Viva logo

Sexism

I make mistakes myself.

By Alexis puentePublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like

I am a sexist man! Society views the word sexist as unappealing. Yet, society also views men as prideful, insensitive, strong, overpowering, and privileged. Which for the most part, is true. Sexism is not a women’s issue, it is a men’s issue because of the obtuseness of men. Not obtuseness as an infant, yet as a blindfold to 1), women’s creativity, 2) their valuable nature, and 3) the strength of women.

Now let us talk about the first issue, women’s innate creativity. Let me take you back to the time when the houses were neatly lined in a row with white picket fences, Buddy Holly’s guitar blaring in the background, when the centre of world wars occurred when families had two kids, and where the head of the house was the man. Men led at the time because of their strength. Fortunately, the society, politics, economy, sciences, technology, and more have improved. Strength is no longer needed. Not as much as creativity and persistence. It seems as if everything is improving except the mentality of men. Men still want to lead through power. A power that arises as self-confidence; an overpowering persona of toxic masculinity. A power that silences the voice of the other sex. A power that is resistant to change.

Valuable nature. We need to stop and think about this for a second. All, if not most, women need to deal with small pockets because they are supposed to use purses, they need to deal with being ashamed of their menstrual cycle, as if it were something that is not natural, and they have to deal with the dress code to accommodate the lack of self-control of men. All of this begins in elementary school. Instead of teaching women to be ashamed of their body and nature, why are men not educated to be mature? Why should the value of women have to be decreased so men can feel empowered? Are women that much of a threat to men? I am inclined to say yes!

The truth is womyn are strong. Yes, womyn spelled with a 'y' because they can and are independent without men. Many womyn have learned to be independent because the majority of men are not strong enough to be the head of a household. Take for example my home. My father left when I was eight. My baby brother's father left him when he was three months. And my grandfather gave my mother away, to relatives, when she was four and she had only seen her mother once, before she died, when my mother was 11. Society would victim blame my mother for trying to start another relationship. Who is to blame, an innocent pure-hearted strong working womyn who wanted love because she never truly received it? Who is to excuse me for not being a good man because I never had a father figure or an example of a loving father? NO ONE! I have no excuse! I have two older brothers who still live in my household like babies and constantly break the back of my mother by not supporting her financially or emotionally. I have no inspiration whatsoever. I only have bad examples of what a man is. I learned, as I matured quickly, to look at these bad examples as a good example of what not to follow. I still love my family and the fact that I have an opportunity to change the way men view womyn. Trust me, when your mom is single and had six kids and takes care of five from the ages of one year and four months to 24 years old, you have seen the strength of a persistent mother who has not and will not give up! I will not either. Last semester I got 508 community service hours, with three honors classes, a 4.5 GPA, with tennis, and still wanted to go to church. Men have no excuses. If a 15-year-old can say it, men should be able to do it.

The problem in men is that they focus on the wrong parts of womyn. They look at what pleases their eye as if womyn were a picture on a picture frame. What is ironic is that men look at womyn so much and yet they do not capture their valuable nature, creativity, and the strength of womyn. Do not believe me from what I am saying or what I am wearing. This is not how to discern my integrity in supporting the rights of womyn. You identify my ethics through my daily actions. So yes, I am the example of a sexist man. I am also the generation that will create a shift and treat womyn the way they deserve. I hate when problems are proposed and no possible solution is given. General education for both sexes is needed. Sexism starts from the womb by giving colors a gender. Girls have a pink baby shower and boys have a blue one. No more separating the elementary kids and teaching about menstrual cycles or puberty, with an atmosphere of shame, but rather make it normal, after all, it is is something natural. So if it means I have to go to the store to buy my future wife pads or tampons, then I will! I will not be ashamed!

activism
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.