Wander logo

Five ways you can get over long-term travel burnout

Future travel plans

By sara burdickPublished 9 months ago 5 min read
1

For the last few months, I have been traveling extremely fast, mainly due to meeting people and wanting to make the most of my time here in Georgia.

Mostly because I have accepted that this trip to this side of the world will be my last for a while, which has caused me to stress and question my decision multiple times, yet it is one that I have finally accepted, at least for now.

When I started traveling five years ago (to this month!), I had a goal: to see as much of the world as possible, to record and write about all my experiences. At that time, I had a full-time job until the world shut down.

Buenos Aires art

Although having a real job gave me stability, I knew that I had an income coming in. SO I should add becoming a full-time creator two years ago, travel, volunteering, and the stress of where my next dollar would come from have led to travel burnout.

Which is weird since this is the first time I have experienced this. I can tell you that I have not slept well for over a month, until last night.

So, what do you do when travel burnout happens? I hate listicles, but Google loves them, so let me work with the algorithm for once, right?

Travel slower or stop traveling.

Currently, I am doing this in Kutaisi, Georgia. I was here about three weeks ago and fell in love with this little city. It feels like a big town since it is spread out and does not have big skyscraper buildings like Tbilisi or Batumi.

I have rented a room in a shared apartment with other travelers; they all keep to themselves, so I do not socialize with any of them. We all have our rooms and a shared bathroom and kitchen.

I am here for this reason: I want to avoid socializing, plus the location is central, and I can get everything I need within a five or ten-minute walk.

Change direction or course.

Many of us long-term travelers are afraid to admit that we do not want to do something or are tired. We might have made all these big plans and dreams months ago and then decided we did not want to do it.

I have done this recently. I was going to go to Nepal. It was my dream to visit, and I thought I must go because I am so close. I drove myself and anyone who would listen up a wall.

Most people hate my indecisiveness and tell me I have a first-world problem. Yeah, I know. That is not the point; it’s a first-world problem, but it’s still MY problem.

We, after all, are self-absorbed humans. Even though I try to be better, I still get sucked up into my world of delusion and stuck.

So, I changed direction; I am not going to Nepal, India, or Sri Lanka. I do not need to see it all just because I am here.

Do nothing.

Yesterday, when I checked into my little room, I did nothing. I was so exhausted from the past month of go-go-go-go. I could not even function.

I knew I was tired when I fell asleep on both buses and instantly, when I came and had my room, I finally relaxed. I watched some shows on my computer, I did not work, I did not talk to anyone, I did not do anything.

I went to bed early. I got up and made a plan.

Make a plan

Okay, this differs from all the travel GURUs tell you to do, but I am not your travel GURU. So make a plan.

Usually, we burn out when we are feeling lost and aimless. When you have no point but to travel, it can get old. I noticed myself not caring about doing anything and just wanting to stay in all day and not talk to anyone.

Except I was in a hostel, and noise was constantly around me. I could not write or do any creating, and it made my head spin, and I could not think straight. Plus, having people drain my energy and talk at me for hours got old.

That is a story for another day.

So I made a plan. I planned to come to where I am now and stop. I also have e made a plan for the next few months and feel more grounded. And Just deciding has helped clarify.

Go home.

In case you are wondering, this is my plan for the short term. I am so tired of traveling, and my soul has other plans.

I am listening, and she feels happier and content. Today, I bought my ticket to the US, where I will stay with my sister for a few weeks and enjoy the fall in the northeast.

One of my favorite seasons and favorite places to be when the leaves change, I will spend time with her animals, reconnect, and refocus on my next step, which will not surprise anyone.

I will be snuggling with this big ole bear

I am going back to Latin America with a purpose.

I am resuming my search for land and have narrowed it down to a few countries — ones that are economically stable for foreigners to invest and those that I can get a visa easily. Colombia is number one on my list.

This leads me to my next task, becoming fully fluent in Spanish. I am at a pretty good level, but not fluent, and that is my goal for this upcoming year, plus the purchase of land to start my community, which I have been planning for a couple of years in my head.

Isn’t that where dreams are built?

On my list are Guatemala, Panama, Colombia, and Brazil. I know in Brazil they speak Portuguese, but I can learn it if I need to. I will also be visiting other countries in Central America since I will be traveling by land ( I hate to fly).

I have thought about Mexico but I want to be as close as possible to the Amazon; I may also look at Ecuador. However, they are a bit politically unstable; I know all of Latin America is a gamble.

When I find it, I will know and figure it out from there.

When I quit my job, I knew my intuition would guide me, and she has. She had been yelling at me for about six months, and as soon as I left Latin America, she began to get even louder.

I have no plans to move to this side of the world; it is too far from my family and is not where my heart lives. Even though it is beautiful, it was a nice vacation.

I will be here until the end of September, and the next goal will be to travel with a purpose and a plan, plus improve my Spanish. I have never been the type of person who does things in a way that makes sense.

I always have to do things my way, and I assume the universe knows this and will guide me as I need it, as she always does.

XOXO

S

Currently in Georgia!

travel tipsfemale travel
1

About the Creator

sara burdick

I quit the rat race after working as a nurse for 16 years. I now write online and live abroad, currently Nomading, as I search for my forever home. Personal Stories, Travel and History

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • MAARI9 months ago

    Do you ever travel and explore Amazon forest and river?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.