Wander logo

A Beautiful Place

Shawnee National Forest in the Fall

By CheyAnne MazanderPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
November 16th, 2017

Do you like to travel? If you are anything like me, then that answer is yes. I have always liked to be outdoors, even as a child. Growing up, it was unlikely to find me inside, even at night. I absolutely love the natural world and its beauty. I also am living on a small income, and don't want to spend money on finding natural beauty. So I thought, "why not just check out your own backyard?" So, I did. For my anniversary this year I took my husband to Shawnee National Forest here in Illinois. More specifically, the Garden of the Gods, located in Herod, IL, which is about two hours away from me.

This place is really a hiker's dream come true. Spanning across four counties across southern Illinois (Pope, Hardin, Saline, and Gallatin), the Garden of the Gods Wilderness spans over 3,318 acres. And when they say wilderness, they mean it! This specific parcel of land encompasses 0 roads. There are many trails for hikers; Observation Trail is by far the most popular, and with good reason. This trail takes you right on top of the enormous sandstone bluffs for amazing views. The picture above was taken from this trail. On it you can climb out on the bluffs, walk down narrow paths and explore 'till your heart is content. Being only 1/4 mile loop, it's nice for a quick walk or a day of exploring with the car not too far away in either case. Believe me when I tell you it's astonishing!

When we arrived, I was blown away by the colors I was seeing. I'd been here before as a young child, but only in the summer when it was sweltering hot, and it had been awhile since I'd been there. Stepping out of the car and walking out on to the bluffs in the fall as the leaves were changing was something truly magical. It's an experience I will never forget, especially once the sun began to set, bringing out the oranges and golds in the sprawling forest.

Speaking of beauty, I wouldn't say this place is just for hikers. In the fall, this would be a photographer's dream come true as well. I could think of no better place to take a family photo, or even engagement or wedding photos, especially in the fall.

If you're willing to venture off into the wilderness of the beaten path, more beauty is in store for you. There are several amazing waterfalls, and even a brilliant blue-green pool of fresh water. However, some of these places are not easy to get to. The terrain is rocky and some paths are narrow and rocky. But, for those willing to endure, it's a very rewarding experience.

The place is teeming with wildlife as well. We hadn't even stepped out of the car and we were greeted face to face with a large white-tail doe. We saw abundant wildlife on our short hike, including raptors and birds of various sorts.

What I think surprised me the most was the lack of other people. Most gorgeous destinations are full of people and it really dulls the experience. Out here on this particular trip we spent about two hours on observation trail, and we only saw two other groups of hikers.

Since I loved it so much there, I did some digging (you're welcome). Come to find out there is camping, and it won't cost you an arm and leg! At Garden of the Gods Recreation area there are 12 campsites for tent camping on a first come, first serve basis. The kicker here? $10 a night is all you're going to be charged. And, apparently, people aren't clawing tooth and nail to get a spot. There are also spaces for RV's etc. The site also includes toilets and drinking water.

Now, on to my favorite. Primitive camping is allowed here. There are some rules (don't cut down live trees, not along stream beds, pick up your garbage, don't trespass on private property, etc.) but this kind of camping is free! Pack some supplies, start hiking, pick a place to camp. How cool is that? Horses and camping with them is also permitted. So, if it wasn't cool enough for you before, behold. You are allowed to pack your supplies on to your horse and take off into the sunset and camp where you choose, all for free, all year round. Summer, fall, winter, spring... it's always allowed, although I'd watch for hunters in the fall!

So, the next time you are in the area, swing by and give it a visit. Or, plan it out and make it a trip. It's sure to be a rewarding experience no matter which route you choose. Pharaoh's Campground is also nearby, along with many, many others if the above mentioned isn't your cup of tea. There are even a couple places nearby that rent out cabins. What do you think? Sound like something you'd like? I know I will be headed back very, very soon!

america
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.