Wander logo

In My Wildest Dreams

Whoever said the star's the limit has never been to the Moon

By Brin J.Published 12 days ago 3 min read
9
Taken on my iPhone

If you had told eight-year-old me that one day I'd be living out my dream of travelling to different states and facilities to care for exotic animals, I would've been overwhelmed with a mix of joy and disbelief, thinking it was too good to be true.

It's a rewarding occupation to bond with animals and give them the care they need. Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine that this would be my life. But I will admit, it's not without its heartaches.

Before I go into detail about my journey, I want to first thank Vocal for this Challenge idea. I've wanted to write about this part of my life for a while but haven't been able to find the right words to express my passion, and this prompt feels like an excellent stage to do so.

Without further ado, let me dive into the story about when I recognized that this profession wouldn't be just a job for me... it'd be my purpose in life.

For those wondering, my degree is from an Exotic Animal Care and Management program, where students spend as much time interacting with animals as they do in a classroom setting, more depending on the student's dedication and ambitions.

I mentioned earlier that in this career I've traveled a bit, so you might be wondering what makes this particular trip so unforgettable as opposed to all the others? Well, the answer to that is simple.

This was the first facility I went to during my school program to gain firsthand experience and a deeper understanding of the field I'll be specializing in. But that's not the only reason.

I was in the middle of my education when COVID-19 hit, and facilities were closing their doors to visitors and guests. Even my school's facility had closed to anyone who wasn't a student.

What we thought would be a month of quarantine ended up being nearly an entire year. I was terrified that I wouldn't be able to do my externships so that I could better navigate the labyrinth of career options ahead of me. There are so many directions a person can go in the animal industry. If I couldn't explore all my options, how would I be able to identify which occupation aligns with my passions?

I got extremely lucky.

I sent out a request to visit Turtle Bay in Redding to spend a week learning from their animal caretakers, and they said yes.

Taken on my iPhone

Taken on my iPhone

taken on my iPhone

Taken on my iPhone

Taken on my iPhone

Taken on my iPhone

It was the most unforgettable moment of my life. Befriending dozens of exotic animals. Learning about all of their husbandry needs. Expanding my knowledge by working alongside good people who've been in the industry for over a decade.

I learned how to manually manage a beaver's aquarium, checking the chemical levels, water pressure, and change filters.

I learned that during the winter, badgers don't hibernate but go into something called torpor, where they conserve energy by minimizing their energy usage.

I learned what a Kookaburra is (default picture where I'm holding the bird), and that they're native to Australia and New Zealand, and that they make the cool bird sounds you hear in jungle movies.

But most importantly, I learned this was no doubt the life I wanted. I quickly realized that I wanted to dedicate my life to helping rehabilitate injured wild animals and providing them with the care they need if they're unable to return to the wild.

This week is forever etched in my memory. Not a day goes by where I'm not marveling at how the seemingly closed doors miraculously swung open, revealing a path filled with endless possibilities.

These photos aren't just capturing my best moments from those days.

They're capturing the week my life would be forever altered.

student travelphotographynaturehumanityactivities
9

About the Creator

Brin J.

I have a few stories and poems inside me that I want to share. Maybe, if I'm lucky, they'll reach people who'll enjoy them. 📖

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Davina Zinn McKee10 days ago

    Your passion really comes through in this piece of writing. I can tell this is your calling, and I’d love to read anything you wrote delving deeper into it. I feel like you could also be a model in shampoo commercials as a side hustle haha. You’ve got beautiful hair.

  • D.K. Shepard11 days ago

    How incredible!! What an amazing experience and cool occupation! Loved reading this and seeing the awesome photos!

  • Hannah Moore12 days ago

    What a fantastic life!

  • Mark Graham12 days ago

    What an amazing calling. There's nothing better than helping an animal or even another human.

  • This is amazing! The work here sounds like so much fun!!!

  • Judah LoVato12 days ago

    Awesome pictures and experience!

  • Nice perspective about the dreams.

  • Novel Allen12 days ago

    I wish I had one of those 'AHA' moments. Mine would be owning a Library. Tons of books and no people. Maybe a few, haha. This is such a touching story. I am so happy you found your calling in time. Lucky. Great pics too,

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.