism to thrive.

Their life's work is the preservation of their beloved shops.

The charm of mom and pop shops is their purpose!

The preservation of buildings 100 years old reminds us of the times when they were built right the first time.

Antiques are actually unique and rich in history.

You find yourself attracted and entertained by little things, remind yourself that there are a lot of these admirable things inside you.

You come back with a different perspective of "the fast city life."

You let go of a lot of emotions that keep you on your toes.

People see you with an unbiased perspective!

People greet you with respect.

budget travel
Like

About the Creator

jadepoints

I am a listener, I try anything twice. Wandering spirit with a wondering mind. Love to travel to small towns & write stories. I will be known as a writer when I grow up. I appreciate your support by sharing & for your tips.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.