Viva logo

You Can't Hurry Love

Be patient.

By Ananda Malave- ReyesPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

At the age of 18, I was a freshman at NYU in the Tisch School of performing arts. At age 18, your brain is still a baby, still growing. It is so easy to be influenced by other people. I had a goal of saving myself until marriage, but that did not happen. I met someone, and my first time being intimate, I became pregnant. What a horror! How could something so horrific happen to me? Obviously I knew that could happen, but was mortified. I was 18, my life so ahead of me, what do I do now? I told my parents, they told me to keep the child. I told the man, he told me not to. A decision so tricky.

All these republican rich men who are pro-life that have never been a woman, make women feel so guilty and disgusting for making the choice of terminating a pregnancy. I always stood out with amazing grades. I was 13th highest GPA in my high school and I finished 2.981 at NYU. I tried so hard to deal with my emotions, but how do you do that? Between 18-22, those college years, it is so hard to address your emotions. Our brains are not fully developed until age 25. I spent years and years questioning my worth. I thought I was damaged goods—that no man would want a woman like that. It took me six years to forgive myself and that man for the decision I made. I dated a lot, but nothing ever really lasted because I did not love me. I moved to my parents' house in Florida in 2010 to get emotional support. Same thing, attracting monsters of men; Relationships with insecure men who never trusted me, relationships with men who just wanted me for the physical. I was so torn, I do not want to live in this misery of all this trying. Nothing happened for me because I did not see my worth.

The summer of 2014, I woke up and said, "I am not living like this one more DAMN day. I can't hate myself anymore for my past." I found a yoga studio, found a church I like, and spent a whole year not dating anyone. Come 2015, my dad got diagnosed with cancer. Thank God I was in a stronger emotional place. 20 months of chemo, radiation, and torture of his body, watching him deteriorate. A month before his passing, I met a man that is just like my dad.

The whole point in life is to heal. If you are not whole inside, you should not be dating. I am engaged now and things are falling into place, because I took the time to work on myself. I hope this story inspires a woman to talk about these tough issues. Loss and pain are a part of life, and if you don't address your pain, you will be drowning in it forever and never have a happy life.

relationships
Like

About the Creator

Ananda Malave- Reyes

Born and raised in NYC, Ananda is an actress, writer and promotional model. She has always wanted to be part of a blog community and is grateful to be part of this one. She believes women should be a team always having another women's back.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.