Viva logo

My Pride And Joy

The Epitome of a Woman

By Jody KuperavagePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
My Pride And Joy
Photo by Roberto Nickson on Unsplash

To my beautiful daughter Emily,

From the moment you were born, I knew you were going to grow up to be an amazing woman and do great things in life. I knew I would be proud of you but I really had no idea just how much that pride would grow on a daily basis.

As you grew into a young woman, your outside beauty was evident. It was so natural. We didn't have to spend a ton of money on make-up because your beauty glowed without it. Whether you were in a fancy prom gown or workout sweats, you carried yourself in such a beautiful light.

Your caring personality was reflected in everything you did. You were tender yet fierce when you had to be. Nothing stopped you from going face to face with someone who was bullying another kid.

I watched as your confidence set your soul on fire, igniting an inner beauty that burns so brightly that everyone who crosses your path feels your warmth from within.

You went off to college and your independence took over. With that independence came your responsibility for life. You work hard and earn everything you have which makes you appreciate both those traits and your possessions. But still, material things are minor compared to the respect you have earned from everyone around you.

As a single mother, I tried my best to raise you to be a strong woman. You stood by me through my own struggles and all I could hope for at that time was that you would see and learn from my mistakes. I was supposed to be a role model for you and I always had that somewhere in my mind but so many times, you were actually a role model to me and you still are.

When I wasn't in the best relationship, you knew it. I can remember plenty of times where you stood up for me. And again, you stood by my side through it all, probably frustrated because you know I deserved a better life than I was giving myself.

When that relationship ended, it was me and you. As I began to take my life back, you encouraged me. You may not have always agreed with my decisions and actions but you were finally able to see the strength I had in me and you knew I would be okay.

And then the time came when I broke free of everything holding me back and became an empowered woman. You watched that explode in me and then turned around and gave me credit for being a mom who showed you all those great characteristics that make a woman strong and powerful.

That may be partly true, you did see those things come from me and I know there were times from when you were little on up that you may have seen that. But I wasn't consistent with it then. I do know you saw strength in me but I saw strength in you too.

Now we are a team, two strong women who empower and build one another. I'm getting older but you know I am a dreamer and a doer so you know I will keep going forward living my best life.

I know you are still searching for your dreams. The patience you demonstrate through the process is admirable. As you know, I lack patience so I know you got that trait from your father. Maybe it isn't about the patience because you are not standing still by no means.

As a mother, one thing I can say without any hesitation is that I trust your decisions. Your career may not be set in stone yet but you are carving out an amazing path as you show no fear in exploring your options.

When I asked you to send me the picture of you and Dylan at the beach, it was because I could see the love in that picture and I am so happy you found the person who is as proud of you as I am. He never even thinks of standing in the way of freedom that every woman deserves. Instead, you compliment each other and you grow together. You move forward together and your happiness is finally found in each other.

You, my dear, are young and vibrant, confident and independent, beautiful on the inside as well as the outside. You will go far in life and I couldn't be more proud to be your mother and a part of your journey.

I love you with all of my heart.

Love,

Mom

relationships
Like

About the Creator

Jody Kuperavage

Writing has always been a passion. I wrote everything from children's stories to poetry. I worked as a newspaper reporter and was published in magazines. I eventually moved on to publish my first book - an empowering yet erotic novel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.