Wander logo

10 Things You Don’t Think You Need While Studying Abroad, but You Actually Do

From My Experience

By Dani AshPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

1. A Planner

While I was studying abroad, I tried to save room in my suitcase by not bringing a planner. I tried to rely on my phone and memory, but it didn’t go to well. I ended up having to buy one at a Monoprix to keep track of trips, meetings, classes and homework.

2. Aloe Vera Gel

You will get sunburned. I can guarantee that at one point you will experience the burn of a long day of walking around on your shoulders and face. You will be able to find similar posy-sun gels in pharmacies and other stores while abroad, but they are expensive, and you don’t want to be spending your foreign currency on something that’s way cheaper back home.

3. A Portable Charger

If you’re anything like me, you will be using your phone a lot while studying abroad. You’ll use it to listen to music on bus rides, take pictures, and navigate around the cities you’re in. I got a small portable charger that holds two whole chargers in it, and it was a huge life saver. The last thing you need is for your phone to die while you’re touring the Seine, preventing you from taking any more pictures.

4. A Coin Purse

Man? Woman? In-between? A coin purse will be helpful for you. Europe loves their coins. Unlike the United States, they don’t have smaller bills. You’ll end up with a lot coins and you’ll get them quickly. This is an easy way to keep track of your heavier currency without having to carry your bigger bills.

5. An Extra Bag or Suitcase

You’ll say you won’t end up with too much extra stuff by the end of your time abroad, but that’s not true. Between souvenirs for friends and family and stuff for yourself, you’ll be struggling to pack it all in the bags you initially brought. Trust me. I'm not much of a spender and I'm a pro at packing, and it was still a huge struggle for me to bring everything back with me.

6. A Step Counter or Smart Watch

While studying abroad, you’ll be walking more than you ever have in your life, especially if you are abroad in France. If you have a Smart Watch or step counter, you’ll be able to keep track of how much time you spent walking, how far you’ve walked, and how many steps you’ve taken. My friends an I would do competitions that motivated us to see more of the city than we ever would. There's a huge sense of accomplishments when it comes to taking all those steps while exploring a new city.

7. A Bluetooth Speaker

Something small and chargeable works best. It's great for the beach and the park, or even have it in your room where you’re staying. I missed having my music around when hanging out with my friends and being at the beach—just make sure you don't upset the locals.

8. A Copy of Your Passport

The last thing you want to do is lose your passport while studying abroad. It takes forever to get a new one and you will be stranded until you get your new one. A copy is something you can bring around with you so you don’t lose your actual passport. It's a safe bet and is always a good back up.

9. Ear Plugs

I cannot stress this enough, especially if you’re a light sleeper. There will be so many noises all the time. Ear plugs are a must. Even if you think, "Oh I'm a heavy-sleeper," no, you're not. Make sure you have the option to block out sound while you're trying to get some much needed rest.

10. Allergy Pills

New smells, new foods, new chemicals, it’s a whole lot of new. Even if you tend to have good luck with allergies, I recommend getting at least a travel size of an over-the-counter allergy medication so you don’t have to suffer. You never know if you may develop an allergy, and it's always better to be safe rather than sorry. Although make sure you do a quick Google search on what is and isn't allowed in a country. From my experience, allergy pills aren't an issue.

travel tips
Like

About the Creator

Dani Ash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.