Wander logo

Egypt: Camels, Pyramids and Awe

An Epic Adventure

By Andrea JardinePublished 3 years ago 6 min read
18
Photo by Author, Andrea Jardine

Jumping out of the van crammed with our small group of eight “Intrepid Travelers,” the cool January air of the desert was somewhat refreshing. I couldn’t believe I was finally standing in the vicinity of the Great Pyramid of Giza. As a young child, I would sit on my grandmother’s beige carpeted floor and read books about what I thought were fantastical lands. Egypt was far out of the realm of my reality growing up in a large suburban city outside of Toronto.

My grandmother always had tiny hard Chiclet gum that came two to a box and rattled when you shook them. With my bright yellow and red coloured chiclet box in hand, I would rattle the box and imagine it was the sound of the camel’s hooves as I rode through a desert storm fighting a mummy and winning. Of course, I didn’t know as a child that camels don’t have hooves or sound like horses, and in fact, have cushion-like pads as feet. I have also since learned that mummies do not resurrect and attack you. But I still believe I could win if they did.

Standing in that dusty parking lot, I spotted the illustrious pyramids, which at first glance seemed only ten inches tall, and straightened my curved shoulders. It was like spotting your favourite actor from across the room – you gasp, widen your eyes, stand up straight, and freeze.

They’re real, they’re actually real, I thought. How am I witnessing such an ancient and remarkable site and how are they still standing?

I found myself in Egypt quite by chance. I had gone into the travel agency with my friend, Jessica, believing we were going to book a trip to Peru. Fun fact: I convinced Jessica to go to South America with me by only speaking Spanish to her for a week. She would send an email in English, I would reply in Spanish. She would send a text in English, I would reply in Spanish. It’s important to note neither of us speaks Spanish but thanks to Google Translate, I finally wore her down and she agreed to go with me. Little did we know at the time, the prices for Peru were astronomical so our wonderful agent, Sarah, asked if we’d consider a trip to Egypt, which was on sale with Intrepid Travel. After seeing the extremely affordable rate and thinking back to those yellow and red boxed Chiclets, I didn’t have to think long before replying with an emphatic “YES!” Fortunately, Jessica also agreed. To Egypt, we go.

The Beauty and The Beasts

I love this picture of the herd of camels, shown above, because it showcases these beautiful and exotic (to this Canadian girl) creatures lounging about with some of the most iconic images displayed in the back. The bond and trust between a camel and his caregiver is also depicted by the man casually resting against his camel.

There is also an interesting juxtaposition of modern and ancient times. By looking closely, you can see vehicles driving up to the pyramids and the soft outline of the city of Cairo between the second and third ones.

Even amongst the scattered garbage, the beauty, splendour, and history are evident. I can only hope that they've since improved upon their environmental impact by picking up the waste.

Photo by Author, Andrea Jardine

Homes to the Mummies

Riding a camel may seem touristy and overrated, but it is actually one of the best ways to get a breathtaking view of the pyramids, as seen above.

Trying to remain balanced on my camel, whom I affectionately named Humps, I nearly forgot to take a picture with my Canon Digital SLR. This shot captures all three pyramids with their burial complexes. I’m not a professional photographer or editor, but fortunately, the Photos App on my MacBook is very simple to use. For all photos shown, I clicked a few buttons, such as “Light,” “Colour,” and “Sharpen” to make the blue of the sky more vivid and the stones more visible on the pyramids. I also cropped tiny pieces from the sides, top, and bottom to position the objects a bit better in the frame.

Humps was a wonderful calm animal and I think of him fondly. Although dismounting him was incredibly frightening because camels are extremely tall (at least to all 5’2” of me) and they bend their front knees first, which causes you to feel as if you’re perpendicular to the ground and then just when you think you’re going to faceplant into a bunch of dirty sand, they drop their hind legs, leaving you to awkwardly and shakily dismount from the side.

With our 30-minute camel ride over, we were free to walk about the pyramids and allowed to enter the smallest one, which was terrifying and claustrophobic but extraordinary.

Photo by Author, Andrea Jardine

Just How Big Are They?

The picture above demonstrates the enormous mass and bulk of the stones. At the bottom of the frame, you can see the stones measured at full height to many of the people standing right next to them. A true feat to construct such a building, which unfortunately took countless lives of the 20,000 slaves over the course of 20 years.

The pyramids of Giza were built over 4500 years ago and the largest one is the only remaining Seven Wonders of the World. The ingenuity is astonishing.

Photo by Author, Andrea Jardine

A Slice of Solitude in the Midst of Millions

The haze of Cairo is evident in the background of this picture, shown above. Driving out of the city, I was shocked to learn that Giza’s pyramids are not located in the middle of the desert. Instead, it felt as if they were just around the corner from the outskirts of Cairo, the metro area home to over 22 million people. The pyramid complex is located on the west bank of the Nile in Cairo, a stone's throw away from the city's crowded skyscrapers and bustling bazaars.

This picture may be my favourite, with the muted colours of the city and predominant earth tones with a tiny pop of colour from the red blanket atop the camel.

A little sense of hope and tranquility amongst all the noise.

Photo by Author, Andrea Jardine

Where's My Chiclet Box?

Although the pyramids are the main tourist attraction, it’s easy to withdraw from the crowds and find quiet places. While wandering around and inspecting some pieces of restoration, I was able to capture this image, shown above, of two workers galloping through the desert.

A moment revealing an iconic structure stuck in time while the modern era rebuilds and moves forward.

Photo by Author, Andrea Jardine

The Power of Three

No matter what age, race, nationality, gender, or vocation, everyone can experience the awe and magnitude of the pyramids. It’s a place that brings everyone together to marvel at a spectacle and provides an unforgettable experience.

It’s also fitting that their most recognized animal is the camel. Even though they’re now domesticated, camels prefer a sense of community by staying in herds and are very social. They’re resilient, relaxed, and sturdy creatures who deserve our respect and admiration. Just don't get too into their face, or they will spit on you.

I could have stayed in that complex with Humps all day basking in the glory of such magnificent creations, but I’ll admit I was happy to head back to Cairo where I could indulge in more falafel and hummus. My mouth waters to this day thinking of it.

Although I’m determined to travel to Peru one day, this was a trip of a lifetime complete with great friends, delicious food, wonder, and of course, Humps.

---

If you enjoyed this piece, please consider giving it a heart, sharing it on social media, or a tiny tip, which is always appreciated. To read my 1st place story, Yard Wars: The Rise of Obi-Wan Catnobi, or to read more of my works, please visit my author page. Thank you for reading.

If you’d like to become a member of Vocal+ and join this amazing community, you can sign up here.

travel photography
18

About the Creator

Andrea Jardine

IG: @andreajardinecreates

Currently in Toronto, Canada developing my writing skills and growing an audience. Any tip or pledge given to help me pursue this endeavour is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.