Viva logo

Kyleena Turned me into an Angry Shrek

My Experience with a Hormonal IUD

By Deborah AlicePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Kyleena Turned me into an Angry Shrek
Photo by Reproductive Health Supplies Coalition on Unsplash

I used Kyleena for about 9 months, and a non hormonal IUD for about 7 years. I opted for my first IUD after I had my second child, and it was implanted two months after his birth. The procedure was uncomfortable, but not painful. Remember however, that eight weeks prior I had just passed a human, so my perception may have been a bit skewed. Big ole human.... Big ole Texan human.... Oh the flashbacks...

My cycle was harsh, but regular. Cramps were pretty out of control, and there were times I would need to take sick days from work to deal with the pain. That may be a personal issue, but it's worth mentioning. After a few months I was able to completely ignore the IUD's presence, as I became a baby blocking cyborg.

My only complaint was that my non hormonal IUD did nothing to the length or severity of my cycle. A midwife at my gynecologist's office gave me a few options, and I'd heard that Kyleena has been shown to shut that whole period thing down, so I took a leap of faith. I explained my past mental health issues, including depression and anxiety, and my history of heavy periods. We confirmed that Kyleena would be best for me.

Now, I'm a big fan of the IUD for out of sight, out of mind birth control, and I would still recommend a non hormonal IUD. The only reason I felt confident enough to try Kyleena was because I was so coddled by the previous IUD, that I thought the addition of hormones could only make the experience better.

No ma'am.

The implantation process was similar, but I began my period for the second time that month a few days afterwards. It did not entirely stop for five months. Yes, I was on my period, for five straight months. Some days were light, some days were heavy, but it was always there. I started feeling a constant bloat, and the "sometimes" cravings I would have once a month persisted. My mood tanked.

I don't know that I've ever truly been angry enough to fist fight another human being until I began using Kyleena.

And I did.

Within the first month I gained around twenty pounds.

I became very sensitive to repetition. Repetitive song lyrics, having to explain myself more than once, solving the same problem multiple times- all of these things became fingernails on a chalkboard. I could only exist within conflict for a short amount of time before becoming explosive. My nerves were shot; my anxiety worsened to the point where I would break down into inappropriate and unprompted tears.

My face broke out in pimples with some regularity, which was not something I ordinarily dealt with. I grew a few tiny hairs on my chin, which was also new.

I was exponentially more combative. A complete stranger honked at me in traffic, after almost hitting my car, and I just couldn't figure out what lead her to do that. So of course, when the opportunity presented itself, I thought it a good idea to ask her directly the motivations behind her decision to do so. I sit here, IUD free, marveling at that decision.

I ended up making an emergency appointment at Planned Parenthood during a pandemic to get the thing removed. Within about three weeks of doing so, I've lost about ten pounds. I feel more calm and grounded, and I've lost the second trimester bloat feeling I'd maintained for months prior. I haven't gone through a cycle yet, fingers crossed, but I'm pretty glad to be out of the swamp either way.

health
Like

About the Creator

Deborah Alice

Deborah's writing reflects her interest in civil rights and the human condition. Filtering experiences and observations through a bi-sexual, clinically depressed, atheist, pro-Black lens brings a new perspective to everyday topics.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.