Viva logo

PMS Flu

Managing PMS Symptoms

By Shalasha DeesePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have been feeling more under the weather around my monthly cycle lately. Sometimes having bouts of nausea, fatigue, body aches...these symptoms could be confused with the flu or even a virus. However, after some research I found that this is commonly referred to as “Period Flu”. It is not fun being not your normal self for whatever reason so I knew I had to do all I could to feel my best. I have been off my exercise and healthy eating regime that allowed me to lose 50 lbs in the previous year. I have often told myself that this will catch up with me and it has. Luckily ,because “PMS Flu” is treatable with preventive measures and I can hopefully hop back to my normal self every month with some preventive self care.

Here are the top tips that can help reduce PMS FLU

Monitor Your Diet- Your diet throughout the month can have an impact on your overall health as well as your reproductive cycle. One main thing is reducing caffeine in coffee or energy drinks and replacing it for caffeine in herbal or green teas which are anti-inflammatory can reduce cramping. In addition, adding more whole foods will give your body more nutrients it needs. For example, grab an apple vs a bag of chips for a snack. My favorite late night snack is healthy popcorn. Another healthy option I personally like is reducing carbs. I tend to lean to cauliflower based products to replace potatoes and bread.

Get Moving - Aerobic exercise is particularly great for period symptoms. Exercise helps everything because it releases endorphins. Start slow with exercise if you are not already working out. I personally started by walking then adding exercise at home to moving up to a CrossFit style gym. I am planning on getting back into the gym soon. There are free workouts on Youtube if you need some guidance on basic exercises. Make sure you stretch before any exercise as well.

Estrogen- Taking a prescription bill-control pill with estrogen and progesterone will prevent ovulation which will balance out hormones and relieve symptoms. This can be a huge decision so ask your doctor what is right for you and your situation. You can now order birth-control via on-line if that is an option for you.

4. Take NSAIDs- I am the worst for not wanting to take any type of medication even if it is just over the counter. Taking an NSAID like Advil or Midol helps block the production of prostaglandins. Take a NSAID as soon as you start to feel unwell to help curb the anti-inflammatory effects of PMS.

5. Drink more Water- This is a very basic thing but so hard to do. Drinking water is an easy way to keep your body healthy all around. I notice when I do have my allotted amount of water, my digestive system, skin, and energy levels also improve. I have found that drinking flavored water is the best bet for myself. I usually get the sugar free packets for my water bottles. Eating juicy fruits and vegetables is also another way to stay hydrated. You can also eat soups and broths to get in more hydration.

Hopefully, I can remember that my health is important all month long by eating healthy, exercising, drinking water and taking proper medications at the right times. I know that these things will help me feel better all around. I look forward to no more PMS Flu in the months to come. Have you ever experienced PMS FLU and if so, how did you manage it.

health
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.