Wander logo

5 Must-See Destinations in Greece (Excluding the Islands)

Fourth Stop: Olympia - Part 4 of 5

By Crystal A. WolfePublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 4 min read
Top Story - June 2023
20
Image captured by the author, Crystal A. Walker, in Olympia, Greece

Around this time, I'm at the halfway point of my Greece road trip with the next stop: Olympia! After my fantastic experience in Arachova and Delphi, I thought any Greek destination afterward would not compare. However, as the least athletic girl in the world, Olympia proved that I could get excited about sports and humbled me.

Join me as I take you through my road trip through Greece (in five parts):

  • Athens
  • Meteora (with a bonus stop at Thermopylae)
  • Delphi (with a bonus stop at Arachova)
  • Olympia
  • Nafplia
Image created by the author using Google Maps; Graphics added via Photoscape X

Arriving at Olympia

Ancient ruins of Olympia, captured by the author Crystal A. Walker

I admit, when I arrived at Olympia, I didn't give it much thought or admiration. Instead, I was most excited about my best friend, who was stoked about this day. Delphi was my special day, and I knew Olympia would be hers. Name a sport, and not only will she play it, but she'll also rock it! Me? I'll volunteer to be the mascot or water girl, as I am lucky to walk and talk simultaneously.

Olympia History

Like many previous destinations, I only did a little research about the locations before my arrival (unlike me, BTW). When I arrived, I knew it "had something to do with the Olympic torch" and the Olympics. Although that's true, I can now fully see the spectrum of my ignorance.

Olympia is the ultimate center for athletes and a site of one of the Lost Wonders of the World: The Temple of Zeus.

Archaeological Museum

Hermes and Dionysus, captured by the author, Crystal A. Walker

Like other archaeological locations, you'll be funneled into a museum first upon arriving. Although you may feel like, "I've seen many museums, and they are all the same," I implore you not to have that attitude in Greece or anywhere abroad. It'll behoove you to get a sense of the history you are walking through, give you a sense of location, and further emphasizes the importance of being at the actual place where the item was recovered/discovered.

Holy Zeus, this museum blew my mind.

The Archaeological Museum of Olympia holds some incredible artifacts, including the Sanctuary of Zeus and the Olympic stadium. Olympia also showcases the helmet of the Ancient Greek Warrior Miltiades who won the Battle of Marathon.

Image of the helmet of Miltiades and his fallen Persian enemy, captured by the author, Crystal A. Walker

If you don't know who he is, I can summarize him: A Certified Greek Badass.

First, the helmet of Miltiades is considered "one of the most important archeological finds in world history."

Second, Miltiades was the Athenian general who defeated the Persians at the Battle of Marathon.

Lastly, evidence supports the theory that Miltiades offered his helmet to Zeus as an expression of gratitude for beating the Persians. Not only did Miltiades offer his helmet - with an inscription - dedicating his offering to Zeus, but he also offered a Persian helmet as depicted in the image above.

Temple of Zeus

Collage of images captured by the author, Crystal A. Walker. Image on the left is from a plaque of the Temple of Zeus. Image on the right is the last column that remains standing at the site of the Temple of Zeus.

To some readers, they may not seem important; many may be hearing the subconscious saying, "Yay...another Greek temple." However, this is not like any other Greek temple, but the temple.

The statue of Zeus was created by one of Greek's most significant sculptors, Philias. This statue was so most giant one that existed at the time sitting at 12 meters (4 feet) tall and was embellished in the rare materials of ivory and gold. According to my tour guide, it nearly touched the temple's ceiling.

Collage of images captured by the author, Crystal A. Walker. Top is the inside of Philias's workshop. Bottom is the outside of Philias's workshop.

Like many things in our history, it has been lost to time and wars. However, with the archaeological discoveries found in the workshop and the great literature that Greece is known for, historians have an accurate depiction of what the statue and Temple of Zeus looked like.

Stadium

Olympia is the birthplace of the Olympic Games, which took place every four years from 776 BC to 393 BC, with approximately 20,0000 spectators gathering in the stadium.

Today, visitors can not only visit the stadium but step foot on the same track and partake in a race of their own.

Torch Lighting Ceremony

This is the site where the Olympic torch is lit. Here, the Head Priestess ignites the flame with a concave mirror and passes the flame to the first torchbearer. Then, the Torch Relay begins and ends in the hosting city.

Images captured by the author. Left is the 1976 photo of the torch runner. Top right, two of the Olympic torches in the author's hotel. Bottom right, the 1976 torch runner and her bestie.

At the time of this writing, the next torch lighting ceremony will be August 28th, 2024, when it ignites in Olympia for the Paralympic Games, ending in Paris.

Fun Facts About Olympia

Want to See More of Greece?

If you enjoyed the first part of my tour through Greece, follow me to read about the next (and final) destination: Nafplion. If you are more of a foodie, check out my previous article recommending what Greek Food to eat while in Greece! Or, check out Part 1, which talks about Athens, Part 2 about Meteora, or my previous article (Part 3) about Delphi!

Stay tuned for the final part of my Greek tour (Part 5) where I'll give you a tour of Nafplion.

Author's Instagram reel of Nafplion, Greece.

Contributions to the Karma Jar are always appreciated as I save every penny, Euro, pound, and krona I can to put toward my next adventure to write about!

travel tipstravel adviceguideeuropeculture
20

About the Creator

Crystal A. Wolfe

Blogger | Creative Writer | Traveler | Full-Time RVer

You can find all of my articles on my blog as well on Medium where I'm most active in Humor, Lifestyle, and Travel. I've self-published one fantasy fiction with the sequel in the works.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (3)

Sign in to comment
  • Test7 months ago

    Wonderful

  • Oh this was so fascinating! Can't wait for part 5! I've subscribed to you!

  • Babs Iverson11 months ago

    Wonderful touring Olympia with you!!! Loving it!!!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.