Wander logo

Top Places to Eat in Denver

According to a Local

By Dani AshPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

Denver is a beautiful, vibrant place to visit. There are so many things to do in Denver. There's 16th Street Mall, Larimer Square, and tons of places to eat. So which places are worth eating at while in the Mile High City? We have all heard of Casa Bonita, but what about places with actual good food? I've got you covered. Here are my top places to eat at in Denver.

Tacos Tequila Whiskey

Tacos Tequila Whiskey is my favorite taco place in Denver. The food is well made, fresh, and delicious. You order from the menu and get to pick and choose which tacos you want. They bring them out in phases and you're able to try a wide range of flavors. Their appetizers and desserts are also absolutely incredible. The staff there are helpful and full of personality. The last time I went, my waitress gave me a free dessert because we got along so well. I personally recommend you splurge on the churros, they are worth it.

Voodoo Donuts

While not completely unique to Denver, this is still the place to go for a late night totally-not-high snack. They make the most amazing cake and yeast donuts I've ever had. Their unique pink box and seasonal donuts are not something to pass up. The atmosphere is amazing, and they even have merch! I highly recommend getting whatever their seasonal is, and their Voodoo Doll donuts.

Pub on Penn

Pub On Penn is a Denver gem. Every night is a different special, but you have to go on Wednesdays. You get to enjoy unlimited wings for $8 and a drink (they do not require it to be alcoholic). It has that great pub atmosphere, and it's the perfect place to go with your friends. They have the most amazing wings and sauces. I can usually down 4-6 baskets every time I go. I recommend the spicy garlic and the Asian sauce.

Nola Voodoo Tavern

I know, it's weird for me to recommend a creole food restaurant in Denver, but I am anyway. This is the most authentic creole food I've had outside of NOLA. The owner is incredibly kind, and takes pride in providing the best food possible. The creole food is absolutely amazing. The Po' Boys are mouthwatering, and the jambalaya is flavorful. I recommend the red beans and rice and fried green tomatoes.

Hapa Sushi

So, full disclosure, I am not personally a big fan of sushi. It is very hit or miss for me. But Hapa Sushi has some of the best sushi I've ever had. It's the only sushi I will suggest to get and the only sushi I'll ask to go out to eat. They are creative and fresh. Even if you couldn't possibly stand sushi, this is still a great restaurant, because their main entrees are amazing as well. I recommend the Multiple Orgasm Roll and the Chicken Katsu.

Thai Pot Cafe

This place is so amazing. Their food is amazing. It's a small place, but it is absolutely incredible. Every single thing you order there will taste amazing. They clearly take pride in their food. You also get a ton of choices. You get to choose your dish, your protein, and your spice level. Their appetizers are to die for and their desserts are delicious to. I recommend you get the crab cheese rangoons, drunken noodles, and egg rolls.

Les Delices De Paris

This little hole-in-the-wall French Bakery is the best place to get French pastries outside of France. Les Delices De Paris is a small family owned bakery. They are authentically French and the owners love to speak French with you too. My favorite part about them is that they aren't too expensive. I can usually leave with four amazing pastries for under twenty dollars. Their macarons are expensive, but well worth it. Please make sure you check this place out.

guide
1

About the Creator

Dani Ash

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.