Wander logo

Amish Country

Even Their Jelly Can Impress

By Leiann Lynn Rose SpontaneoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Dutch Valley

Once a year, every April, I attend a women’s conference held in Amish Country. As I cannot discuss religion, I can only tell you that it is a non-denominational women’s conference.

Such Amish Country is so soothing. If it were not for the conference, I would want to simply lay on the bed in the hotel room! It is that comfortable and soothing. But, who am I kidding, I love to shop and eat the delicious Amish food also.

The conference is held at The Carlisle Inn in Sugarcreek, Ohio. The Carlisle is where we lodge too. Such hotel is reasonable in cost, especially with all that is provided. For example, when we each received our room key, we each received a free breakfast at the Dutch Valley Restaurant.

The Carlisle Inn

There is an iron, mini fridge, coffee maker, coffee and tea, iron, etc. in each bathroom.

The scenery is so beautiful from your room.

In the lobby, there is a fireplace and there are couches everywhere.

About the Dutch Valley Restaurant, I gain about 4 pounds every year! Dutch Valley is right across from The Carlisle. So, we have our meals there.

As for shopping, there is a gift shop and bakery at Dutch Valley. Then, in the surrounding area, there are thrift stores everywhere.

Would you like to hear a funny story?

Every year, when at the conference, I buy jalapeno jelly. Usually, the jelly costs about $3.00 per jar. Online, buying jalapeno jelly is astronomical. Well, on this trip, I just could not find my jalapeno jelly anywhere! So, I was in the hotel room and my roommate said that she was going to take a walk. After a while, she returned with a paper bag in her hand and handed the paper bag to me… a jar of jalapeno jelly! The little stinker.

In the future, the Carlisle has plans of providing horse and buggy rides. This year the whole front parking lot was torn up for renovations. I just hope that they do not ruin the cozy atmosphere.

The staff at the hotel are so nice. The staff at the restaurant are so thoughtful.

At the Dutch Valley, there is a huge food and salad bar which I always buy. There is usually a 15 minute wait to be seated. Usually, the waitresses are good with refills.

The only complaint that I have is that we had to check-out of our rooms extremely early in the morning. I was half asleep!

The speaker was a woman named Michelle Cox. Her speech was all about how women should love themselves. She was funny, interesting, etc. She provided each of us a copy of one her books. The book’s title is “Mothers Who Made A Difference: Seemingly Insignificant Acts That Changed The World”.

Coffee, tea, hot chocolate, fresh fruits, cookies, desserts and good clean water were provided during her conference.

There were door prizes. There were games. There was a silent auction.

Music was provided by Belle’s of Harmony. Forgive me if I am mistaken. They did not introduce themselves and I cannot find their band’s name on the itinerary. Anyway, they are an all-woman Christian band.

So, if you are ever in the Sugarcreek area, you have got to eat at the Dutch Valley and stay at The Carlisle. You just might gain a few pounds and you just might not want to leave like I didn’t. Remember to save money for the thrift shops that are super cheap. This year, I purchased a pair of summer sandals for $2.00!

By the way, if you can find the jalapeno jelly, grab it! (good on toast and English muffins)

travel advice
Like

About the Creator

Leiann Lynn Rose Spontaneo

Studied Political Science at Duquesne University.

Highest Honors Graduate in Fitness and Nutrition from Stratford Career Institute.

Her future plans are to become an aromatherapist to help people with their ailments using essential oils.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.