Wander logo

A Trip to the Biltmore

That time my Aunt and I went to visit the most opulent residence I've ever seen.

By Taylor RigsbyPublished 5 months ago 5 min read
1
Front view of the Biltmore

“Holy Moses!”

That was all I could think to say when I first laid eyes on the house. The largest, privately-owners home in the United States, by the way. That’s right: the current generation of Vanderbilt's still own their family estate to this day, and, in the spirit of their famous hospitality, they open up the house to public tours year-round.

This was my very first visit, ever, to the estate. In fact, until my Aunt brought it to my attention recently, I honestly had no idea this place even existed.

The front gate makes you feel like you’re visiting a castle

You see, she and I have a tradition where, every year we take a trip to celebrate my birthday. Originally, I had suggested we take a weekend trip in October to tour Asheville, North Carolina; she recommended it a while ago, because it's a very artsy place... the perfect stomping ground for a budding artist.

But when she mentioned the Biltmore, and how they deck it out every year for Christmas, out entire game-plan changed. And I'm so glad it did - this was genuinely the best trip I think we've ever taken together.

Front yard

Now, to be fair, we always have a great time together - it really doesn't matter where we go. If there's one thing you should know about my family, it's that my Aunt and I always have the best trips together. We get lost a lot, we laugh a lot (usually about getting lost), we meet a lot of really nice and interesting people, and somehow we never seem to run out of new conversation. (We joke about ordering matching t-shirts for these yearly excursions, but personally, I think I'm going to have to make that reality for next year, ha ha!)

Front view of the house

I do have to admit, though, there was something really special about visiting this place, especially with it being so close to Christmas. Even just driving along the main path - the longest 2.5 miles you will ever know! - is overwhelming. The surrounding foliage, the animals sneaking by, it's like riding through a painting for the entire drive... all leading up to the biggest, most immaculate, front yard imaginable.

And then, there's the house itself... Holy. Moses!

You can tell George Vanderbilt not only had the funds for such an extravagant abode, but also strong appreciation for art and beauty.

The spiral stair-case is my favorite feature.

They put a wreath on the Lion... that's glorious!

Every inch of the house - every nook and cranny - is adorned with a perfect sculpture, painting, motif, something that just elevates the overall beauty of the house. No stone is left un-turned and every final-touch is in perfect harmony with the others... I mean, seriously, you could stand in front of it all day and still not find everything there is to see!

Visitors at the front entrance

The conservatory (I think this is where the Vanderbilt's preferred to do their entertaining)

And as wonderful as the house is, the people running the show are equally as lovely. From walking into the main ticket office, receiving advice from the many, many guides on staff, and even just chatting with the shuttle drivers as they steer you to the main drive - everyone was so friendly and so helpful. In my experience in hospitality this - this staff at the Biltmore Estate - is the gold standard for how customer service should be!

The Dinning Hall

Oh yeah - it has THREE fireplaces!

The inside of the house is equally as dazzling as the outside. Due in large part to the carefully arranged Christmas decorations.

Fun fact (imparted by one of our shuttle drivers): there were a total of 70 Christmas trees throughout the house... 70! I can't even begin to imagine how much time goes into decorating 70 trees (especially given the dizzying heights of some).

Only 1 of 70

As we were touring the first floor, my Aunt tried to keep a running count of all the trees we saw, but then quickly lost count by the third or fourth room... yeah, they were everywhere. And each seemed to be complete with it's own theme: there was one in the dinning room that had little chandeliers on them (and when I say 'little' I mean that very loosely - I'm pretty sure they each measured at least 10 inches long). One tree, near the end of the tour, especially caught my eye, as it was a literal peacock-theme: peacock colors, peacock feathers, and, of course, 'little' peacock ornaments hanging from the branches.

It was fantastic.

But even without the decorations, the house would've still been magnificent. Everything from the furniture, the drapes, the ceilings (yes, even the ceilings were ornate!), screams "extravagant craftsmanship!" like I have never seen before.

There was a literal hall of tapestries. Tapestries! ...How?

Told you

I do have to tattle on myself a little: my personal, favorite room in the house is the room that will forever and publicly out me as an unapologetic nerd... I'm talking about the library now.

I was pleasantly surprised to discover on this trip that Mr. George Washington Vanderbilt (yes, that was his real name) was himself a bookworm. A fact that is made evident by the sheer scope and scale of his collection of books... many of them, apparently, in several different languages.

As avid readers ourselves, my Aunt and I both agree that we would probably never sleep in this room... we'd be too busy reading.

The Library

The Ceiling of the Library... I kid you not.

Now by this time in the tour, her back was starting to give her trouble, so from the second floor onward, I ventured alone into the ever-expanding depths of the house.

I was absolutely petrified.

Though less so, once I saw that I was going to get to ascend the beautiful spiral staircase I so loved.

The staircase

And it just keeps going up!

What follows next, are the highlights of the rest of the tour - primarily in the basement, because I enjoyed the basement the most personally:

"The Print Hallway" filled with dozens of lovely portraits

The Tunnel... it's time like these that I started to feel like I really was in a castle.

"The Halloween Room"... it set standards for home decor I just HAVE to match

Though I don't remember why it's called the "Halloween Room"...

You know you're wealthy when you can put in a bowling alley!

And one of the greatest indoor pools I've ever seen!

There were times when the house turned rather ominous...

But then the magic returned, just as quickly...

Thanks to one of the best gingerbread houses I've ever seen!

Even though this house isn't exactly to my personal tastes (though beautiful it is) it was still definitely a treat to venture through its halls and marvel at its collections of treasures. Especially since I didn't even know a place like this existed- right here in the states, and only a few hours away!

The Biltmore at Night

This may have been my first trip to lovely Asheville, North Carolina, but I suspect it will not be my last. Anymore than I suspect this trip will be my last visit to The Biltmore House. I've heard it's just as beautiful in the spring... and there's a vineyard I've yet to explored (already making plans!).

Whether you go for the history of the house, the love of art, or just to escape into the surrounding mountains and bask in the beauty of nature, I highly recommend at least one trip to the Biltmore Estate.

You will not be disappointed.

Merry Christmas!

- 12/18/23

reviewamericaactivities
1

About the Creator

Taylor Rigsby

I'm a bit of a mixed-bag: professional artisan, aspiring businesswoman, film-aficionado, and part-time writer (because there are too many stories in my head).

Check out more of my "stitchcraft" at: www.rigsbystudio.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.