Wander logo

Am I Crazy for Moving to Haiti?

I Think Not.

By Joy NelsonPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
3
Photo by Tim Wildsmith on Unsplash

When you think about Haiti, what's the first thing that comes to mind? If you watch the news, you might have visions of earthquakes, violent protests, and poverty dancing in your mind's eye. And if you heard of a spoiled white girl who planned to move there, you would probably call her crazy.

As the said spoiled white girl, I'm here to showcase a different side of Haiti. I want to share some of its wonders. First, though, I'll tell you why I'm moving there.

My Reason for Moving

In September of 2019, I met the love of my life. We got engaged three and a half months later. The only speed bump on our road to happily ever after was the fact that my wonderful fiancé, who happens to be Haitian, did not have a visa to come to the U.S. so we could get hitched.

After two years of blood, sweat, and tears, it looks like he will not be able to get a fiancé visa. That journey was torture, and it still kills me that the government officials involved in adjudicating our case chose to ignore the facts, and they therefore refused to issue his visa. But oh well. Unbeknownst to them, they are giving me a golden opportunity.

Throughout our struggle with the authorities that be, I told my fiance multiple times that I would be willing to move to Haiti to be with him. He always said it wasn't a good idea because he was concerned about my safety. If our original plan had succeeded, I never would have had the opportunity for long-term immersion in his culture, and maybe there would be members of his family that I would never get to meet. Plus, I never would have had any real motivation to learn his native language. Now, I get all of that.

I'm moving to Haiti, I'm going to marry Mr. Right, and we're going to start over with immigration nonsense.

In the meantime, I'm going to get to enjoy all the riches of the country whose nickname is "The Pearl of the Antilles."

Natural Beauty

I grew up in the Pacific Northwest of the U.S., which in my eyes, will always be the most beautiful place in the world. However, Haiti is a close second. Imagine gorgeous white sand beaches, mesmerizing blue water, majestic mountains, and sunsets that take your breath away.

One particularly famous natural attraction is called Bassin Bleu, which is a series of cobalt-blue pools linked by waterfalls. Plus, it's a short drive from where I will be living. I can't wait to soak in the artistry of nature there.

Remarkable People

Haiti has a lively culture that is marked by warmth and affection. Even though they live in one of the poorest countries in the world, they do not see themselves as objects of pity. They show remarkable resilience as they navigate the challenges that come with existing in a place where the economy and political system are functioning at far less than their best. They place a high value on education, hospitality, industriousness, and other qualities that are sometimes missing in other places.

A Rich History

Did you know that the Haitian language was created by slaves? Forced from their homelands into servitude in a French colony, many Africans in Haiti had no way to communicate with each other. Creole was born out of a mixture of French and other languages, allowing the Africans to eventually unite, revolt, and form the world's first black republic.

Haiti's history gone through many ups and downs since then, but the people continue to charge forward in the face of hardship. That is amazing.

Delicious Food

I was raised on the standard American diet, which, needless to say, is not that great nutritionally or flavor-wise. I started exploring other cuisines when I was a teenager, and I have an appreciation for some of the unique tastes of the world. Haitians eat a diet rich in fruits, vegetables, and whole grains. One of my favorite things that I ate on my last trip there was fire-roasted conch meat. The slight spiciness of the meat, combined with the sour tang of Haitian pickliz... that was downright tasty.

A Chance to Learn and Grow

I'm a firm believer in doing what scares you (as long as it doesn't violate your moral values). Going to Haiti scares me a little. I know my love will do everything he can to keep me safe, but it's not just a matter of safety. It's a matter of being completely outside of my comfort zone.

I'm an obese white female in my 30s. I try to stay physically active, but I've been neglecting my exercise lately, so I'm worried about the physical aspects of being in a country where the weather is always hot and most of the furniture is made out of plastic. I'm worried about things like accidentally overwhelming the sewage system with a big poop, being able to wash my hair thoroughly when all I can take are bucket showers, and being a useful member of our household. I'm worried about doing laundry because that is done primarily by hand in Haiti. I'm worried about protecting my complexion from the sun, and I'm worried about adapting to the culture.

So. Many. Worries.

But you know what? I can adapt. And as I adapt, I will grow. As I grow, I will thrive. I'll have my wonderful husband by my side, and he'll help me at every step of the way. I love him with every molecule of my body, so... no. I'm not crazy for moving to Haiti.

caribbean
3

About the Creator

Joy Nelson

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.