Wander logo

Are You Able to Slow Yourself Down? Living in / Visiting Costa Rica May Allow You to Learn How to Do Just That. .

The "Pura Vida" Lifestyle is the vehicle that many individuals use to learn how to enjoy life to its fullest. .

By William "Skip" LichtPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
It's a step-by-step process that many learn quickly. . some have a hard time, but they finally fall victim to it. . it'll grow on you!

Anyone who has visited Costa Rica has certainly heard of the "Pura Vida" lifestyle here. You'll hear it uttered at least ten times a day while out running your errands, picking up some fruit for the week at your local farmer's market and/or relaxing at your favorite soda, enjoying your first cup of coffee! "Pura Vida" is a way of life that is worthy of your efforts to achieve. And the good news is that it will certainly add many fruitful years to your life!

There is no downside to learning how to create this type of lifestyle for yourself and for the ones you love. What it provides for you is a new attitude. It allows you to realize that there is more to life than running endlessly on that hamster wheel, embedding yourself in that long and weary rat race and seeing how much "stuff" you can accumulate. It pushes the notion of "what is really important" to the front of the line. Getting there is uncomfortable at times. You would think not. . but we all have had that 'success' idea hammered into our minds for all of our lives. "Work hard and prosper". Of course, that is important. But "Pura Vida" is all about balance, harmony & resetting one's mind & soul. It's all about categorizing and prioritizing your goals and dreams. My feeling is that when you understand the proper order of this type of lifestyle and how it fits within your own agenda, you have discovered the meaning of life as it should be. I don't think that there is even an argument that can be made to prove my theory wrong. . perhaps there is, but I've never heard it being discussed.

I used to feel guilty if I took a day off during the week to simply "do nothing". I could not enjoy that day that I may have "earned" by working hard the previous month. Sleeping until noon. . having lunch with a friend or family member on a mid-week day was not easy to learn how to do. I felt as if I was missing something. . missing a sale or wasting a 'day at the office'. It got to the point where I didn't even bother taking a day off because my mind would always be somewhere else. . churning endlessly. My mind CLOCKED IN every morning, same time, even if it was a free day for me.

So. . then I finally had that, "AH-HA" moment. . I started spending more time in Costa Rica. After a couple of weeks here, I felt more comfortable in my stopping and smelling the roses, so to speak. My 'to-do' list got shorter and shorter. . and then, finally, there was no more list. The guilt of doing nothing that day was still hanging around just a little, but slowly the guilty feelings morphed into a STRONG NEED to prioritize my goals of that day. Finally, "errands" was not the word that I used for things I needed to do that day. It was replaced by "little adventures". A morning spent getting groceries was blended in with a short stop at the local soda I frequent. . a couple cups of coffee and a conversation or two with a stranger who shortly thereafter became a friend. Yes, the grocery list was completed that morning, but just as important, a new friend was made. I was easing into the "Pura Vida" lifestyle and it didn't hurt at all. The guilt that I had felt BIG TIME prior to this transition was finally replaced by compulsory behavior.

The adjustment continued. . and wow, it was starting to become natural and proper.

In closing, the reason that I bring this up is to make you aware of the fact that, if you do decide to visit / live in Costa Rica, adjustments must be made. The alternative to not doing so will be an overwhelming feeling of frustration, inconvenience, irritation & a strong desire to return to the country from which you just left. Many people cannot make this adjustment and they give in to the pressures of this new lifestyle that they never imagine existed.

The good news is that if you know what you're getting into before you make the decision to move here, you will be rewarded by finding your little slice of paradise. . a place that you only had dreamed about before. And that is the best feeling in the world.

We wish you happiness, a feeling of awe and wonder each and every day that you awake & most of all. . we wish you a "Pura Vida" lifestyle sometime soon!

You're invited to visit our websites at: www.costaricagoodnewsreport.com & www.costaricaimmigrationandmovingexperts.com

Also, please enjoy our over 1,750 episodes of our "Costa Rica Pura Vida Lifestyle Podcast Series". We are found on all major podcast venues, including iHeartRADIO, Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Google Podcasts, Radio FM, Anchor & many more. Here's our link: www.anchor.fm/costa-rica-pura-vida

humanity
Like

About the Creator

William "Skip" Licht

Costa Rica is a magical place. Since November, 2002, when I first visited this country, I have been in love with the people, the culture, its biodiversity, the food. . everything about it makes me happy! Now I share my excitement with you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.